Security: 577 gendarmes are still stationed in Saint-Martin

1

There were up to 700 gendarmes deployed on Saint-Martin after the passage of Irma.

200 were stationed locally within the brigade and the first reinforcements arrived on Thursday September 7 to bring the workforce to 300 then to 400 on Saturday, and so on. Today, as of October 13, 577 are still there. Some two hundred should leave within a month, the others will remain "as long as it takes" to ensure maximum security when more businesses are reopened, says Lt. Col. Sébastien Manzoni.

Asked Friday morning at a press conference on the feeling of insecurity that the population may have felt, the lieutenant-colonel is adamant: "Security was restored as of Thursday evening." The first arrests of looters took place the following weekend. To date, more than 150 people have been implicated and more than 200 searches have been conducted in the French part and have led to the seizure of around 200 cubic meters of material.

"In the hours which followed Irma's passage, our mission was to bring aid to the population," he explains. “The gendarmes provided first aid. Some have brought wounded from Quartier to Hope Estate, certainly passing in front of looters, ”explains Sébastien Manzoni. "But I understand this critical feeling that people may have had," he says. And to repeat it: "our mission was to bring aid to people and clear the traffic lanes".

Should reinforcements have been sent upstream? Sébastien Manzoni accepts the debate, the reflection that must be carried out to draw the best lessons from the passage from Irma to Saint-Martin.

Source: www.soualigapost.com

 7,141 total views

About author

1 comment

  1. crazy October 15, 2017 at 20:20 pm Reply

    and what does Lieutenant-Colonel Sébastien Manzoni say in response to this lady who, like hundreds of us, was advised to act in this way by the gendarmerie, when they did not clearly indicate to us to fend for ourselves to ensure our safety even if it means using some weapons and even shooting people ???

    200 searches ???
    If they are of this kind, we really do not have at all the same vision of the law, nor of the needs for survival !!

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuYyX1lz9ws&sns=fb

Post a new comment

%d bloggers like this page:

Sécurité : 577 gendarmes sont encore en poste à Saint-Martin

1
blank

Il y a eu jusqu’à 700 gendarmes déployés sur Saint-Martin après le passage d’Irma.

200 étaient en poste localement au sein de la brigade et les premiers renforts sont arrivés dès le jeudi 7 septembre pour porter à 300 les effectifs puis à 400 le samedi, et ainsi de suite. Aujourd’hui, à la date du 13 octobre, 577 sont encore sur place. Quelque deux cents devraient partir d’ici un mois, les autres resteront «le temps qu’il faudra» afin d’assurer le maximum de sécurité lorsque les commerces seront plus nombreux à rouvrir, assure le lieutenant-colonel Sébastien Manzoni.

Interrogé vendredi matin en conférence de presse sur le sentiment d’insécurité que la population a pu ressentir, le lieutenant-colonel est catégorique : «la sécurité a été rétablie dès le jeudi soir.» Les premières interpellations de pilleurs ont eu lieu le week-end suivant. À ce jour plus de 150 personnes ont été mises en cause et plus de 200 perquisitions ont été conduites en partie française et ont permis la saisie d’environ 200 mètres cubes de matériel.

« Dans les heures qui ont suivi le passage d’Irma, notre mission était de porter secours à la population», explique-t-il. «Des gendarmes ont apporté des premiers soins. Certains ont porté des blessés de Quartier à Hope Estate passant certes devant des pilleurs», explique Sébastien Manzoni. «Mais je comprends ce sentiment critique que les gens ont pu avoir», confie-t-il. Et de le redire : «notre mission était de porter secours aux personnes et de dégager les voies de circulation».

Aurait-il fallu envoyer des renforts en amont ? Sébastien Manzoni accepte le débat, la réflexion qui doit être menée pour tirer les meilleurs enseignements du passage d’Irma à Saint-Martin.

Source : www.soualigapost.com

blank

1 commentaire

  1. blank
    loco 15 octobre, 2017 at 20:20 Répondre

    et que dit le lieutenant-colonel Sébastien Manzoni en réponse à cette dame qui comme des centaines d’entre nous se son fait conseiller d’agir ainsi par la gendarmerie, quand ils ne nous ont pas clairement indiqué de nous débrouiller seul pour assurer notre sécurité quitte a utiliser des armes pour certains et même de tirer sur des gens ???

    200 perquisitions ???
    Si elle sont de ce genre, on a vraiment pas du tout la même vision de la loi, ni des besoins de survie !!

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuYyX1lz9ws&sns=fb

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

Laisser un commentaire

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT