PORTRAIT: One of the creators of Yoda chose St Maarten to live (1/1)

0

Nick Maley is one of the main creators of Yoda, a fictional character who embodies wisdom in the Star Wars saga and appears for the first time in The Empire strikes back in 1980. Special effects makeup artist, this English artist born in 1949 has worked on around XNUMX other films including Superman and Highlander.

From this career Nick Maley, now retired, mainly keeps two things. First a philosophy: you have to pursue your dreams. Then many archives, hence his desire to create a museum.

A sailor, he long sailed in the Caribbean with his wife Gloria, a former actress. The couple stopped over in Antigua for some time before deciding to settle in Sint Maarten in 2007.  To elect their new resort, they first have a linguistic criterion: "we didn't want to have any difficulty in communicating". But above all an economic criterion: "we had to find an island on which the economy was strong enough to operate a 200m museum.2 including outside the tourist season ”.

They hesitate between Puerto Rico, Saint-Thomas and Sint Maarten and end up choosing the latter. “I love culture in Saint-Martin. I like the mixture of populations that we have here. There are Europeans, Americans, Caribbean, Indians, Chinese ... We are all mixed up. And because it's so diverse, people have to try to adapt to each other, ”considers Nick Maley, who admits that he was also won over by the French cuisine. “The Dutch side was commercial enough to create our museum. And the French side is peaceful enough to feel in the Caribbean. So it was a compromise, ”he adds, adding that he lives on the beach on the French side. (to follow in our Monday edition. Source: soualigapost.com)

 7,205 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

PORTRAIT : L’un des créateurs de Yoda a choisi St Maarten pour habiter (1/1)

0

Nick Maley est l’un des principaux créateurs de Yoda, personnage fictif qui incarne la sagesse dans la saga Star Wars et apparaît pour la première fois dans L’Empire contre-attaque en 1980. Maquilleur à effets spéciaux, cet artiste anglais né en 1949 a travaillé sur une cinquantaine d’autres films dont Superman et Highlander.

De cette carrière Nick Maley aujourd’hui retraité conserve principalement deux choses. D’abord une philosophie : il faut poursuivre ses rêves. Puis de nombreuses archives, d’où son envie de créer un musée.

Marin, il a longtemps navigué dans la Caraïbe avec sa femme Gloria, ancienne actrice. Le couple fait escale quelque temps à Antigua avant de décider de poser ses valises à Sint Maarten en 2007.  Pour élire leur nouveau lieu de villégiature, ils ont d’abord un critère linguistique : « nous ne voulions pas avoir de difficulté à communiquer ». Mais surtout un critère économique : « il nous fallait trouver une île sur laquelle l’économie était suffisamment forte pour faire fonctionner un musée de 200m2 y compris en dehors de la saison touristique ».

Ils hésitent entre Porto Rico, Saint-Thomas et Sint Maarten et finissent par choisir la dernière. « J’aime la culture à Saint-Martin. J’aime le mélange de populations que l’on a ici. Il y a des Européens, des Américains, des Caribéens, des Indiens, des Chinois… Nous sommes tous mélangés. Et parce que c’est si divers, les gens doivent essayer de s’adapter les uns aux autres » considère Nick Maley qui reconnaît avoir également été séduit par la gastronomie en partie française. « Le côté hollandais était suffisamment commercial pour créer notre musée. Et le côté français suffisamment paisible pour se sentir dans la Caraïbe. Donc c’était un compromis » ajoute-t-il en précisant vivre sur la plage côté français. (à suivre dans notre édition de lundi. Source : soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT