How much chlorine is there in the water flowing from the tap?

0

The main fault that a consumer finds in drinking water is a “taste of bleach”. This is due to the use of chlorine to disinfect it. Since the bromates crisis, many Saint-Martin residents regularly complain about a chlorinated taste.

Is there really too much chlorine? To find out, we consulted the latest water quality bulletins from the regional health agency (ARS).

Chlorine is used to neutralize nonconforming materials in the water during its treatment in the plant. Then, in the network, the water always contains chlorine which is called free chlorine. It is normal for the water to still contain chlorine once it leaves the plant because it is this quantity of chlorine that will allow the pipes to be cleaned and disinfected.

A circular was issued in France in November 2003 to regulate this minimum free chlorine threshold: for supply systems using chlorine dioxide as final disinfectant - which is the case for the Galisbay plant - it is necessary "Maintain a minimum concentration of 0,15 mg / L at the outlet of the reservoirs and aim for a concentration of 0,05 mg / L at any point in the distribution network".

Overall, the level recorded by the ARS in Saint-Martin * is between 0,10 and 0,15 mg / L. At the outlet of the reservoirs, the levels recorded are rather close to the minimum threshold to have. Extracts: August 4, 2020: 0,03 mg / L, May 18: 0,17 mg / L,  May 4: between 0,05 and 0,12 mg / L (several readings), March 10, 2020: 0,16 mg / L, etc. According to the World Health Organization, the threshold for non-tolerance by consumers of the smell of chlorine in water is between 0,6 and 1 mg / L. In Australia, the odor is accepted when the content is less than 0,6 mg / L, in the United States between 0,05 to 0,1 mg / L.

Finally, the ARS raised the level of bromates several times in 2020 and it is still below 5 micrograms per liter, the threshold not to be exceeded being 10.

* On the readings available on the website of the Ministry of Health, the places where water is taken are not specified. (soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

Quelle quantité de chlore y a-t-il dans l’eau qui coule au robinet ?

0

Le principal défaut qu’un consommateur trouve à l’eau potable est un «goût de javel ». Cela est dû à l’usage de chlore pour la désinfecter. Depuis la crise des bromates, les Saint-Martinois sont encore nombreux à se plaindre régulièrement d’un goût chloré.

Y a-t-il vraiment trop de chlore ? Pour le savoir, nous avons consulté les derniers bulletins de la qualité de l’eau de l’agence régionale de santé (ARS).

Le chlore est utilisé pour neutraliser les matières non conformes dans l’eau lors de son traitement dans l’usine. Ensuite, dans le réseau, l’eau contient toujours du chlore que l’on appelle chlore libre. Il est normal que l’eau contienne encore du chlore une fois sortie de l’usine car c’est cette quantité de chlore qui va permettre de nettoyer et désinfecter les canalisations.

Une circulaire a été prise en France en novembre 2003 pour réglementer ce seuil minimal de chlore libre : pour les systèmes d’alimentation utilisant le bioxyde de chlore en tant que désinfectant final – ce qui est le cas de l’usine de Galisbay – il faut «maintenir une concentration minimale de 0,15 mg/L en sortie des réservoirs et viser une concentration de 0,05 mg/L en tout point du réseau de distribution».

Globalement, la teneure relevée par l’ARS à Saint-Martin* se situe entre 0,10 et 0,15 mg/L. En sortie de réservoirs, les teneurs relevées sont plutôt proches du seuil minimum à avoir. Extraits : le 4 août 2020 : 0,03 mg/L, le 18 mai : 0,17 mg/L,  le 4 mai : entre 0,05 et 0,12 mg/L (plusieurs relevés), le 10 mars 2020 : 0,16 mg/L, etc. Selon l’organisation mondiale de la santé, le seuil de non tolérance par les consommateurs de l’odeur du chlore dans l’eau se situe entre 0,6 et 1 mg/L. En Australie, l’odeur est acceptée lorsque la teneure est inférieure à 0,6 mg/L, aux Etats-Unis entre 0,05 à 0,1 mg/L.

Enfin, l’ARS a relevé le taux de bromates à plusieurs reprises en 2020 et il est toujours inférieur à 5 microgrammes par litre, le seuil à ne pas dépasser étant 10.

* Sur les relevés consultables sur le site du ministère de la santé, les lieux de prélèvement de l’eau ne sont pas précisés. (soualigapost.com)

 3,474 vues totales,  5 vues aujourd'hui

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT