Sinking of an illegal boat: sentences of one to four years in prison required

0

In the night of June 30 to 1er July 2013, a boat of Saintoise type with a capacity maximum of nine passengers, sinks between Saint-Martin and Anguilla with on board at least twenty-three people.

Three lifeless bodies are recovered, six people are missing - to date they have still not been found - and fourteen are rescued. Most of the passengers are stowaways from Brazil and the Dominican Republic. They joined Saint-Martin to take a boat which was to take them to St Thomas in the virgin islands from where they were to reach the United States. They had arrived at Juliana airport a few days earlier and had been lodged in hotels pending the scheduled departure on June 30 from Baie Rouge beach.

The investigation revealed the existence of two channels - one Brazilian, the other Dominican - led by two different people. Six people are being prosecuted in this case all or in part for having endangered the lives of others, manslaughter, non-assistance to a person in danger and assistance in entering the territory of foreigners. A seventh person was ultimately not tried because he had not received a summons as required by the procedure.

Only three appeared at the hearing which took place Thursday, December 20 in Saint-Martin.

The deputy prosecutor requested sentences ranging from one to four years in prison or suspended. Two arrest warrants were requested. The judgment was reserved for January 24. (more details on www.soualigapost.com)

 6,083 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Naufrage d’un bateau de clandestins : des peines de un à quatre ans de prison requises

0
blank

Dans la nuit du 30 juin au 1er juillet 2013, une embarcation de type saintoise d’une capacité maximale de neuf passagers, coule entre Saint-Martin et Anguilla avec à son bord au moins vingt-trois personnes.

Trois corps sans vie sont repêchés, six personnes sont portées disparues – à ce jour elles n’ont toujours pas été retrouvées- et quatorze sont secourues. La plupart des passagers sont clandestins et originaires du Brésil et de République dominicaine. Ils ont rejoint Saint-Martin pour prendre un bateau qui devait les conduire à St Thomas aux îles vierges d’où ils devaient gagner les Etats-Unis. Ils étaient arrivés à l’aéroport de Juliana quelques jours plus tôt et avaient été logés dans des hôtels dans l’attente du départ programmé le 30 juin de la plage de Baie Rouge.

L’enquête a révélé l’existence de deux filières – l’une brésilienne, l’autre dominicaine – menées par deux personnes différentes. Six personnes sont poursuivies dans cette affaire toutes ou en partie pour avoir mis la vie d’autrui en danger, d’homicide involontaire, non assistance à personne en danger et aide à l’entrée sur le territoire de personnes étrangères. Une septième personne n’a finalement pas été jugées car elle n’avait pas reçu de citation comme le veut la procédure.

Seules trois se sont présentées à l’audience qui a eu lieu jeudi 20 décembre à Saint-Martin.

Le vice-procureur a requis des peines allant de un à quatre ans de prison ferme ou assortis du sursis. Deux mandats d’arrêt ont été demandés. Le jugement a été mis en délibéré au 24 janvier. (plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT