PINK OCTOBER: The Johnny Cakes in the fight against breast cancer

0

The Nature Valley Colombier association, active in the region since 2004 and an expert in the preparation of Saint-Martin dishes, fights for the pink cause with a Journey / Johnny Cake workshop dedicated to the fight against breast cancer.

The culinary workshop will take place this Saturday, October 15 at 10 a.m. in Colombiers, by registration only (see info) with a limited number of places. Pink October obliges, participants will have the opportunity to learn about breast cancer and the need for women to be screened regularly from the age of 40. Dr. Jeffry will be on hand to answer questions from those interested about the disease. The Johnny Cakes prepared for the occasion will be sold on site and gourmets will be able to taste them with a fresh fruit juice. 

For the little story…

Originally, Shawnee Indians used to cook a corn cake on a hot stone that they took with them on their daily expeditions. The European settlers realized that this pancake could be kept for several days and then added wheat flour to it, to make a roll. Called "Jonikin" by the Indians, this dish then became the Journey cake, in reference to the long expeditions during which this biscuit found all its usefulness with simple and easy-to-find ingredients and quick cooking. The Journey Cake didn't dry out or sink to the bottom of travelers' bags. The settlers spread it throughout the West Indies and after various linguistic and cultural distortions, it also became known as Johnny cake. Fried or baked, the Johnny Cake has become a must in the culinary world of Saint-Martin whose association Nature Valley Colombier transmits the traditional confection thanks to its workshops. _VX

Info and registration: 06 90 58 26 50

Facebook: Association Nature Valley Colombier

 6,034 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

OCTOBRE ROSE : Les Johnny Cake au service de la lutte contre le cancer du sein

0

L’association Nature Valley Colombier, active sur le territoire depuis 2004 et experte dans la confection de mets saint-martinois, lutte pour la cause rose avec un atelier Journey / Johnny Cake dédié à la lutte contre le cancer du sein.

L’atelier culinaire aura lieu ce samedi 15 octobre à 10h à Colombiers, uniquement sur inscription (voir infos) avec un nombre de place limité. Octobre rose oblige, les participants auront l’occasion de s’informer sur le cancer du sein et la nécessité pour les femmes de se faire dépister régulièrement à partir de 40 ans. Le Docteur Jeffry sera de la partie afin de répondre aux questions des intéressées sur la maladie. Les Johnny Cake préparés pour l’occasion seront vendus sur site et les gourmands pourront les déguster avec un jus de fruits frais. 

Pour la petite histoire…

À l’origine, les Indiens Chaouanons/Shawnees avaient l’habitude de faire cuire une galette de maïs sur une pierre chaude qu’ils emportaient avec eux lors de leurs expéditions journalières. Les colons européens s’aperçurent que cette galette pouvait se garder plusieurs jours et y ajoutèrent alors de la farine de blé, pour en faire un petit pain. Appelé « Jonikin » par les Indiens, ce mets devint alors le Journey cake, en référence aux longues expéditions pendant lesquelles ce biscuit trouvait toute son utilité avec des ingrédients simples et facile à trouver ainsi qu’une cuisson rapide. Le Journey Cake ne séchait pas et ne s’abîmait pas au fond des sacs des voyageurs. Les colons le diffusèrent dans l’ensemble des Antilles et après diverses déformations linguistiques et culturelles, il devint aussi connu sous le nom de Johnny cake. Fris ou cuit au four, le Johnny Cake est devenu un incontournable dans le monde culinaire saint-martinois dont l’association Nature Valley Colombier transmet la confection traditionnel grâce à ses ateliers. _Vx

Infos et inscriptions : 06 90 58 26 50

Facebook : Association Nature Valley Colombier

 1,604 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments