Rescue: Two people rescued on their liferaft off Saint-Martin!

0

On Wednesday, December 29, a boat with two people on board sank 7 nautical miles from Saint-Martin. Fortunately, the SNSM of Saint-Martin was able to help the two survivors who took refuge on their life raft. 

The alert was triggered at 4 a.m. on Wednesday, December 29.

The CROSS-AG (Regional Operational Center for Surveillance and Rescue of the Antilles-Guyana) has just called on the Saint-Martin station to help a sinking boat with 2 people on board ...

A team of 6 volunteer team members is immediately mobilized and sets off at 04:15 am, with the “Rescue Star” semi-rigid, after having loaded all the usual rescue equipment as well as a motor pump.

There is little information: the sailors in distress were only able to make one MAYDAY call by VHF at 03:30 in which they indicated to the CROSS that they were 2 people in absolute emergency on their boat sinking some 7 miles away Nautical to the west of Saint-Martin. They do not have time to give more details because the communication is cut.

The CROSS tries to reconnect with them; without success…. He then launched a MAYDAY RELAY asking all ships in the area to keep a close eye. A cruise ship is not far away and immediately commits to active research.

The CROSS hires the Rescue Star of the SNSM station in Saint-Martin; then a yacht, on its way to Saint-Martin, joins the search.

The Rescue Star is in the area at 04:41 am, joined by several units which have turned away to participate in the search, following the call of the CROSS, which gives each ship a specific search area to crisscross to have a maximum chance of locating the sinking ship.

On port, starboard, forward and aft of the Rescue Star, the onboard crew members scan the waters with thermal binoculars and sweep the waves with searchlights.

A helicopter left San Juan (Puerto Rico) at 05:10 am to come as reinforcement.

The day is just beginning to rise when, at 06:20 am, the yacht locates a small liferaft and launches its tender with 2 crew members to approach it. They quickly confirm that there are indeed two people on board, that the mother ship has sunk completely and that there is no sign of it.

The Rescue Star then joined the yacht in its search area. The CROSS asks the yacht to take the two people on board, while the SNSM team members retrieve the liferaft from the Rescue Star.

The yacht is heading for Simpson Bay, followed by the Rescue Star. At anchor, the 2 survivors of the shipwreck are transferred aboard the Rescue Star and taken to the Marigot ferry terminal where the firefighters await them for treatment at 08:45 am and transfer to the hospital as a precaution.

The survivors were on their way from St. Thomas to Antigua when one of the portholes suddenly gave way and their boat quickly filled with water. They did not have vests but luckily they had a liferaft which they were able to deploy immediately after making their VHF MAYDAY call. This raft saved their lives!

After having entrusted the two survivors to the firefighters, the Rescue Star immediately leaves to refuel, offered by DELTA PETROLEUM, loyal sponsor of the SNSM, in order to be available again in the event of a new alert.

Back at the Fort-Louis Marina at 09:07 am, the volunteer team members put their equipment away and do a little debriefing of the operation before going to their respective professional activity.

The CROSS-AG and the SNSM station in Saint-Martin warmly thank all the vessels (which have requested to remain anonymous) for their participation in the search and their immediate assistance.

 8,465 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Sauvetage : Deux personnes secourues sur leur radeau de survie au large de Saint-Martin !

0

Le mercredi 29 décembre dernier, un bateau avec deux personnes à son bord a coulé à 7 miles nautiques de Saint-Martin. Fort heureusement, la SNSM de Saint-Martin a pu porter secours aux deux rescapés réfugiés sur leur radeau de survie. 

L’alerte a été déclenchée à 4 heures du matin le mercredi 29 décembre dernier.

Le CROSS-AG (Centre Régional Opérationnel de Surveillance et de Sauvetage des Antilles-Guyane) vient de solliciter la station de Saint-Martin pour porter secours à un bateau en train de couler avec 2 personnes à bord…

Une équipe composée de 6 équipiers bénévoles est immédiatement mobilisée et appareille à 04h15, avec le semi-rigide « Rescue Star », après avoir chargé tout le matériel de secours habituel ainsi qu’une motopompe.

Il y a peu d’informations : les marins en détresse n’ont pu émettre qu’un seul appel MAYDAY par VHF à 03h30 dans lequel ils indiquent au CROSS être 2 personnes en urgence absolue sur leur embarcation en train de couler à quelques 7 Miles Nautiques à l’Ouest de Saint-Martin. Ils n’ont pas le temps de donner plus de précisions car la communication est coupée.

Le CROSS tente de reprendre contact avec eux ; sans succès…. Il lance alors un MAYDAY RELAY demandant à tous les navires sur zone de garder un œil attentif. Un bateau de croisière n’est pas loin et s’engage immédiatement pour une recherche active.

Le CROSS engage la Rescue Star de la station SNSM de Saint-Martin ; puis un yacht, en route vers Saint-Martin, vient se joindre aux recherches.

La Rescue Star est sur zone à 04h41, rejointe par plusieurs unités qui se sont détournées pour participer aux recherches, suite à l’appel du CROSS, qui donne à chaque navire une zone de recherche précise à quadriller pour avoir un maximum de chances de localiser le bateau en train de sombrer.

A bâbord, à tribord, à l’avant et à l’arrière de la Rescue Star, les équipiers embarqués scrutent les eaux avec des jumelles thermiques et balaient les vagues avec des projecteurs.

Un hélicoptère est parti de San Juan (Puerto Rico) à 05h10 pour venir en renfort.

Le jour commence tout juste à se lever quand, à 06h20, le yacht localise un petit radeau de survie et met son tender à l’eau avec 2 équipiers pour s’en approcher. Ils confirment rapidement qu’il y a bien deux personnes à bord, que le bateau mère a coulé complètement et qu’il n’y en a aucune trace.

La Rescue Star rejoint alors le yacht dans sa zone de recherche. Le CROSS demande au yacht de prendre les deux personnes à son bord, pendant que les équipiers de la SNSM récupèrent le radeau de survie sur la Rescue Star.

Le yacht fait route sur Simpson Bay, suivi de la Rescue Star. Au mouillage les 2 rescapés du naufrage sont transférés à bord de la Rescue Star et conduits vers la gare maritime de Marigot ou les pompiers les attendent pour prise en charge à 08h45 et transfert à l’hôpital par précaution.

Les rescapés faisaient route de St.Thomas vers Antigua quand un des hublots à cédé soudainement et leur embarcation s’est rapidement remplie d’eau. Ils n’avaient pas de gilets mais heureusement ils avaient un radeau de survie qu’ils ont pu déployer immédiatement après avoir lancé leur appel MAYDAY par VHF. Ce radeau leur a sauvé la vie !

Après avoir confié les deux rescapés aux pompiers, la Rescue Star part immédiatement refaire le plein de carburant, offert par DELTA PETROLEUM, fidèle sponsor de la SNSM, afin d’être de nouveau disponible, en cas d’une nouvelle alerte.

De retour à la Marina Fort-Louis à 09h07, les équipiers bénévoles rangent leur matériel et font un petit débriefing de l’opération avant de se rendre à leur activité professionnelle respective.

Le CROSS-AG et la station SNSM de Saint-Martin remercient vivement tous les navires (qui ont demandé à rester anonymes) pour leur participation aux recherches et leur assistance immédiate.

 3,561 vues totales,  5 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


About author

No comments