Social Networks: Facebook, still in turmoil!

0

Created in 2004 by Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook with its 2,2 billion users is the most important social network in the world; the giant Facebook notably has its former competitors WhatsApp (1 billion users) and Instagram (1,5 billion users). Increasingly neglected by young people in favor of Snapchat, Facebook remains the second most visited website in the world.

The group is regularly at the center of controversies for the use of personal data. The social network is often the target of attacks and accusations; criticized by former employees, accused of data leaks, attacked by elected officials who accuse Mark Zuckerberg of having terrifying power: “his political influence, his disproportionate weight on the flow of information as well as his unconscious management of data personalities make them the most harmful monopoly in the world. ”

If users continue despite the controversy to keep their Facebook accounts it is nevertheless without dedicating a deep acrimony towards the founder often accused of being a liar. Summoned last April to the United States Congress, he was questioned at length about the group's high permeability regarding personal data.

The founder of Facebook then assured them that subscribers do have “absolute control” of the information they share on the Facebook platform.

These remarks before Congress appear today as one more lie because Facebook is once again in turmoil: the New York Times after a long and tedious investigation revealed that for years, Facebook has been making information available to companies. millions of confidential data: friends lists, email addresses, phone numbers and even access to Messenger conversations!

Netflix, Apple, Spotify, Amazon, Yahoo, the list goes on for over 150 company names; these Facebook business partners were exempt from Facebook's privacy rules. Mak Zuckerberg would even have made an agreement with Netflix and Spotify so that they can access the reading of private messages!

To defend itself, the social network affirms that users must "explicitly give their agreement on Facebook" before providing such access to data - these very long texts of the regulations that we never read; therefore, if Facebook has indeed given all confidential information to the web giants, this was not done implicitly!

 5,692 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Réseaux Sociaux : Facebook, encore dans la tourmente !

0
blank

Créé en 2004 par Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook avec ses 2,2 milliards d’utilisateurs est le réseau social le plus important au monde; le géant Facebook détient notamment ses anciens concurrents WhatsApp (1 milliard d’utilisateurs) et Instagram (1,5 milliards d’utilisateurs). De plus en plus délaissé par les jeunes au profit de Snapchat, Facebook reste tout de même le deuxième site internet le plus visité au monde.

Le groupe est régulièrement au centre de controverses pour l’exploitation des données personnelles. Le réseau social est souvent la cible d’attaques et d’accusations ; critiqué par d’anciens salariés, incriminé pour des fuites de données, attaqué par les élus qui accusent Mark Zuckerberg de détenir un pouvoir terrifiant : “son influence politique, son poids démesuré sur la circulation de l’information ainsi que sa gestion inconsciente des données personnelles en font le plus nuisible des monopoles au monde.”

Si les utilisateurs continuent malgré les controverses de conserver leurs comptes Facebook ce n’est néanmoins sans vouer une profonde acrimonie envers le fondateur souvent taxé d’être un menteur. Convoqué en avril dernier devant le Congrès américain, il fut longuement interrogé sur la grande perméabilité du groupe concernant les données personnelles.

Le fondateur de Facebook leur assurait alors que les abonnés ont bien “le contrôle absolu” des informations qu’ils partagent sur la plateforme Facebook.

Ces propos devant le Congrès apparaissent aujourd’hui comme un mensonge de plus car Facebook est à nouveau dans la tourmente : le New-York Times après une longue et fastidieuse enquête a révélé que depuis des années, Facebook met à la disposition d’entreprises des millions de données confidentielles : les listes d’amis, les adresses emails, les numéros de téléphones et même l’accès aux conversations de Messenger !

Netflix, Apple, Spotify, Amazon, Yahoo, la liste est longue de plus de 150 noms d’entreprises ; ces partenaires commerciaux de Facebook étaient exemptés des règles de confidentialité de Facebook.  Mak Zuckerberg aurait même passé un accord avec Netflix et Spotify pour qu’ils puissent accéder à la lecture des messages privés !

Pour se défendre le réseau social affirme que les utilisateurs doivent « explicitement donner leur accord sur Facebook » avant de fournir un tel accès aux données -ces très longs textes du règlement que nous ne lisons jamais- ; de ce fait, si Facebook a bel et bien donné toutes les informations confidentielles aux géants du web, cela n’a pas été fait implicitement !

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT