See you on Sunday in Quartier d'Orléans for the 6th edition of the Endemic Animal Festival!

0

The association "Les Fruits de Mer" is organizing this Sunday, April 28, from 9 am to noon, at the Amuseum Naturalis (The Old House) in Quartier d'Orléans, its 6th annual Festival of Endemic Animals. The opportunity to get to know unique animals that only live in Saint-Martin, exhibitions and fun activities are also on the program for the morning.

“Our theme this year is Survivors,” explains Mark Yokoyama, co-founder of Les Fruits de Mer. “Our endemic animals are the most extraordinary survivors. By adapting to survive in Saint-Martin, they have become unique species that cannot be found anywhere else on the planet. They are a key element of the island's heritage. If they were lost here, they would disappear from the world. Children and adults can also learn about the birds that only live in our region through games and fun activities linked to the “Detective of the Birds of the Caribbean” program.

The festival will also use the Survivors theme to explore local heritage. A special exhibition of poems from the new book Hurricane Protocol by renowned writer Lasana M. Sekou is also planned. 

Visitors will have an overview of Soualibra, a new research library that collects and shares knowledge about Saint Martin. A special exhibition will highlight 5000 years of ecological traditions in Saint-Martin.

“During this festival, guests can contribute to the survival of Saint-Martin”, underlines Jenn Yerkes, President of the Les Fruits de Mer association. “Visitors will be able to decorate a bird feeder made from a bottle. plastic and take it home to feed birds in their garden or elsewhere. You can also bring home seedlings of native trees and other plants free of charge. You will learn more about some of the threats we all face here in the territory ”.

The Endemic Animals Festival is open to all ages, especially children. Festival-goers will also be able to enjoy all the permanent exhibitions at the Amuseum Naturalis, located on the hill overlooking Le Galion, in Quartier d'Orléans.

The festival is completely free thanks to the generous support of the Gold Sponsor Delta Petroleum, without forgetting the partners 97150, BirdsCaribbean, Buzz, IZI Light, L'Auberge Gourmande, Lagoonies Bistro and Bar, L'Esperance Hôtel, St. Martin's Sweetness and Tri- Sport.

 

 

Photo caption: Le Thécadactyle Spotted is one of the animals that can only be found in Staint-Martin!

 5,982 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Rendez-vous dimanche à Quartier d’Orléans pour la 6ème édition du Festival des Animaux Endémiques !

0

L’association « Les Fruits de Mer » organise ce dimanche 28 avril, de 9 heures à midi, à l’Amuseum Naturalis (The Old House) à Quartier d’Orléans, son 6ème Festival annuel des Animaux Endémiques. L’occasion de faire connaissance avec des animaux uniques qui ne vivent qu’à Saint-Martin, des expositions et des activités ludiques étant également au programme de la matinée.

«Notre thème de cette année est Survivants,» explique Mark Yokoyama, le cofondateur de l’association « Les Fruits de Mer». « Nos animaux endémiques sont les survivants les plus extraordinaires. En s’adaptant pour survivre à Saint- Martin, ils sont devenus des espèces uniques que l’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs sur la planète. Elles sont un élément clé du patrimoine de l’île. Si elles étaient perdues ici, elles disparaîtraient du monde. Les enfants et les adultes peuvent également en apprendre davantage sur les oiseaux qui ne vivent que dans notre région grâce à des jeux et des activités ludique lié au programme « Détective des Oiseaux de la Caraïbe ».

Le festival utilisera également le thème Survivants pour explorer le patrimoine local. Une exposition spéciale de poèmes du nouveau livre Hurricane Protocol de l’écrivain renommé Lasana M. Sekou est également prévue. 

Les visiteurs auront un aperçu de Soualibra, une nouvelle bibliothèque de recherche qui collecte et partage des connaissances sur Saint-Martin. Une exposition spéciale mettra en lumière 5000 ans de traditions écologiques à Saint-Martin.

«Lors de ce festival, les invités peuvent contribuer à la survie de Saint-Martin », souligne Jenn Yerkes, la Présidente de l’association Les Fruits de Mer. «les visiteurs pourront décorer une mangeoire à oiseaux fabriquée à partir d’une bouteille en plastique et l’emporter chez eux pour nourrir des oiseaux dans leur jardin ou ailleurs. Vous pourrez également emporter gratuitement des semis d’arbres indigènes et d’autres plantes. Vous en apprendrez plus sur certaines des menaces auxquelles nous sommes tous confrontés ici sur le territoire ».

Le Festival des Animaux Endémiques est ouvert à tous les âges, et notamment pour les enfants. Les festivaliers pourront également profiter de toutes les expositions permanentes à l’Amuseum Naturalis, situé sur la colline surplombant Le Galion, à Quartier d’Orléans.

Le festival est entièrement gratuit grâce au généreux soutien du Gold Sponsor Delta Petroleum, sans oublier les partenaires 97150, BirdsCaribbean, Buzz, IZI Light, L’Auberge Gourmande, Lagoonies Bistro and Bar, L’Esperance Hôtel, St. Martin’s Sweetness et Tri-Sport.

 

 

Légende photo : Le Thécadactyle Tacheté est l’un des animaux que l’on trouve uniquement à Staint-Martin !

 1,439 vues totales,  7 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT