NAUTISM: The northern islands have their own marine VHF station

0

During the passage of hurricane Irma, the marine VHF station which allows boaters to communicate with each other but also with the Cross, the operational center responsible for coordinating rescue and assistance operations, fell.

A few weeks later, a new – temporary – station was installed at Pic Paradis to restore communications while waiting to set up the so-called nominal station and to recover the communication capacities prior to Irma. This station is located 420 meters above sea level and has a range of 57 nautical miles (105 km).  However, communication capacities have been strengthened by also providing Saint-Barth with a marine VHF station. Today the coverage area extends to Saba and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

To finance the stations, the Cross applied for European funds at the end of 2020 under the Interreg Caribbean program and obtained them at the end of 2021. They made it possible to cover 95% of the total cost of the project, which amounts to 376 euros.

 572 total views, 87 views today

source:

Soualiga Post: http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

NAUTISME : Les îles du Nord disposent de leur propre station VHF marine

0

Lors du passage de l’ouragan Irma, la station VHF marine qui permet aux plaisanciers de communiquer entre eux mais aussi avec le Cross, le centre opérationnel chargé de coordonner les opérations de sauvetage des vies humaines en mer et d’assistance, est tombée.

Quelques semaines plus tard, une nouvelle station –provisoire- a été installée à Pic Paradis pour rétablir les communications dans l’attente de mettre en place la station dite nominale et de recouvrer les capacités de communication antérieures à Irma. Cette station se situe à 420 mètres d’altitude et dispose d’une portée de 57 milles marins (105 km).  Les capacités de communication ont toutefois été renforcées en dotant également Saint-Barth d’une station VHF marine. Aujourd’hui la zone de couverture s’étend jusqu’à Saba et Saint-Christophe et Nevis.

Pour financer les stations, le Cross a sollicité fin 2020 des fonds européens dans le cadre du programme Interreg Caraïbes et les a obtenus fin 2021. Ils ont permis de couvrir 95 % du coût total du projet, lequel s’élève à 376 763 euros.

 803 vues totales,  7 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Soualiga Post : http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT