Portrait: Alfred Chittick's magic tricks take on an extraordinary dimension in an unusual setting!

0

The nickname "magician" was given to Alfred Chittick, following the passage of Hurricane Irma and for good reason ...

Dislodged from Soualiga college which was devastated on September 6, 2017, this maintenance officer employed by the community found himself, overnight, at the college of Quartier d'Orléans to exercise his functions. In charge of general maintenance, he decides like many of his colleagues evolving in schools and EPLE whose prowess has remained in the shadows, to roll up their sleeves to transform a disastrous landscape into a place a little bit welcoming but above all secure.

Quartier d'Orléans is his stronghold and he cannot stand to see college students hanging out in the streets, so he takes initiatives that will prove to be saving for the education of young people: "When I saw the scholl after Irma, it was like a bomb had hit it but I right away thought on the kids because exams were around the corner! ". He who no longer has a home, begins by helping people in his community by joining the volunteers of the “SOS Attitude” association before setting himself the challenge of making several rooms at the Quartier d'Orléans college operational. So sometimes a carpenter, sometimes a plumber, sometimes an electrician, he never stops repairing, measuring, screwing, unscrewing, nailing, adjusting, dismantling, reassembling, sorting, throwing, recovering materials from destruction to be used for reconstruction. He has become a magician! The metamorphoses take place under the astonished eyes of each other and discreetly, he performs several tricks. Windows and doors are created with a blow of a magic hammer, a music room comes out of his cap, an infirmary appears at his fingertips, a room dedicated to ULIS becomes visible again and miracles are linked with a B1, B2, B3, B4, B5… in the end, around 15 classrooms will take possession of a damaged space where the will of man had not yet adhered to the word "End ".

The performance of the magician Alfred Chittick, better known as “Junie”, will end with these words: “Irma taught us a lesson: we are all equal! ". But oops! Here he is already doing an about-face. With a broad smile, he grabs his bottle of water which he had almost forgotten "This is gold!" ". Junie marked and still marks the post Irma by the imprint of a humble, generous, warm and devoted man who did not know how to hide his emotions by discovering the surprise that "SOS Attitude" had given him. In place of the debris of what had once been his home, the man who forgot himself, “My mind was more relax when helping others! », Found a tent set up without his knowledge.

(Thanks to Evelyne Fleming, project manager with IA-DAASEN)

 6,739 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Portrait : Les tours de magie d’Alfred Chittick revêtent une dimension extraordinaire dans un cadre peu ordinaire !

0

Le surnom de « magicien » a été donné à Alfred Chittick, suite au passage de l’ouragan Irma et pour cause…

Délogé du collège Soualiga qui a été ravagé le 6 septembre 2017, cet agent d’entretien employé par la collectivité s’est retrouvé, du jour au lendemain, au collège de Quartier d’Orléans pour y exercer ses fonctions. En charge de la maintenance générale, il décide comme bien d’autres de ses collègues évoluant dans les écoles et EPLE dont les prouesses sont restées dans l’ombre, de se retrousser les manches pour transformer un paysage désastreux en un lieu un tant soit peu accueillant mais surtout sécurisé.

Quartier d’Orléans est son fief et il ne supporte pas de voir les collégiens traîner dans les rues alors il prend des initiatives qui vont s’avérer salvatrices pour l’éducation des jeunes : « When I saw the scholl after Irma, it was like a bomb had hit it  but I right away thought on the kids because exams were around the corner! ». Lui qui n’a plus de maison, commence par aider les gens de sa communauté en rejoignant les volontaires de l’association « SOS Attitude » avant de se fixer le challenge de rendre opérationnelles plusieurs salles du collège Quartier d’Orléans. Alors tantôt menuisier, tantôt plombier, tantôt électricien, il n’a de cesse de réparer, mesurant, vissant, dévissant, clouant, ajustant, démontant, remontant, triant, jetant, récupérant des matériaux de la destruction pour servir à la reconstruction. Le voilà devenu magicien ! Les métamorphoses s’opèrent sous les yeux ébahis des uns et des autres et discrètement, il réalise plusieurs tours. Des fenêtres et des portes sont créées d’un coup de marteau magique, une salle de musique sort de sa casquette, une infirmerie apparaît au bout de ses doigts, une salle dédiée à l’ULIS redevient visible et les miracles s’enchaînent avec une B1, une B2, une B3, une B4, une B5… au final, ce sont environ 15 salles de classe qui vont reprendre possession d’un espace meurtri où la volonté de l’homme n’avait pas encore adhéré au mot « Fin ».

La prestation du magicien Alfred  Chittick, plus connu sous l’appellation de «Junie», va prendre fin en ces mots : « Irma taught us a lesson : we are all equal! ». Mais oups ! Le voilà qui fait déjà volte-face. Avec un large sourire, il attrape sa bouteille d’eau qu’il avait failli oubliée « This is gold! ». Junie a marqué et marque encore le post Irma par l’empreinte d’un homme humble, généreux, chaleureux et dévoué qui n’a pas su cacher ses émotions en découvrant la surprise que lui avait faite «SOS Attitude ». À la place des débris de ce qu’avait été sa maison, l’homme qui s’était oublié, « My mind was more relax when helping others ! », a retrouvé une tente montée à son insu.

(Merci à Evelyne Fleming, chargée de mission auprès de l’IA-DAASEN)

 1,785 vues totales,  5 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT