Health: Saint Martin is also affected by an epidemic of dengue

0

In parallel to the Covid-19 pandemic which affects Saint Martin, the territory is also affected by an epidemic of dengue. The majority circulating serotype is serotype 1. Dengue surveillance indicators remain high. Mistrust !

 

Surveillance of clinically suggestive cases

After a decrease in the weekly number of clinically suggestive cases of dengue reported in the last two weeks of March, we observe an increase of 20% on average since the beginning of April. The implementation of the confirm (2020-12) has undoubtedly contributed to this trend, a consequence of a decrease in the number of patients in medical offices at the end of March. Since the start of the epidemic (week 2020-03), nearly 1045 clinically suggestive cases of dengue fever have been recorded.

Surveillance of biologically confirmed cases

The weekly number of biologically confirmed cases of dengue reported to Public Health France remains high with more than 10 cases registered per week since February (2020-06). The positivity rate has fluctuated between 26 and 40% since the beginning of March. Since the start of the epidemic (week 2020-03), more than 160 biologically confirmed cases of dengue have been recorded. The DENV-1 serotype (82%) is the majority but the DENV-2 (9%) and DENV-3 (9%) serotypes are also found.

Monitoring emergency rooms and hospitalizations

The number of emergency department visits for dengue fever doubled last week (2020-16) compared to the previous two weeks, with six visits for suspected dengue fever, three of which required hospitalization. In addition, a decrease in the number of emergency visits for all causes is also observed. Since the start of the epidemic (2020-03), 48 emergency visits for suspected dengue fever have been recorded, 15 of which required hospitalization. A third concerns people under 15 and the sex ratio (M / F) is 1,2.

Surveillance of serious cases and deaths

A serious case of dengue (DENV-1) was notified in Saint-Martin by the intensive care unit of the Pointe-à-Pitre teaching hospital. This person died, and clinicians assessed that his death was directly related to dengue fever.

A clinically suggestive case of dengue is a suspected case with the following clinical picture: high fever (> 38,5 ° C) of sudden onset progressing for less than 10 days AND at least one of the following signs: pain syndrome (headache, arthralgia, myalgia, low back pain), pain retroorbital, fatigue AND in the absence of another infectious etiology.

A biologically confirmed case of dengue is a clinically evocative case in which the viral genome has been demonstrated by RT-PCR. The search for NS1 antigens can also confirm the case of dengue. This diagnostic research is carried out on whole blood of J1.

 6,808 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Santé : Saint-Martin est aussi touché par une épidémie de dengue

0

En parallèle à la pandémie de Covid-19 qui touche Saint-Martin, le territoire est aussi concerné par une épidémie de dengue. Le sérotype circulant majoritaire est le sérotype 1. Les indicateurs de surveillance de la dengue demeurent élevés. Méfiance !

 

Surveillance des cas cliniquement évocateurs

Après une baisse du nombre hebdomadaire de cas cliniquement évocateurs de dengue signalés les deux dernières semaines de mars, nous observons une augmentation de 20% en moyenne depuis début avril. La mise en place du confirment (2020-12) a sans doute contribué à cette tendance, conséquence d’une diminution de la patientèle dans les cabinets médicaux fin mars. Depuis le début de l’épidémie (semaine 2020-03), près de 1045 cas cliniquement évocateurs de dengue ont été enregistrés.

Surveillance des cas biologiquement confirmés

Le nombre hebdomadaire de cas biologiquement confirmés de dengue remonté à Santé publique France reste élevé avec plus de 10 cas enregistrés par semaine depuis février (2020-06). Le taux de positivité oscille entre 26 et 40 % depuis le début du mois de mars. Depuis le début de l’épidémie (semaine 2020-03), plus de 160 cas biologiquement confirmés de dengue ont été enregistrés. Le sérotype DENV-1 (82%) est majoritaire mais les sérotypes DENV-2 (9%) et DENV-3 (9%) sont également retrouvés.

Surveillance des passages aux urgences et hospitalisations

Le nombre de passages aux urgences pour dengue a doublé la semaine dernière (2020-16) par rapport aux deux semaines précédentes, avec six passages pour suspicion de dengue dont trois ont nécessité une hospitalisation. Par ailleurs, une diminution du nombre de passages aux urgences toutes causes confondues est également observée. Depuis le début de l’épidémie (2020-03), 48 passages aux urgences pour suspicion de dengue ont été enregistrés dont 15 ont nécessité une hospitalisation. Un tiers concerne les moins de 15 ans et le sexe ratio (H/F) est de 1,2.

Surveillance des cas graves et des décès

Un cas grave de dengue (DENV-1) a été notifié à Saint-Martin par le service de réanimation du CHU de Pointe-à-Pitre. Cette personne est décédée, et les cliniciens ont évalué que son décès était directement lié à la dengue.

Un cas cliniquement évocateur de dengue est un cas suspect ayant le tableau clinique suivant: fièvre élevée (>38,5°C) de début brutal évoluant depuis moins de 10 jours ET au moins un des signes suivants : syndrome algique (céphalées, arthralgies, myalgies, lombalgies), douleurs rétro orbitaires, fatigue ET en l’absence d’une autre étiologie infectieuse.

Un cas biologiquement confirmé de dengue est un cas cliniquement évocateur chez lequel le génome viral a été mis en évidence par RT-PCR. La recherche des antigènes NS1 peut également confirmer le cas de dengue. Cette recherche diagnostique est réalisée sur sang total de J1.

 1,085 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT