Sint Maarten: 50 months in prison for transporting 361,9 kg of cocaine

0

A Tortola national was tried by the Sint Maarten court last month.

On the night of July 9 to 10, 2019, the Dutch coast guard saw a Gofast type fast boat with three men on board traveling at an average speed of 20 knots, without light, towards the virgin islands. They decide to proceed with the control of the ship which is then located about fifty miles from Saba.

On the foredeck are discovered fifteen packages containing cocaine for a total weight of 361,9 kg.

The men are arrested and taken into police custody; one of them, a Tortola national, will be placed in pre-trial detention and prosecuted for the illegal transport of narcotic drugs.

In his defense, he told investigators and the judges of Sint Maarten before whom he appeared last month, that he was fishing but that he had lost his equipment due to the agitated state of the sea. Statements which do not convince the police who found no trace of fishing activity on the boat. There is nothing to explain the reasons for a possible fishing trip off Saba while the defendant is domiciled in the Virgin Islands, investigators report.

The defendant also explained that he found the packages at sea and recovered them without knowing their contents.

For the court, the individual is "involved in the transport of a significant amount of cocaine, thus making an important logistical contribution to this harmful trade. The large quantity of cocaine found in an expensive boat indicates that it was linked to a large drug organization. ” And to estimate: "only a dissuasive sanction in the form of a long term prison sentence applies to this behavior". Fifty months in prison (four years and two months) were thus pronounced against the accused.

 7,165 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sint Maarten : 50 mois de prison pour avoir transporté 361,9 kg de cocaïne

0
blank

Un ressortissant de Tortola a été jugé par le tribunal de Sint Maarten le mois dernier.

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10 juillet 2019, les gardes côtes hollandais aperçoivent un bateau rapide type Gofast avec à son bord trois hommes circulant à une vitesse moyenne de 20 nœuds, sans lumière, en direction des îles vierges. Ils décident de procéder au contrôle du navire qui se situe alors à une cinquantaine de milles de Saba.

Sur le pont avant sont découverts quinze colis contenant de la cocaïne pour un poids total de 361,9 kg.

Les hommes sont arrêtés et placés en garde à vue ; l’un d’eux, un ressortissant de Tortola, sera placé en détention provisoire et poursuivi pour transport illégal de produits stupéfiants.

Pour sa défense, celui-ci affirme aux enquêteurs ainsi qu’aux juges de Sint Maarten devant lesquels il a comparu le mois dernier, qu’il pêchait mais qu’il avait perdu son matériel en raison de l’état agité de la mer. Des déclarations qui ne convainquent pas les policiers qui n’ont trouvé aucune trace d’activité de pêche sur le bateau. Aucun élément ne permet d’expliquer les raisons d’un éventuel voyage de pêche au large de Saba alors que le prévenu est domicilié aux îles vierges, rapportent les enquêteurs.

Le prévenu a également expliqué avoir trouvé les colis en mer et les avoir récupérés sans savoir leur contenu.

Pour le tribunal, l’individu est «impliqué dans le transport d’une quantité importante de cocaïne, apportant ainsi une contribution logistique importante à ce commerce préjudiciable. La grande quantité de cocaïne trouvée dans un bateau coûteux indique qu’il était un lien avec une grande organisation de la drogue». Et d’estimer : «seule une sanction dissuasive sous la forme d’une peine d’emprisonnement de longue durée s’applique à ce comportement». Cinquante mois de prison (quatre ans et deux mois) ont ainsi été prononcés à l’encontre du prévenu.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT