Pollution: Wild dumps listed in a report

0

In its recent report on Irma's waste in Saint-Martin, the NGO Robin des Bois dissects the tons of waste dispersed by Irma, and the official, associative and civil initiatives to collect it. It also reports the presence of illegal landfills in a chapter devoted to “Waste outside sectors, health and environmental problems”. 

If the association emphasizes that there are many illegal dumps on the metropolitan territory, it considers that in the Caribbean, the illegal deposit of waste is aggravated by "the precariousness of the means of collection, the scarcity of facilities dedicated to transit, recycling, storage and other regulatory disposal and hurricane fury ”.

The association's investigators, Charlotte Nithart and Manon Lefebvre, also noted that the post Irma calls "reiterated in the local press concerning the crime of abandonment of waste provided for by article L. 541-3 of the Code de l 'the environment and the fines incurred have had no dramatic effect on multicultural and multilingual populations'.

During their field work, carried out for 15 days between the end of May and the beginning of June 2018, they were able to observe that "the projectiles propelled by Irma were sometimes followed by anthropogenic contributions of waste according to the adage" the waste attracts waste ". " That is to say, to waste resulting purely from Irma's action, certain individuals or companies have added their own waste.

They have thus listed and measured, with supporting photos, several of these wild dumps, scattered on the island, whose surface varies from 400m2 to 2300m2.

(More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 6,851 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Pollution : Des décharges sauvages listées dans un rapport

0

Dans son récent rapport sur les déchets d’Irma à Saint-Martin, l’ONG Robin des Bois, dissèque les tonnes de déchets dispersés par Irma, et les initiatives officielles, associatives et civiles pour les ramasser. Elle rapporte aussi la présence de décharges sauvages dans un chapitre consacré aux “Déchets hors filières, problèmes sanitaires et environnementaux”. 

Si l’association souligne que ces décharges sauvages sont nombreuses sur le territoire métropolitain, elle considère que dans les Caraïbes, la dépose sauvage des déchets est aggravée par « la précarité des moyens de collecte, la rareté des installations dédiées au transit, au recyclage, au stockage et aux autres modes d’élimination réglementaire et par la furie des ouragans ».

Les enquêtrices de l’association, Charlotte Nithart et Manon Lefebvre, ont par ailleurs constaté que les appels post Irma « réitérés dans la presse locale concernant le délit d’abandon de déchets prévu par l’article L. 541-3 du code de l’environnement et les amendes encourues n’ont pas eu sur les populations multiculturelles et multilingues d’effets spectaculaires ».

Lors de leur travail sur le terrain, effectué pendant 15 jours entre fin mai et début juin 2018, elles ont pu observer que « les projectiles propulsés par Irma ont été parfois suivis d’apports anthropiques de déchets selon l’adage « le déchet attire le déchet ». ». C’est-à-dire qu’aux déchets résultant purement de l’action d’Irma, certains particuliers ou entreprises ont ajouté leurs propres déchets.

Elles ont ainsi répertorié et mesuré, photos à l’appui, plusieurs de ces décharges sauvages, éparpillées sur l’île, dont la surface varie de 400m2 à 2300m2.

(Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT