Rescue at sea: Distress rockets but no boat found!

0

Here is the account of the last intervention made by the SNSM.

“In the evening of Saturday, November 4, just after 19:30 p.m., while some of the SNSM's volunteer teammates are preparing to have dinner, their phones ring. It is the CROSS AG; there is an emergency at sea; then we jump in our cars to reach the station as quickly as possible; and a few minutes later, we are on our way with the speedboat SNS 269 loaned by Saint-Barth our semi-rigid is still in “repair”.

A resident of Morne Vitet, in St-Barth, called the CROSS, after having seen, for approximately 30 seconds, distress hand lights at sea, of bright red color between 5 and 10 nautical miles North East of the ilet Toc Vert located northwest of Saint-Barthélemy, then a second bright red light signal, two minutes later, behind the Toc Vert islet at water level.

We therefore head for Toc Vert for 1 hour 20 minutes.

The Voyager ferry, already on its way to Gustavia, is diverted to get closer to Toc Vert and go see in the area.

A fishing boat (3 Hulls) also calls the CROSS to report that they are observing a red parachute rocket at sea and is proceeding on the estimated position of the rocket.

We are trying to reach them directly, by VHF and mobile phone, but communication is very difficult.

Voyager sees nothing alarming near St. Barth and continues on its way to Gustavia.

The Saint-Martin crew of SNS 269 arrives in the area, and the CROSS gives them a search area to cross over. Everything is calm ; there is a beautiful moon, good visibility, but no observation of a ship or a person in distress near the Toc Vert islet.

Finally, we manage to get in touch with the “3 Coques”, first by phone, then by an appointment on the open sea half an hour later.

The fishermen tell us that they saw a parachute rocket and an orange flash light, but they think it was more between Saint-Martin and Scrub Island, near Anguilla.

We relay this information to the CROSS, which gives us a new search area and asks us to draw a grid between Saint-Barth, Saint-Martin and Scrub Island, which is a much too large search area. Only a new “rocket launch” could help us locate any “disaster victims”; but we don't see anything.

We pull edges and search in vain. Finally, since there are no new elements and no ship is missing; the CROSS gives us freedom of maneuver, and the star SNS 269 therefore sets sail again for Marigot after hours and hours of fruitless research.

As we pass the St Martin landfill we perceive a burning smell… The Cul de Sac ecosite being located in the axis of the cape indicated by the fishermen, maybe a rocket was accidentally set on fire there. . "

We will not know! But the team members who return to the Fort Louis Marina after 1 am know that they have done their best to find the source of these distress calls (in total 4 hand flares + 1 parachute rocket would have been observed by 2 witnesses ). Without success ! "

 1,560 total views, 9 views today

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

Results of professional courses 2016

On Wednesday, we announced the results of the general and technological baccalaureate. Today, it is the turn of those of the professional baccalaureate, CAP and BEP, ...
English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Sauvetage en mer : Des fusées de détresse mais pas de bateau retrouvé !

0

Voici le récit de la dernière intervention effectuée par la SNSM.

«Dans la soirée du samedi 4 novembre, juste après 19h30, alors que certains des équipiers bénévoles de la S.N.S.M. s’apprêtent à dîner, leurs téléphones sonnent. C’est le CROSS AG ; il y a une urgence en mer; alors nous sautons dans nos voitures pour rejoindre la station au plus vite ; et quelques minutes plus tard, nous sommes en route avec la vedette SNS 269 prêtée par Saint-Barth notre semi-rigide est toujours en “réparation”.

Un habitant du Morne Vitet, à St-Barth, a appelé le CROSS, après avoir vu, pendant 30 secondes environ, des feux à mains de détresse en mer, de couleur rouge vive entre 5 et 10 miles nautiques au Nord Est de l’ilet Toc Vert situé au Nord Ouest de Saint-Barthélemy, puis un deuxième signal lumineux rouge vif, deux minutes plus tard, derrière l’ilet Toc Vert au niveau de l’eau.

Nous faisons donc cap sur Toc Vert pendant 1h20.

Le ferry Voyager, déjà en route pour Gustavia, se déroute pour se rapprocher de Toc Vert et aller voir sur zone.

Un bateau de pêche (3 Coques) appelle aussi le CROSS pour signaler qu’ils observent une fusée parachute rouge en mer et fait route sur la position estimée de la fusée.

Nous tentons de les joindre directement, par VHF et téléphone portable, mais la communication est très difficile.

Le Voyager ne voit rien d’alarmant près de St. Barth et poursuit sa route vers Gustavia.

L’équipage saint-martinois de la SNS 269 arrive sur zone, et le CROSS lui donne une zone de recherche à quadriller. Tout est calme ; il y a une belle lune, une bonne visibilité, mais aucune observation de navire ou de personne en détresse près de l’îlet Toc Vert.

Finalement, nous arrivons à rentrer en contact avec le «3 Coques», d’abord par téléphone, puis par un rendez-vous en pleine mer une demi heure plus tard.

Les pêcheurs nous expliquent qu’ils ont vu une fusée parachute ainsi qu’une lumière flash orange mais ils pensent qu’elle était plutôt entre Saint-Martin et Scrub Island, près d’Anguilla.

On relaie ces informations au CROSS, qui nous donne une nouvelle zone de recherche et nous demande de faire un quadrillage entre Saint-Barth, Saint-Martin et Scrub Island, soit une zone de recherche beaucoup trop grande. Seul un nouveau “lancer de fusée” pourrait nous aider à localiser les éventuels “sinistrés” ; mais on ne voit rien.

Nous tirons des bords et cherchons en vain. Finalement, puisqu’il n’y a pas de nouveaux éléments et qu’aucun navire n’est porté disparu; le CROSS nous donne liberté de manœuvre, et la vedette SNS 269 refait donc route vers Marigot après des heures et des heures de recherche infructueuse.

Au passage de la décharge de St Martin nous percevons une odeur de brûlé… L’écosite de Cul de Sac se trouvant être dans l’axe du cap indiqué par les pêcheurs, peut-être une fusée y a-t-elle été embrasée accidentellement.»

On ne le saura pas ! Mais les équipiers qui rentrent à la Marina Fort Louis après 1 heure du matin savent qu’ils ont fait tout leur possible pour trouver la source de ces appels de détresse (au total 4 feux à main + 1 fusée parachute auraient été observés par 2 témoins). Sans succès ! »

 6,858 vues totales

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :