Sint Maarten: Employers can request screening of their employees

0

The ASV ministry and the TEATT ministry have just published additional COVID-19 measures by ministerial decree. These additional measures allow employers to request screening tests from their employees, whether or not they are vaccinated.

Currently, the number of active COVID-19 infections in Sint Maarten is alarming and the SMMC has reached its maximum capacity. Given the highly contagious Delta variant, a drastic decrease in cases is not yet foreseeable. The situation in Sint Maarten is so alarming that it is necessary to intervene immediately by taking additional measures.

The government is actively working to stabilize the rapid number of infections, in order to protect public health and prevent a second “lockdown” from being declared for Sint Maarten. In an attempt to stem the increase in cases, the government announced a reduction in nightlife hours on August 9, 2021.

On the same date, the government extended the ban on large gatherings. The World Health Organization, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control, and the American Center for Disease Control and Prevention recognize that rapid and accurate PCR or antigen testing are essential tools for preventing and control the spread of COVID-19.

When implementing screening policies, different strategies can be applied. For example, screening people who have been in contact with someone suspected of having COVID-19 or confirmed positive for COVID-19, or people who have symptoms related to COVID-19. This screening strategy will allow people to detect infections or identify clusters of cases more quickly, and prevent the spread of the virus in their facility.

Testing can also be used as a preventative measure, testing people who have no symptoms or are unaware they have been in contact with someone with COVID-19. This form of testing is also known as "screening". The goal of screening tests is to allow asymptomatic people to get tested, even if they are unaware of exposure to COVID-19. Screening helps identify unknown cases so that action can be taken at an early stage to prevent the spread of the virus.

It is now common to take a test as a screening measure for travel. Travelers must present a negative COVID-19 test before their trip.
Considering the nature and extent of the current pandemic and the serious threat it poses to public health, the current disruptions in the economy and the associated negative effects on the socio-economic stability of the country, the government decided that screening in Saint-Martin should be used more widely as a preventive measure.

According to case law, the employer is legally bound to protect the individual interests of its employees by providing them with a safe and healthy working environment. This implies that the employer must do all he can and what is in his power during the pandemic, to prevent employees from being infected in the workplace. A recent court verdict concluded that while specific measures relating to COVID-19 may violate the right to inviolability of the body, the judge held that the interest of protecting employees and customers from COVID- 19 prevails over the Basic Law.

Therefore, section 7 of the ministerial regulation provides the possibility for employers to request periodic tests from employees as a preventive screening measure. Employers can integrate periodic tests into their safety plan, as stipulated in article 3 of the ministerial regulations. Indeed, the employer has a legal obligation to protect its employees and third parties in the workplace against contamination by COVID-19. However, the costs associated with periodic tests must be taken into account, as they are the responsibility of the employer. All other hygiene measures remain unchanged.

 6,393 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sint Maarten : Les employeurs peuvent demander le dépistage de leurs employés

0
blank

Le ministère de l’ASV et le ministère du TEATT viennent de publier par arrêté ministériel des mesures complémentaires COVID-19. Ces mesures supplémentaires, permettent aux employeurs de demander des tests de dépistage à leurs employés, qu’ils soient vaccinés ou non.

Actuellement, le nombre d’infections actives au COVID-19 à Sint Maarten est alarmant et le SMMC a atteint sa capacité maximale. Compte tenu de la variante Delta, très contagieuse, une diminution drastique des cas n’est pas encore prévisible. La situation à Sint Maarten est si alarmante qu’il est nécessaire d’intervenir immédiatement en prenant des mesures supplémentaires.

Le gouvernement s’efforce activement de stabiliser le nombre rapide d’infections, afin de protéger la santé publique et d’éviter qu’un deuxième «lock-down» soit déclaré pour Sint Maarten. Pour tenter d’endiguer l’augmentation des cas, le gouvernement a annoncé une réduction des heures de vie nocturne le 9 août 2021.

À la même date, le gouvernement a étendu l’interdiction des grands rassemblements. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé, le Centre européen de prévention et de contrôle des maladies et le Centre américain de contrôle et de prévention des maladies reconnaissent que des tests PCR ou des tests d’antigènes rapides et précis sont des outils essentiels pour prévenir et contrôler la propagation du COVID-19.

Lors de la mise en œuvre des politiques de dépistage, différentes stratégies peuvent être appliquées. Par exemple, le dépistage des personnes qui ont été en contact avec une personne suspectée d’avoir le COVID-19 ou confirmée positive au COVID-19, ou des personnes qui présentent des symptômes liés au COVID-19. Cette stratégie de dépistage permettra aux personnes de détecter les infections ou d’identifier les grappes de cas plus rapidement, et de prévenir la propagation du virus dans leur établissement.

Le dépistage peut également être utilisé comme mesure préventive, en testant les personnes qui ne présentent aucun symptôme ou qui ne savent pas qu’elles ont été en contact avec une personne atteinte du COVID-19. Cette forme de test est également connue sous le nom de «dépistage». L’objectif des tests de dépistage est de permettre aux personnes asymptomatiques de se faire tester, même si elles n’ont pas connaissance d’une exposition au COVID-19. Le dépistage permet d’identifier les cas inconnus afin que des mesures soient prises à un stade précoce, pour éviter la propagation du virus.

Il est désormais courant de passer un test comme mesure de dépistage pour les voyages. Les voyageurs doivent présenter un test COVID-19 négatif avant leur voyage.
Compte tenu de la nature et de l’ampleur de la pandémie en cours et de la menace sérieuse qu’elle représente pour la santé publique, des perturbations actuelles de l’économie et des effets négatifs associés sur la stabilité socio-économique du pays, le gouvernement a décidé que le dépistage à Saint-Martin devait être utilisé plus largement comme mesure préventive.

Conformément à la jurisprudence, l’employeur est légalement tenu de protéger les intérêts individuels de ses employés en leur assurant un environnement de travail sûr et sain. Cela implique que l’employeur doit faire tout ce qu’il peut et ce qui est en son pouvoir pendant la pandémie, pour éviter que les employés soient infectés sur le lieu de travail. Un récent verdict du tribunal a conclu que, bien que des mesures spécifiques relatives au COVID-19 puissent constituer une violation du droit à l’inviolabilité du corps, le juge a estimé que l’intérêt de protéger les employés et les clients du COVID-19 l’emporte sur la loi fondamentale.

Par conséquent, l’article 7 du règlement ministériel offre la possibilité aux employeurs de demander des tests périodiques aux employés en tant que mesure de dépistage préventive. Les employeurs peuvent intégrer les tests périodiques dans leur plan de sécurité, comme le stipule l’article 3 du règlement ministériel. En effet, l’employeur a l’obligation légale de protéger ses employés et les tiers sur le lieu de travail contre la contamination par le COVID-19. Il faut toutefois tenir compte des coûts liés aux tests périodiques, car ils sont à la charge de l’employeur. Toutes les autres mesures d’hygiène restent inchangées.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT