Post Irma reconstruction: Slow progress in St Maarten, funding may be insufficient

0

Last May, the Algemene Rekenkamer, the Dutch Supreme Audit Institution (ISC) (the equivalent of the Court of Auditors in France) updated its report on the progress of post-Irma reconstruction in St Maarten.

In 2018, she found that "little aid funds had been spent". As a reminder, the total cost of the reconstruction of the Dutch part has been estimated at around 2 billion euros. The Netherlands made € 550 million available, including € 470 million through the World Bank.

The budget for the year 2020 has been revised upwards to allow the financing of two ongoing projects: the renovation of infrastructure (public services, housing in particular) required an additional 46,2 M € (total of 83,9 M € €), emergency waste management requested an additional € 20,9 million (total of € 41,8 million). The total amount of the World Bank's 2020 envelope ultimately fell from € 183,7 million to € 236,1 million.

At the end of 2020, the World Bank had € 92,0 million disbursed. Most of this amount, € 78,9 million, was devoted to carrying out reconstruction projects. € 52,9 million of disbursed funds have been spent.

For the ISC, progress in the reconstruction of Sint Maarten has been slow. Out of a total of 379 dwellings to be restored, only 44% have actually been restored. As for the 19 damaged schools, at the start of 2021, work was only completed for three of them.

To date, projects with varying objectives were in preparation and in execution for a total amount of € 338,2 million. However, reconstruction is far from being completed and the initially planned budget risks exploding; the renovation of public services already requires an additional € 60 million. Therefore, the SAI believes that the funds allocated by the Netherlands will not be sufficient to cover the remaining reconstruction projects. In the second quarter of 2021, a steering committee was to discuss the distribution of the resources of the trust fund.

loading

About author

No comments

Reconstruction post Irma : Des progrès lents à St Maarten, des crédits peut-être insuffisants

0

En mai dernier, l’Algemene Rekenkamer, institution supérieure de contrôle des finances publiques (ISC) néerlandaise (l’équivalent de la cour des comptes en France) a actualisé son rapport sur l’avancée de la reconstruction post Irma à St Maarten.

En 2018, elle avait constaté que «peu de fonds d’aide avaient été dépensés». Pour rappel, le coût total de la reconstruction de la partie hollandaise a été estimé à environ 2 milliards d’euros. Les Pays-Bas ont mis à disposition 550 millions d’euros dont 470 millions d’euros via la Banque mondiale.

Le budget pour l’année 2020 a été révisé à la hausse pour permettre le financement de deux projets en cours : la rénovation d’infrastructures (services publics, logements notamment) a nécessité 46,2 M€ supplémentaires (total de 83,9 M€), la gestion d’urgence des déchets a demandé 20,9 M€ supplémentaires (total de 41,8 M€). Le montant total de l’enveloppe 2020 de la Banque mondiale est au final passé de 183,7 M€ à 236,1 M€.

Au final fin 2020, la Banque mondiale disposait de 92,0 M€ déboursés. La plus grande partie de ce montant, 78,9 M€, a été consacrée à la réalisation de projets de reconstruction. 52,9 M€ des fonds décaissés ont été dépensés.

Pour l’ISC, les progrès de la reconstruction de Sint Maarten ont été lents. Sur un total de 379 logements devant être restaurés, seuls 44 % l’ont été effectivement. Quant aux 19 écoles endommagées, début 2021, les travaux n’étaient achevés que pour trois d’entre elles.

A ce jour, des projets aux objectifs variables étaient en préparation et en exécution pour un montant total de 338,2 M€. Or, la reconstruction est loin d’être terminée et le budget initialement prévu risque d’exploser ; le chantier de rénovation des services publics nécessitent déjà 60 M€ supplémentaires. Aussi l’ISC estime-t-elle que les fonds alloués par les Pays Bas ne seront pas suffisants pour couvrir les projets de reconstruction restants. Au deuxième trimestre 2021, un comité de pilotage devait discuter de la répartition des ressources du fonds fiduciaire.

 1,997 vues totales,  8 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT