Eric Francis and Daisy Mercedes-Castillo, "proud to wear the uniform" of gendarme

0

Two Saint-Martinois reservist gendarmes testify to their experience and invite young people to apply.

The job of security is their "passion". Eric Francis, 26, is a territorial police officer in Saint-Martin. He has also been a reservist constable for three years. Daisy Mercedes-Castillo, 35, restaurateur at Sandy Ground, was security assistant with the border police (PAF) from 2007 to 2013. "I did not want to continue my career for family and personal reasons", she says. However, she did not give up her vocation and joined the operational reserve of the gendarmerie in 2011. Both said they were "proud to wear the uniform, to carry the republican values".

But their commitment within the gendarmerie goes beyond satisfying their "passion" for security. For Eric Francis, it is a way to "serve" his island. "Our role is to be close to the people, to bring insurance," he believes. “We are indeed there to reassure. People come to file complaints because they are victims, some may be crying. We are here to welcome them, ”adds Daisy Mercedes-Castillo.

In Saint-Martin, the mission of a reservist is to carry out patrols, to be on the ground in contact with the population in order to prevent delinquency. "We are also brought to appease situations because we know the local specificities, we can help the gendarmes who come from mainland", says Eric Francis. "Having Saint Martin's gendarmes by our side is an undeniable advantage because they know the terrain, know how to speak English," admits Lieutenant-Colonel Sébastien Manzoni, in charge of the command of the company of Saint-Martin. “The fact of being able to dialogue with people in their language made it possible to reduce the tension on an intervention, to delay the situation. There were 150 people around me and they only wanted to speak to me because I was Saint-Martinoise, ”recalls Daisy Mercedes-Castillo.

"We are an example to follow for young people," says Eric Francis. “Young people must get involved and join us. They must not simply see the repressive side of the gendarmerie, "he insists while acknowledging that he is there" to uphold the law ". “You shouldn't see the bad side. There are also positive sides, the gendarmerie is a beautiful family, ”he declares. And of memory of a very moving intervention: “I helped a person in distress not to commit suicide. We talked a lot. We can also have a role of listening, of psychologist. It's not just the judicial side. ”

Like Daisy, Eric claims that his relatives and friends have never criticized him for his involvement in the gendarmerie, an institution that is often often criticized locally. "On the contrary, people respect me. They come to me for advice, ”says Daisy.

For Eric, joining the operational reserve is a way for young people to become soldiers. “Often young people sign up to the RSMA (adapted military service regime) for the military side, this side which does not exist within the territorial or national police. By being a reservist, they will have this status, ”explains Eric, brigadier. It is also possible to evolve within the reserve and to rise in rank up to that of lieutenant-colonel. Daisy is currently brigadier chef and will become marshal in March.

Eric Francis and Daisy Mercedes-Castillon are among the ten men and women who make up the operational reserve of Saint-Martin. Lieutenant-Colonel Manzoni would like to be able to have a staff three times greater in order to constitute a local prevention cell. He therefore launched a call for candidates. A recruitment day will take place on March 2 at La Savane barracks. (Source: www.soualigapost.com)

To register, it is possible to send an email to crd.bp.comgendgp@gendarmerie.interieur.gouv.fr specifying their last name, first name, date and place of birth so that recruiters can schedule appointments. (Source: www.soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

Eric Francis et Daisy Mercedes-Castillo, «fiers de porter l’uniforme» de gendarme

0
blank

Deux Saint-Martinois gendarmes réservistes témoignent de leur expérience et invitent les jeunes à postuler.

Le métier de la sécurité, c’est leur «passion». Eric Francis, 26 ans, est policier territorial à Saint-Martin. Il est aussi gendarme réserviste depuis trois ans. Daisy Mercedes-Castillo, 35 ans, restauratrice à Sandy Ground, était adjoint de sécurité au sein de la police aux frontières (PAF) de 2007 à 2013. «Je n’ai pas souhaité poursuivre ma carrière pour des raisons familiales et personnelles», confie-t-elle. Pour autant, elle n’a pas renoncé à sa vocation et a intégré la réserve opérationnelle de la gendarmerie en 2011. Tous deux confient être «fiers de porter l’uniforme, de porter les valeurs républicaines».

Mais leur engagement au sein de la gendarmerie va au-delà d’assouvir leur «passion» pour la sécurité. Pour Eric Francis, c’est un moyen de «servir» son île. «Notre rôle est d’être proche de la population, d’amener de l’assurance», estime-t-il. «Nous sommes effectivement là pour rassurer. Des personnes viennent pour déposer plainte car elles sont victimes, certaines peuvent être en pleurs. Nous sommes là pour les accueillir», complète Daisy Mercedes-Castillo.

À Saint-Martin, la mission d’un réserviste consiste à effectuer des patrouilles, d’être sur le terrain au contact de la population afin de prévenir la délinquance. «Nous sommes également amenés à apaiser des situations car nous connaissons les spécificités locales, nous pouvons aider les gendarmes qui viennent de métropole», confie Eric Francis. «Avoir à nos côtés des gendarmes saint-martinois est un avantage indéniable car ils connaissent le terrain, savent parler anglais», admet le lieutenant-colonel Sébastien Manzoni, en charge du commandement de la compagnie de Saint-Martin. «Le fait de pouvoir dialoguer avec les gens dans leur langue a permis de faire baisser la tension sur une intervention, de temporiser la situation. Il y avait 150 personnes autour de moi et elles ne voulaient parler qu’à moi car j’étais Saint-Martinoise», se souvient Daisy Mercedes-Castillo.

«Nous sommes un exemple à suivre pour les jeunes», confie Eric Francis. «Les jeunes doivent s’engager et nous rejoindre. Ils ne doivent pas simplement voir le côté répressif de la gendarmerie», insiste-t-il tout en reconnaissant qu’il est là «pour faire respecter la loi». «Il ne faut pas voir le côté néfaste. Il y a aussi des côtés positifs, la gendarmerie est une belle famille», déclare-t-il. Et de souvenir d’une intervention très émouvante : «j’ai aidé une personne en détresse à ne pas se suicider. Nous avons beaucoup parlé. Nous pouvons aussi avoir un rôle d’écoute, de psychologue. Il n’y a pas que le côté judiciaire.»

Tout comme Daisy, Eric affirme que ses proches et ses amis ne l’ont jamais critiqué sur son engagement au sein de la gendarmerie, institution pourtant souvent décriée localement. «Au contraire, les gens me respectent. Ils viennent me demander des conseils», confie Daisy.

Pour Eric, intégrer la réserve opérationnelle est un moyen pour les jeunes de devenir militaire. «Souvent les jeunes s’engagent au RSMA régime du service militaire adapté, NDLR) pour le côté militaire, ce côté qui n’existe pas au sein de la police territoriale ou nationale. En étant réserviste, ils auront ce statut», explique Eric, brigadier. Il est en outre possible d’évoluer au sein de la réserve et de monter en grade jusqu’à celui de lieutenant-colonel. Daisy est elle actuellement brigadier chef et deviendra maréchal des logis en mars.

Eric Francis et Daisy Mercedes-Castillon font partie de la dizaine d’hommes et de femmes qui composent la réserve opérationnelle de Saint-Martin. Le lieutenant-colonel Manzoni aimerait pouvoir disposer d’un effectif trois fois supérieur afin de constituer une cellule de prévention de proximité. Aussi a-t-il lancé un appel à candidature. Une journée de recrutement aura lieu le 2 mars prochain à la caserne de La Savane. (Source : www.soualigapost.com)

Pour s’inscrire, il est possible d’envoyer un email à crd.bp.comgendgp@gendarmerie.interieur.gouv.fr en précisant leur nom, prénom, date et lieu de naissance afin que les recruteurs puissent planifier les RDV. (Source : www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT