Saint-Martin finds colors! Seven is said to be a lucky number

0

The number 7 is said to bring good luck. It could be that his namesake, Sète, is the one that brings a little cheerfulness, joy, and what Saint Martin still needs to turn the painful page of Cyclone Irma: bright colors.

Leave Sandy Ground and head towards Baie Rouge, you will notice this wall that protects the border of the Mercure Hotel. The owner of the place, Baki Arbia, will be able to be proud of an artistic achievement carried out with Christian Jurand, famous gallery owner, around whom artists-painters came together to form in 2013 the “Circle of the Arts”. As you will see, each artist originally expresses a moving thought, sometimes even instinctive.

The Wall of Arts

This is the name given to this artistic project. Christian Jurand, present in Saint-Martin and Saint-Barth for thirty years, is originally from Sète. This city in the SE of France, known to fans of Brassens and Soulages, welcomes many artists, often of international stature like those present this week here in Saint-Martin, today all valued in the European and northern artistic milieu. American.

7 + 2 = 9

These are 9 artists-painters from Sète, at least from the heart, engaged in a masterpiece which wishes to be a translation into the facts of the maxim, by way of recommendation, of Leonardo da Vinci: "Always make your painting a openness to the world ”.

These painters in action want to build this imaginary and lasting bridge between their island of Sète and the island of Saint-Martin.

On this exterior fresco of the Mercure Hotel, a sort of patchwork, universal themes are expressed that you will discover with pleasure. All this is therefore only a first stone in this edifice which is the reconstruction of Saint-Martin.

The idea goes well beyond this project for the Mercure Hotel. “We have come to rebuild. We feel that things are going to happen. We all work for the long term, ”insists Christian Jurand.

Ambition and transformation

You are no doubt familiar with "L'Escale des Îles", this fisherman's house which until now hosted paintings by local artists. Anupama, the “gallery owner”, is keen to participate in this movement initiated by the “Cercle des Arts” in Sète, in this new surging wave but much more peaceful, opening its doors to an exhibition whose opening will take place next Friday at 17:00 pm.

"I appreciate to have these artists in my gallery," she proudly acknowledges.

The artists of the “Wall of Arts” will be able to present some of their works there. To evoke more the presence than the passage, the gallery will also be called “Le Cercle des Arts FWI”.

Now it's up to you, readers, to explore the “Wall of Arts” of the Hotel Mercure as well as this exhibition space.

The nine artists to have invested in the "Wall of Arts" project that others have since joined (an Italian and a regular in Saint-Martin): Aldo Biascamano, André Cerveran, Christophe Cosentino, Frédéric Périmon, Jean-Jacques François, Lucas Mancione, Marc Duran, Philippe Loubat, Sliman Ismaili Alaoui. _JB

Exhibition open to all:

23, Boulevard de France (in front of the Marigot Market) - Tel: +33 5 90 87 26 08 - Current Facebook page: Escale des Îles Gallery

loading

About author

No comments

Calm down at Sandy-Ground

Official: The Lieutenant Colonel Chief of the Gendarmerie decided to lift the checkpoints on Sandy Ground and its surroundings yesterday due to ...

Saint-Martin retrouve des couleurs ! Seven is said to be a lucky number

0

Le chiffre 7 est censé porter bonheur. Il se pourrait que son homonyme, Sète, soit celui qui apporte un peu de gaîté, joie, et ce dont Saint-Martin a encore besoin pour tourner la douloureuse page du cyclone Irma : des couleurs lumineuses.

Quittez Sandy Ground et partez en direction de Baie Rouge, vous remarquerez ce mur qui protège longe l’Hôtel Mercure. Le propriétaire de l’endroit, Baki Arbia, va pouvoir s’enorgueillir d’une réalisation artistique menée avec Christian Jurand, célèbre galeriste, autour duquel des artistes-peintres se sont réunis pour former en 2013 le « Cercle des Arts ». Vous le constaterez, chaque artiste exprime originalement une pensée en mouvement, parfois même instinctive.

The Wall of Arts

Tel est le nom donné à ce projet artistique. Christian Jurand, présent sur Saint-Martin et Saint-Barth depuis trente ans, est originaire de Sète. Cette ville du S-E de la France, connue des amateurs de Brassens et Soulages, accueille de nombreux artistes, souvent d’envergure internationale comme ceux présents cette semaine ici à Saint-Martin, aujourd’hui tous valorisés dans le milieu artistique européen et nord-américain.

7 + 2 = 9

Ce sont 9 artistes-peintres sétois, au moins de cœur, engagés dans un chef d’œuvre qui souhaite être une traduction dans les faits de la maxime, en guise de recommandation, de Léonard de Vinci : « Faites toujours que votre tableau soit une ouverture au monde ».

Ces peintres en action veulent construire ce pont imaginaire et pérenne entre leur île de Sète et l’île de Saint-Martin.

Sur cette fresque extérieure de l’Hôtel Mercure, sorte de patchwork, s’expriment des thèmes universels que vous découvrirez avec plaisir. Tout ceci n’est donc qu’une première pierre à cet édifice qu’est la reconstruction de Saint-Martin.

L’idée va bien au-delà de ce projet pour l’Hôtel Mercure. « Nous sommes venus pour reconstruire. On sent que des choses vont se passer. Nous, on s’inscrit tous dans la durée », martèle Christian Jurand.

Ambition et transformation

Vous connaissez sans doute «L’Escale des Îles», cette maison de pêcheurs qui accueillait jusqu’à présent les tableaux d’artistes locaux. Anupama, la « gallery owner », tient à participer à ce mouvement initié par le « Cercle des Arts » sétois, à cette nouvelle vague déferlante mais bien plus pacifique, ouvrant ses portes à une exposition dont le vernissage aura lieu vendredi prochain à 17h00.

« I appreciate to have these artists in my gallery», reconnaît-elle fièrement.

Les artistes du « Wall of Arts » pourront y présenter certaines de leurs œuvres. Pour évoquer plus la présence que le passage, la galerie va d’ailleurs s’appeler «Le Cercle des Arts F.W.I».

A vous, lecteurs, de partir maintenant à la découverte du « Wall of Arts » de l’Hôtel Mercure ainsi que de ce lieu d’exposition.

Les neuf artistes à s’être investis dans le projet « Wall of Arts » que d’autres ont d’ailleurs rejoint depuis (une Italienne et une habituée de Saint-Martin) : Aldo Biascamano, André Cerveran, Christophe Cosentino, Frédéric Périmon, Jean-Jacques François, Lucas Mancione, Marc Duran, Philippe Loubat, Sliman Ismaili Alaoui. _JB

Exposition ouverte à tous :

23, Boulevard de France (en face du Marché de Marigot) – Tél : +33 5 90 87 26 08 – Page Facebook actuelle : Galerie Escale des Îles

 3,238 vues totales,  10 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

Lancement d’ateliers de cuisine crue

Consommer des aliments végétaux crus afin de bénéficier au maximum de leurs bienfaits pour la santé est une nouvelle option culinaire. Sonia et Thierry, passionnés ...
%d blogueurs aiment cette page :