CYCLONIC PREVENTION: Soon a new weather radar in St Peters Hill

0

As part of the European Territorial Cooperation Policy and through the INTERREG Caribbean cooperation program for the period 2014-2020, the Collectivity of Saint-Martin is piloting, in partnership with Sint Maarten, the project to install a weather radar on the island benefiting the entire territory of St. Martin but also the islands belonging to the Leeward Islands area.  

This equipment will be used to generally strengthen responses to natural risks and increase the responsiveness of territories to these meteorological risks. As technical partners, Météo France and the Meteorological Department of Sint Maarten, this radar will make it possible to:

– Develop a common climate measurement and monitoring tool

– Provide data to meteorological and climatological services,

– Coordinate alerts and vigilance measures on the same database

This new radar will be installed at the same place as the old one, at St Peters Hill in the Dutch part in order to contribute to the publication of vigilance and alert bulletins common to Saint-Martin (Météo France) and to the Meteorological Department of the government. of Sint Maarten (broadcast in French and English).

The WRM200 Dual Polarization Doppler Weather Radar System can detect and track hazardous weather phenomena including hurricanes from the Atlantic and Caribbean Sea. Radar system information can be used for general weather forecasts, aviation and marine forecasts and warnings, flood warnings and other weather-sensitive activities. This radar can also provide information on precipitation types, winds, wind shear and turbulence. Significant precipitation is detectable up to a maximum range of 300km, up to 450km for certain meteorological phenomena.

Radar data is accessible via the Internet from any computer browser within or outside the Weather Service. They can be transmitted via the fiber optic link from the radar site, to the meteorological facilities at Princess Juliana Airport, but also to the GIFS server in Washington and various meteorological users.

To finance this project, the Collectivity of Saint-Martin is providing €431 net and the government of Sint Maarten, an extra-community partner, €250 net. The INTERREG Caribbean ERDF completes the financing to the tune of 575 euros, for a total cost of 000 euros.

This new tool will be fully installed in the 3rd quarter of 2022.

 964 total views, 9 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

PREVENTION CYCLONIQUE : Bientôt un nouveau radar météo à St Peters Hill

0

Dans le cadre de la Politique de Coopération Territoriale Européenne et à travers le programme de coopération INTERREG Caraïbes pour la période 2014-2020, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin pilote, en partenariat avec Sint Maarten, le projet d’installation d’un radar météorologique sur l’île bénéficiant à l’ensemble du territoire de St. Martin mais aussi aux îles appartenant à la zone des Leeward Islands.  

Cet équipement servira à renforcer de manière générale les réponses aux risques naturels et à accroître la réactivité des territoires face à ces risques météorologiques. Comme partenaires techniques, Météo France et le Département Météorologique de Sint Maarten, ce radar va permettre de :

– Développer un outil commun de mesure et de surveillance du climat

– Fournir des données aux services météorologiques et climatologiques,

– Coordonner les alertes et les mesures de vigilance sur une même base de données

Ce nouveau radar sera installé au même endroit que l’ancien, à St Peters Hill en Partie Hollandaise afin de contribuer à l’édition des bulletins de vigilance et d’alerte communs à Saint-Martin (Météo France) et au Département Météorologique du gouvernement de Sint Maarten (diffusion en français et en anglais).

Le système de radar météorologique Doppler à double polarisation WRM200 peut détecter et suivre les phénomènes météorologiques dangereux, notamment les ouragans en provenance de l’Atlantique et de la mer des Caraïbes. Les informations du système radar peuvent être utilisées pour les prévisions météorologiques générales, les prévisions et les alertes destinées à l’aviation et à la navigation maritime, les alertes inondation et les autres activités sensibles à la météo. Ce radar peut également fournir des informations sur les types de précipitations, les vents, le cisaillement du vent et la turbulence. Les précipitations significatives sont détectables jusqu’à une portée maximale de 300km, jusqu’à 450km pour certains phénomènes météorologiques.

Les données radar sont accessibles par Internet à partir de n’importe quel navigateur d’ordinateur au sein du Service météorologique ou à l’extérieur. Elles peuvent être transmises via le lien en fibre optique du site radar, vers les installations météorologiques de l’aéroport Princess Juliana, mais aussi au serveur GIFS à Washington et divers utilisateurs météorologiques.

Pour financer ce projet, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin apporte 431 250 € net et le gouvernement de Sint Maarten, partenaire extra-communautaire, 575 000 € net. Le FEDER d’INTERREG Caraïbes complète le financement à hauteur de 1 293 750 euros, pour un coût total de 2 300 000 euros.

Ce nouvel outil sera complètement installé au 3ème trimestre 2022.

 964 vues totales,  9 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT