Post-Irma reconstruction (2/2): President Gibbs takes stock of the situation two years after the cyclone

0

During a press briefing organized at the end of last week, President Daniel Gibbs, in the presence of elected officials, had discussed the reconstruction of Saint-Martin and the projects to come. Second part of this press conference…

Since November 23, 2018, Saint-Martin has chaired the Conference of Presidents of the Outermost Regions, as well as the association of the ORs. On February 6 and 7, 2020, the territory will host the CP-RUP Conference for the first time. The opportunity for the President to show that the reconstruction of Saint-Martin is indeed a reality. "I will make sure to send strong messages, at the highest level of the State and of the European Commission", because "our demands are not the fruit of recriminations from a population of 'spoiled children' (…) Obtain simply what we are entitled to is not "unhealthy", but essential to succeed in catching up in terms of structuring investments ".

Daniel Gibbs recalls that France has obtained 46 million euros from the European Union and, to date, the Collectivity has raised invoices for 33,2 million euros and benefited, from the State, "of only 11,9 million euros of reimbursements". The President affirms that the Saint-Martin residents should benefit, like all other French citizens, from public policies made available to all French territories, such as the “Grand Plan d'Investissement” of 57,1 billion euros, or the “Grand Loan” of 60 million euros.

For true autonomy, Daniel Gibbs recalled the structural demands such as, a full-time prefect, a vice-rector, an INSEE office, a prison for short sentences, Météo France coverage…

The President wants to be part of Strategy 5.0, first of all, the "Zero exclusion", and for that it is necessary to make the government aware of the rate of non-use of social benefits in Saint-Martin, territory which comes under common law on social security, “Zero carbon” with projects in the field of photovoltaic and geothermal energy. “Zero waste”, with in particular the management and recovery of waste, “Zero pollutant”, and the current pollution with bromates in drinking water networks impose an “urgent need to accelerate the rate of renewal of pipes drinking water ”. Fifth and last point, “Zero vulnerability”, with the funding, by the State, of prevention and protection structures, which still remains “virtual”.

In conclusion, President Gibbs affirmed that we must "be constructive, without letting go of anything, without ever forgetting the imperative need to preserve our unity, our Saint Martin identity and our social cohesion. We must be united more than ever. And I address myself there, as much to the inhabitants of this island, as to our institutional and private partners ”._RM

loading

About author

No comments

Reconstruction post-Irma (2/2) : Le Président Gibbs fait le point sur la situation deux ans après le cyclone

0

Lors d’un point presse organisé en fin de semaine dernière, le Président Daniel Gibbs, en présence d’élus, avait évoqué la reconstruction de Saint-Martin et les projets à venir. Deuxième volet de cette conférence de presse…

Depuis le 23 novembre 2018, Saint-Martin assure la présidence de la Conférence des Présidents des Régions Ultrapériphériques, ainsi que de l’association des RUP. Les 6 et 7 février 2020, le territoire accueillera pour la première fois la Conférence de la CP-RUP. L’occasion, pour le Président, de montrer que la reconstruction de Saint-Martin est bel et bien une réalité. « Je veillerai à faire passer des messages forts, au plus haut niveau de l’Etat et de la Commission Européenne », car « nos revendications ne sont pas le fruit de récriminations d’une population « d’enfants gâtés » (…) Obtenir simplement ce à quoi nous avons droit n’est pas « malsain », mais indispensable pour réussir notre rattrapage en termes d’investissements structurants ».

Daniel Gibbs rappelle que la France a obtenu 46 millions d’euros de l’Union Européenne et, qu’à ce jour, la Collectivité a fait remonter pour 33,2 millions d’euros de factures et bénéficié, de la part de l’Etat, « de seulement 11,9 millions d’euros de remboursements ». Le Président affirme que les saint-martinois doivent bénéficier, comme tous les autres citoyens français, des politiques publiques mise à disposition de tous les Territoires français, comme le « Grand Plan d’Investissement » de 57,1 milliards d’euros, ou le « Grand Emprunt » de 60 millions d’euros.

Pour une véritable autonomie, Daniel Gibbs a rappelé les revendications structurelles comme, un préfet de plein exercice, un vice-recteur, une antenne INSEE, une prison pour les courtes peines, une couverture Météo France…

Le Président veut s’inscrire dans le cadre de la Stratégie 5.0, tout d’abord, le « Zéro exclusion », et pour cela il convient de sensibiliser le gouvernement sur le taux de non-recours aux prestations sociales à Saint-Martin, territoire qui relève du droit commun en matière de sécurité sociale, le « Zéro carbone » avec des projets dans le domaine du photovoltaïque et de la géothermie. Le « Zéro déchet », avec notamment la gestion et la valorisation des déchets, le « Zéro polluant », et l’actuelle pollution aux bromates dans les réseaux d’eau potable imposent une « impérieuse nécessitée d’accélérer le rythme de renouvellement des canalisations d’eau potable ». Cinquième et dernier point, « Zéro vulnérabilité », avec le financement, par l’Etat, des structures de prévention et de protection, qui demeure encore « virtuel ».

En conclusion le Président Gibbs a affirmé qu’il faut « être constructifs, sans rien lâcher, sans jamais oublier l’impérieuse nécessitée de préserver notre unité, notre identité saint-martinoise et nos cohésions sociales. Nous devons être unis, plus que jamais. Et je m’adresse là, autant aux habitants de cette île, qu’à nos partenaires institutionnels et privés »._RM

 3,137 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :