Safety: Bathing ban: everyone has their own point of view

0

Everyone has his point of view. Hours after a swimmer was fatally bitten by a shark last week in Orient Bay, the COM issued a bathing order on all beaches on the French side as a preventive measure.

Two days later, the St Maarten Nature Foundation (the equivalent of the Nature Reserve on the Dutch side) declared that this measure was not necessary, that it could only reinforce the fear and fear of the public.

However, according to the scientists and specialists consulted by the departments of the prefecture and the COM, this was indeed "the best measure to take" after such an event, the prefect, the president of the COM, repeated on several occasions. 'a press conference on Wednesday afternoon. If, of course, this accident is extremely rare and is of an extraordinary nature, scientists assure that it was necessary to ban swimming to limit the risk of another occurrence and especially to have "the time to take the right decisions" and other measures. preventive measures that “will reassure the public”.

"The scientists explained that having found prey, the shark could have come back to hunt in the same place to eat," reports Prefect Serge Gouteyron. "They also think that he has returned, that he is tired of hunting and is gone," continues the prefect.

"We must protect all those who use the sea on a daily basis on our island and not just think about saving the tourist season", conceives Daniel Gibbs who would like the two parts of the island to be able to work in perfect collaboration on the measures to be taken to limit the risk of accidents with a shark.

“If the accident had taken place in part Dutch, the government of St Maarten would have taken the same measures as the French part. Otherwise it would have been unconsciousness ”, declared the prefect. The president of the COM was also convinced of this.

 2,267 total views, 3 views today

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Sécurité : Interdiction de baignade : chacun son point de vue

0
blank

Chacun son point de vue. Quelques heures après qu’une nageuse ait été mortellement mordue par un requin la semaine dernière à la Baie orientale, la COM a pris un arrêté de baignade sur toutes les plages de la partie française en guise de prévention.

Deux jours plus tard, la St Maarten Nature Foundation (l’équivalent de la Réserve Naturelle côté hollandais) déclarait que cette mesure n’était pas nécessaire, qu’elle ne pouvait que renforcer la crainte et la peur du public.

Pourtant selon les scientifiques et spécialistes consultés par les services de la préfecture et de la COM, il s’agissait bien de «la meilleure mesure à prendre» après un tel événement, ont répété à plusieurs reprises le préfet le président de la COM lors d’une conférence de presse mercredi après-midi. Si, certes cet accident est extrêmement rare et revêt un caractère extraordinaire, les scientifiques assurent qu’il était nécessaire d’interdire la baignade pour limiter le risque de nouvelle survenance et surtout pour avoir «le temps de prendre les bonnes décisions» et autres mesures préventives qui «vont rassurer le public».

«Les scientifiques ont expliqué qu’ayant trouvé une proie, le requin aurait pu revenir chasser au même endroit pour manger», rapporte le préfet Serge Gouteyron. «Ils pensent aussi qu’il soit revenu, qu’il se soit fatigué à chasser et soit parti», poursuit le préfet.

«Nous devons protéger tous ceux qui utilisent la mer au quotidien sur notre île et pas uniquement penser à sauver la saison touristique», conçoit Daniel Gibbs qui aimerait que les deux parties de l’île puissent travailler en parfaite collaboration sur les mesures à prendre pour limiter les risques d’accident avec un requin.

«Si l’accident avait eu lieu en partie hollandaise, le gouvernement de St Maarten aurait pris les mêmes mesures que la partie française. Sinon cela aurait été de l’inconscience», a déclaré le préfet. Le président de la COM s’en est également dit convaincu.

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT