Saint Martin at Agoa time 

0
Image

The Agoa mammal sanctuary is part of the agency for marine protected areas, a public establishment dedicated to the protection of the marine environment. Dolphin and whale lovers will meet tomorrow at the first edition of the “Kozé Agoa 2015” evening. A great moment of sharing with the sanctuary team.   

Thursday, from 17 p.m. to 19 p.m., at the Sandy Ground cultural center, the public will be able to meet researchers, institutions and professionals passionate about these impressive mammals. The objective of this event, whose entry is free, is to introduce the region's dolphins and whales to the population to better protect them. The next day, the members of the Agoa management board will meet in the same place to take stock of their various awareness-raising actions. On this occasion, they will also discuss their new management plan.

 

Role of the Agoa sanctuary

Recognized in 2012 as a specially protected area under the SPAW protocol (Specialy Protected Areas and Wildlife), the Agoa sanctuary aims to "guarantee a good conservation status of marine mammals by protecting them and their habitats from direct negative impacts or indirect, proven or potential, human activities ”, indicates the institution. Protect, know, exchange, raise awareness and cooperate are the five principles of the declaration of creation of the sanctuary, covering the area of ​​the French West Indies, an area of ​​143.256 km².

Here is the program of interventions for "Kozé Agoa 2015":

"Know the marine mammals", with Sophie Bedel, Agoa scientific and technical project manager

"Agoa, a marine protected area", with Amandine Eynaudi, delegate from the Agoa Marine Protected Areas Agency

"Improve Whale watching to observe without disturbing", with Jean-Pierre Concaud, director of Guadeloupe Evasion Découverte

"Synergy between marine protected areas", with Nicolas Maslach, curator of the Saint-Martin Nature Reserve

"Tourism within Agoa", with Kate Richardson, director of the Saint-Martin Tourist Office

"Twinning: strengthening cooperation", with Daniel Langlois, director of the Saguenay Marine Park

"2016 Remmoa campaign in the Antilles", with Vincent Ridoux, director of the Pelagis observatory, CNRS-University of La Rochelle.

"Yarari, a new sanctuary created between Saba and Bonaire", with Paul Hoetjes, coordinator in charge of Economic Affairs (EZ), National Office for the Caribbean Netherlands

“Wishes of twinning of Agoa with Yarari”, with in particular Ramona Connor, Vice-President of Agoa for the Community

 5,677 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Saint-Martin à l’heure d’Agoa 

0
Image

Le sanctuaire des mammifères Agoa fait partie de l’agence des aires marines protégées, établissement public dédié à la protection du milieu marin. Les amoureux des dauphins et des baleines ont rendez-vous demain à la première édition de la soirée «Kozé Agoa 2015». Un grand moment de partage avec l’équipe du sanctuaire.   

Jeudi, de 17h à 19h, au centre culturel de Sandy Ground, le public pourra aller à la rencontre de chercheurs, institutionnels et professionnels passionnés par ces mammifères impressionnants. L’objectif de cet événement, dont l’entrée est gratuite, est de faire découvrir les dauphins et les baleines de la région à la population pour mieux les protéger. Le lendemain, les membres du conseil de gestion Agoa se réuniront au même endroit pour effectuer un bilan de leurs différentes actions de sensibilisation. A cette occasion, ils évoqueront également leur nouveau plan de gestion.

 

Rôle du sanctuaire Agoa

Reconnue en 2012 comme aire spécialement protégée au titre du protocole SPAW (Specialy Protected Areas and Wildlife), le sanctuaire Agoa a pour objectif de «garantir un bon état de conservation des mammifères marins en les protégeant, ainsi que leurs habitats, des impacts négatifs directs ou indirects, avérés ou potentiels, des activités humaines», indique l’institution. Protéger, connaître, échanger, sensibiliser et coopérer sont les cinq principes de la déclaration de création du sanctuaire, couvrant la zone des Antilles françaises, soit une superficie de 143.256 km².

Voici le programme des interventions de «Kozé Agoa 2015» :

«Connaître les mammifères marins», avec Sophie Bedel, chargée de mission scientifique et technique Agoa

«Agoa, une aire marine protégée», avec Amandine Eynaudi, déléguée de l’Agence des aires marines protégées pour Agoa

«Améliorer le Whale watching pour observer sans déranger», avec Jean-Pierre Concaud, directeur de Guadeloupe Evasion Découverte

«Synergie entre aires marines protégées», avec Nicolas Maslach, conservateur de la Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin

«Le tourisme au sein d’Agoa», avec Kate Richardson, directrice de l’Office de Tourisme de Saint-Martin

«Jumelage : renforcer la coopération», avec Daniel Langlois, directeur du parc marin du Saguenay

«Campagne Remmoa 2016 aux Antilles», avec Vincent Ridoux, directeur de l’observatoire Pelagis, CNRS-Université de La Rochelle.

«Yarari, un nouveau sanctuaire créé entre Saba et Bonaire», avec Paul Hoetjes, coordinateur en charge des Economic Affairs (EZ), National Office for the Caribbean Netherlands

«Voeux de jumelage d’Agoa avec Yarari», avec notamment Ramona Connor, vice-présidente d’Agoa pour la Collectivité

 1,469 vues totales,  8 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT