Rescue: Jumping from a rock in Anguilla, he injures his heel

0

It is 13:20 p.m. on Thursday, February XNUMX, when the coordinator of the SNSM of Saint-Martin receives a call from one of the station's members.

He works on a local charter boat and is in Anguilla with clients, when one of them is seriously injured in the heel by jumping off a cliff and landing on a reef.

He swims back to the boat, where the crew and his family help him get back on board. As the blood flows profusely, they put on a compression bandage, then a second, and make him put the leg up; but it continues to bleed.

The SNSM coordinator  advises him to alert the CROSS on channel VHF 16, to trigger the SNSM of Saint-Martin officially for an EVASAN (medical evacuation); then he calls the on-call team members to quickly train a crew.

The Rescue Star sets sail at 13:33 pm, with four crew members on board, including the coordinator who is himself a nurse.

Appointment is given in Maunday's Bay, in front of Cap Juluca, where the charter catamaran has anchored, in peace, in order to facilitate the transfer of the injured.

The weather is nice, with 15 knots of wind and a small swell of 1m, and the Rescue Star arrives in the area 20 minutes later. She joins the catamaran; the nurse goes on board for a first assessment and confirms that the patient must be taken to the hospital as soon as possible.

At 14:15 p.m. the injured person was transferred to the Rescue Star, along with his parents; the other family members stay on board the catamaran and can continue to enjoy this beautiful day in the company of the skipper and the sailor.

The Rescue Star heads for Marigot Bay where an appointment is given with the fire brigade ambulance to take the patient to the Louis-Constant Fleming hospital center.

At 14:39 p.m., the injured man got into the ambulance with his mother, followed by a taxi by his father.

Then the rescuers at sea go to fill up with their sponsor, Delta Petroleu, as usual, after each trip they top up the tanks in order to be immediately available if they have to go out for another mission, on CROSS call . Then the Rescue Star joined its berth at 15 p.m. End of mission. The volunteer team members return to their respective professional occupations which they interrupted a few hours earlier to go to the rescue of a victim.

We later learned that the patient had a broken heel, that he had received about ten stitches, but that he was able to return to the hotel the same evening.

EVASANs by the SNSM are always free, because a life is priceless. But the patient and his family were so happy with the services and care rendered by the charter boat and by the SNSM volunteers that they made a big donation to the crew of the charter boat as well as to the SNSM station. from Saint-Martin to thank them for their services. Knowing that the rescue station of Saint-Martin lives only thanks to private donations to finance its nautical means and its operation, this kind of gesture is always appreciated.

 7,517 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sauvetage : En sautant d’un rocher à Anguilla, il se blesse au talon

0

Il est 13 heures le jeudi 20 février dernier quand le coordinateur de la SNSM de Saint-Martin reçoit un appel d’un des membres de la station.

Il travaille sur un bateau de charter local et est à Anguilla avec des clients, quand l’un d’eux se blesse grièvement au talon en sautant d’une falaise et en atterrissant sur un récif.

Il regagne le bateau à la nage, où l’équipage et sa famille l’aident à remonter à bord. Comme le sang coule abondamment, ils mettent un pansement compressif, puis un deuxième, et lui font mettre la jambe en hauteur; mais ça continue à saigner.

Le coordinateur de la SNSM  lui conseille d’alerter le CROSS sur le canal VHF 16, pour déclencher la SNSM de Saint-Martin de manière officielle pour une EVASAN (évacuation sanitaire); puis il appelle les équipiers d’astreinte pour former rapidement un équipage.

La Rescue Star appareille à 13h33, avec quatre équipiers à son bord, dont le coordinateur qui est lui même infirmier.

Rendez-vous est donné dans Maunday’s Bay, devant le Cap Juluca, où le catamaran de charter s’est mis au mouillage, au calme, afin de faciliter le transfert du blessé.

Il fait beau, avec 15 noeuds de vent et une petite houle d’1m.20, et la Rescue Star arrive sur sur zone 25 mn plus tard. Elle se met à couple du catamaran; l’infirmier monte à bord pour un premier bilan et confirme qu’il faut emmener le patient à l’hôpital le plus vite possible.

À 14h15 le blessé est transféré sur la Rescue Star, ainsi que ses parents ; les autres membres de la famille restent à bord du catamaran et peuvent continuer à profiter de cette belle journée en compagnie du skipper et du matelot.

La Rescue Star met le cap sur la baie de Marigot où rendez-vous est donné avec l’ambulance des pompiers pour emmener le patient au centre hospitalier Louis-Constant Fleming.

A 14h39, le blessé monte dans l’ambulance avec sa mère, suivi en taxi par son père.

Puis les sauveteurs en mer partent faire le plein chez leur sponsor, Delta Petroleu, comme d’habitude, après chaque sortie ils refont le plein des réservoirs afin d’être immédiatement disponibles s’ils doivent sortir pour une autre mission, sur appel du CROSS. Puis la Rescue Star rejoint son poste d’amarrage à 15h16. Fin de mission. Les équipiers bénévoles retournent à leurs occupations professionnelles respectives qu’ils ont interrompues quelques heures plus tôt pour aller porter au secours à une victime.

On apprendra plus tard que le patient présentait une fracture au talon, qu’il a reçu une dizaine de points de sutures, mais qu’il a pu rentrer à l’hôtel le soir même.

Les EVASANs par la SNSM sont toujours gratuites, car une vie n’a pas de prix. Mais le patient et sa famille étaient tellement contents des services et des soins rendus par le bateau de charter et par les bénévoles de la SNSM qu’ils ont fait un gros don à l’équipage du bateau de charter ainsi qu’à la station SNSM de Saint-Martin pour les remercier de leurs prestations. Sachant que la station de sauvetage de Saint-Martin ne vit que grâce aux dons privés pour financer ses moyens nautiques et son fonctionnement, ce genre de gestes est toujours apprécié.

 1,231 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT