HERITAGE / Place to (re) discover: Pic Paradis

0

A sector with an evocative name, the view is heavenly. A landmark for hikers, Pic Paradis is also accessible by road via Rambaud.

Pic Paradis is a mountain whose summit reaches an altitude of 424 meters, making it the highest point in Saint-Martin. The qualifier of "peak" is unique to it since the other mountain peaks of the island are called "mountain" or "hill".

Access is possible on foot by three different paths:

The central ridges for a distance of 6,5km from the Pic Paradis aerial with an arrival at Mont des Accords. Particularly, a long stone wall symbolizes the border between the French part and the Dutch part of the island.

The north-eastern ridges with a distance this time of 4,5km still at the start of the antenna but this time with an arrival at Orient Bay. A visit to the abandoned hamlet of Petit-Fond where ruins and tombs mingle will cross your path.

And finally, the last 3,5km trail, Puits de l'Eden, with a starting point at the west antenna and an arrival directly at Pic Paradis. It is here the northern slope that we explore, with a view of the ruins of the Paradis sugar factory at an altitude of 270m and the two large cast iron kettles of the well.

If the tropical flora has not already completely seduced you (and the fauna is not to be outdone, monkeys, iguanas and butterflies await you), you will fall under the spell of the panoramic view of Saint-Martin and the neighboring islands. Between flip flops and hiking shoes, you will need at least a good pair of sneakers to reach the top. Without forgetting the water gourd. _VX

loading

About author

No comments

PATRIMOINE / Lieu à (re)découvrir : Pic Paradis

0

Secteur au nom évocateur, la vue y est paradisiaque. Repère des randonneurs, le Pic Paradis est également accessible par la route via Rambaud.

Le Pic Paradis est une montagne dont le sommet atteint les 424 mètres d’altitude, ce qui en fait le point culminant de Saint-Martin. Le qualificatif de « pic » lui est unique vu que les autres sommets montagneux de l’île sont appelés « mont » ou « colline ».

L’accès y est possible à pieds par trois différents sentiers :

Les crêtes centrales pour une distance de 6,5km au départ de l’antenne du Pic Paradis avec une arrivée au mont des Accords. Particularité, un long mur de pierres symbolise la frontière entre la partie française et la partie néerlandaise de l’île.

Les crêtes nord-est avec une distance cette fois de 4,5km toujours au départ de l’antenne mais cette fois avec une arrivée à la Baie Orientale. Une visite du hameau abandonné de Petit-Fond où se mêlent ruines et tombes traversera votre chemin.

Et enfin, le dernier sentier de 3,5km, Puits de l’Eden, avec un point de départ à l’antenne ouest et une arrivée directement à Pic Paradis. C’est ici le versant nord qu’on explore, avec vue sur les ruines de la sucrerie Paradis à 270m d’altitude et les deux grandes bouilloires en fonte du puits.

Si la flore tropicale ne vous aura pas déjà totalement séduit (et la faune n’est pas en reste, singes, iguanes et papillons vous y attendent), vous tomberez sous le charme de la vue panoramique sur Saint-Martin et les îles avoisinantes. Entre tongs et chaussures de randonnée, il vous faudra au moins une bonne paire de baskets pour atteindre le sommet. Sans oublier la gourde d’eau. _Vx

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT