Operation "Resilience": The "Dixmude" leaves the West Indies, resources remain and the support missions to civil authorities and aid to the population continue

0

To deal with the covid-19 pandemic, the President of the Republic announced on March 16 that the armies were going to help in the management of this crisis through the deployment of teams and medical resources to participate to the management of the most seriously affected patients. In response to this unprecedented crisis, the armies launched Operation Resilience, which is their contribution to the inter-ministerial engagement against the spread of covid-19.

The Resilience operation also provides specific support to overseas populations, in order to respond to the specific problems of distance and insularity. The armed forces in the Antilles have been mobilized to assist the population and the civil authorities since the start of the crisis. Reinforcements have been sent from the metropolis to increase their support and support capacity, such as the dispatch of the amphibious helicopter carrier (PHA) Dixmude of the French Navy, decided by the President of the Republic on March 25. Regularly deployed to provide assistance to civilian populations in the event of a crisis, as was the case when Hurricane Irma struck Saint Martin and Saint Barthélemy in 2017, PHAs are already known in the Antilles.

At first, the Dixmude delivered, from the metropolitan area, equipment and supplies which, defined in coordination with the interministerial crisis unit, enabled local authorities to increase their crisis management capacity, including more than a million masks, hundreds of liters of hydro-alcoholic gel as well as two helicopters: an EC-145 from civil security and a Squirrel of the National Gendarmerie. These resources have been distributed and delivered by the armed forces to the Antilles, the islands of Saint-Martin, Guadeloupe and Martinique, in accordance with the directives of the prefectures and regional health agencies.

Le Dixmude was then employed under the command of the armed forces in the Antilles to provide logistical or transport missions. The two Army PUMA helicopters on board the Diksmuide have contributed to eleven emergency medical evacuations, including patients with covid-19.

The PHA also participated in the transport of the land forces positioned on the three main islands in order to provide assistance to the population and the administrations. It has systematically used its amphibious capabilities by recognizing the beach sites, in preparation for the cyclone season

The medical evacuation station still in place at SXM

Today the epidemic is stabilized, the deconfinement of Monday May 11 is done in serene conditions. The deployment of the PHA Dixmude will end this week, after almost 1 month spent in the West Indies. He set sail from Fort de France yesterday morning to reach the mainland.

However, in order to guard against a risk of rebound of the post-deconfinement epidemic, the two PUMA helicopters of the Air Force and their crews remain positioned in Martinique. They will be able to continue their missions of support to the civil authorities in the transport of patients - including those affected by covid-19 - as in military missions.

The detachment of 2e Disinfection specialist Dragon regiment also remains in the West Indies. Indispensable for the continuation of patient evacuations, they have the capacity to disinfect helicopters or any other strategic installation. They are also continuing to train disinfection units in order to acquire good reflexes in this area.

In Saint-Martin, the medical evacuation post, installed as a preventive measure at the height of the health crisis, remains in place for a few more weeks, again in order to protect against a potential resumption of the epidemic.

The land forces positioned on the 3 islands also remain in place and continue their actions to support civil authorities and help the population: delivery and distribution of protective masks, water distribution actions and logistical support for CHUs.

FAA thanks PHA sailors Dixmude who have given all their know-how to the benefit of the West Indians and who will leave after weeks of confinement on board in strict sanitary conditions, essential for the preservation of the crew.

 

 4,828 total views, 17 views today

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Opération « Résilience » : Le « Dixmude » quitte les Antilles, des moyens restent et les missions de soutien aux autorités civiles et d’aide à la population continuent

0

Pour faire face à la pandémie du covid-19, le président de la République a annoncé, le 16 mars dernier, que les armées allaient apporter leur concours dans la gestion de cette crise à travers le déploiement d’équipes et de moyens sanitaires pour participer à la gestion des patients les plus gravement atteints. En réponse à cette crise sans précédent, les armées ont lancé l’opération Résilience, qui constitue leur contribution à l’engagement interministériel contre la propagation du covid-19.

L’opération Résilience apporte également un appui spécifique aux populations ultramarines, afin de répondre aux problématiques particulières de distance et d’insularité. Les forces armées aux Antilles sont mobilisées pour venir en aide à la population et aux autorités civiles depuis le début de la crise. Des renforts ont été envoyés depuis la métropole pour accroitre leur capacité d’appui et de soutien, tel que l’envoi du porte-hélicoptères amphibie (PHA) Dixmude de la Marine nationale, décidé par le Président de la République le 25 mars. Régulièrement déployé pour porter assistance aux populations civiles en cas de crise, comme ce fut le cas lorsque l’ouragan Irma a frappé Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy en 2017, les PHA sont déjà connus aux Antilles.

Dans un premier temps, le Dixmude a acheminé, depuis la métropole, du matériel et des fournitures qui, définis en coordination avec la cellule interministérielle de crise, ont permis aux autorités locales d’accroître leur capacité de gestion de crise, dont plus d’un million de masques, des centaines de litres de gel hydro-alcoolique ainsi que deux hélicoptères : un EC-145 de la sécurité civile et un Ecureuil de la Gendarmerie nationale. Ces moyens ont été répartis et livrés par les forces armées aux Antilles, aux îles de Saint-Martin, Guadeloupe et Martinique, conformément aux directives des préfectures et des agences régionales de santé.

Le Dixmude a ensuite été employé sous le commandement des forces armées aux Antilles pour assurer des missions logistiques ou de transport. Les deux hélicoptères PUMA de l’armée de terre embarqués à bord du Dixmude, ont contribué à onze évacuations médicales d’urgence, dont des patients atteints du covid-19.

Le PHA a également participé au transport des forces terrestres positionnées sur les trois îles principales afin d’apporter leur aide à la population et aux administrations. Il a systématiquement mis à profit ses capacités amphibie par la reconnaissance des sites de plageages, en préparation de la saison cyclonique

Le poste médical d’évacuation toujours en place à SXM

Aujourd’hui l’épidémie est stabilisée, le déconfinement du lundi 11 mai se fait dans des conditions sereines. Le déploiement du PHA Dixmude prendra fin cette semaine, après presque 1 mois passé aux Antilles. Il a appareillé de Fort de France hier au petit matin pour rejoindre la métropole.

Cependant, afin de se prémunir d’un risque de rebond de l’épidémie post-déconfinement, les deux hélicoptères PUMA de l’armée de l’air et leurs équipages restent positionnés en Martinique. Ils pourront poursuivre leurs missions de soutien aux autorités civiles dans le transport de patients – dont ceux atteints du covid-19 – comme dans des missions militaires.

Le détachement du 2e régiment de Dragons spécialistes de la désinfection reste également aux Antilles. Indispensables pour la poursuite des évacuations de malades, ils ont la capacité de désinfecter les hélicoptères ou toute autre installation stratégique. Ils poursuivent également la formation des unités à la désinfection afin d’acquérir les bons réflexes dans ce domaine.

A Saint-Martin, le poste médical d’évacuation, installé à titre préventif au plus fort de la crise sanitaire, reste en place encore quelques semaines, toujours afin de se prémunir d’une potentielle reprise de l’épidémie.

Les forces terrestres positionnées sur les 3 îles restent également en place et poursuivent leurs actions de soutien des autorités civiles et d’aide auprès de la population : livraison et distribution de masques de protection, actions de distribution d’eau et soutien logistique des CHU.

Les FAA remercient les marins du PHA Dixmude qui ont donné tout leur savoir-faire au profit des antillais et qui vont repartir après des semaines de confinement à bord dans des conditions sanitaires strictes, indispensables à la préservation de l’équipage.

 

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT