NATURE: An ornithological mission underway in Saint-Martin!

0

Since November 2, 2022, the League for the Protection of Birds (LPO) has called on an ornithologist expert to contribute to the realization of certain actions of the Life BIODIV'OM project. For more than 3 months, Vincent Lemoine will carry out an inventory of the island's avifauna, identify priority areas for bird conservation in Saint-Martin and participate in feeding and promoting the new naturalist sciences portal. : Fauna-Antilles.

 

Important Bird Areas

ZICOs are the French equivalent of IBAs (Important Bird Areas). These are sites that are identified as important for certain species of birds because they are used as breeding, wintering, feeding or migration areas. The designation of these sites as IBAs does not directly represent a legal protection status but remains an essential argument for obtaining one thereafter.

To be able to be identified as an IBA site, several criteria are necessary such as the need for the site to host a significant number of individuals of a threatened species or one of global interest or the fact of hosting species with a wide distribution. which benefits from this site for one of the phases of their life cycle.

In order to be able to carry out the identification of certain sites in ZICO, it is thus necessary to carry out an updated ornithological inventory as well as an estimate of the populations of the species of birds observed on the territory. It is within this framework that the LPO France, in collaboration with the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin  called on an ornithological expert to carry out a 3-month mission on the island to meet these needs.

 

Important issues

This mission has several objectives:

1. Take stock of knowledge about the avifauna of Saint-Martin

For this, our expert will produce an updated list of the birds of Saint-Martin and the Banc d'Anguilla. In particular, he will use existing data (eBird, iNaturalist, etc.), consult local ornithologists and environmental structures on the island, carry out bibliographical research and carry out his own observations in the field. It will also attempt to assess the abundance of the species present.

2. Centralize data and feed the Faune-Antilles portal

The Faune-Antilles portal is a new participatory naturalist science portal that brings together wildlife data transmitted by all audiences, from ordinary citizens to informed naturalists and managers of protected areas, on different islands of the French West Indies such as Martinique. , Guadeloupe, Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin.

One of the objectives of the mission is therefore to feed this database thanks to observations made in the field but also to encourage local actors to enter their data to enrich it.

3. Assess the conservation status of Saint-Martin bird species

The expert will aim to identify the various challenges and threats to the birdlife of Saint-Martin and to produce sheets for each priority species according to the situation of each at the local, regional and global level.

4. Identify priority sites for avifauna in Saint-Martin

The final objective of this mission will be the identification of certain areas important for the conservation of birds. This will involve the identification of certain key species, the identification of priority sites and the assessment of the issues and potential threats for each of the sites identified.

 6,639 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

NATURE : Une mission ornithologique en cours à Saint-Martin !

0

Depuis le 2 novembre 2022, la Ligue pour la Protections des Oiseaux (LPO) a fait appel à un expert ornithologue afin de contribuer à la réalisation de certaines actions du projet Life BIODIV’OM. Pendant plus de 3 mois, Vincent Lemoine effectuera un état des lieux de l’avifaune de l’île, identifiera les zones prioritaires pour la conservation des oiseaux à Saint-Martin et participera à l’alimentation et la promotion du nouveau portail de sciences naturalistes : Faune-Antilles.

 

Les Zones Importantes pour la Conservation des Oiseaux

Les ZICO sont l’équivalent français des IBA (Important Bird Areas). Ce sont des sites qui sont identifiés comme importants pour certaines espèces d’oiseaux car utilisés comme aire de reproduction, d’hivernage, d’alimentation ou de migration. La désignation de ces sites en ZICO ne représente pas directement un statut juridique de protection mais reste un argument essentiel pour en obtenir un par la suite.

Pour pouvoir être identifié comme un site ZICO, plusieurs critères sont nécessaires tels que la nécessité pour le site d’accueillir un nombre significatif d’individus d’une espèce menacée ou portant un intérêt mondial ou encore le fait d’accueillir des espèces à répartition restreinte qui bénéficie de ce site pour une des phases de leur cycle de vie.

Pour pouvoir mener à bien l’identification de certains sites en ZICO, il est ainsi nécessaire de réaliser un inventaire ornithologique actualisé ainsi qu’une estimation des populations des espèces d’oiseaux observées sur le territoire. C’est dans ce cadre que la LPO France, en collaboration avec la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin  a fait appel à un expert ornithologique afin de réaliser une mission de 3 mois sur l’île permettant de répondre à ces besoins.

 

Des enjeux importants

Cette mission présente divers objectifs :

1. Faire l’état des lieux des connaissances sur l’avifaune de Saint-Martin

Pour cela, notre expert réalisera une liste actualisée des oiseaux de Saint-Martin et du Banc d’Anguilla. Il utilisera notamment les données existantes (eBird, iNaturalist…), consultera les ornithologues locaux et les structures environnementales de l’île, effectuera des recherches bibliographiques et réalisera ses propres observations sur le terrain. Il tentera également d’évaluer l’abondance des espèces présentes.

2. Centraliser les données et alimenter le portail Faune-Antilles

Le portail Faune-Antilles est un nouveau portail de sciences naturalistes participatives qui regroupe les données de faune transmises par tous les publics, du simple citoyen au naturaliste averti en passant par les gestionnaires d’espaces protégés, sur différentes îles des Antilles françaises telles que Martinique, Guadeloupe, Saint-Barthélemy et Saint-Martin.

Un des objectifs de la mission est donc d’alimenter cette base grâce aux observations réalisées sur le terrain mais également d’inciter les acteurs locaux à saisir leurs données pour l’enrichir.

3. Évaluer le statut de conservation des espèces d’oiseaux de Saint-Martin

L’expert aura pour objectif d’identifier les différents enjeux et menaces qui pèsent sur l’avifaune de Saint-Martin et de réaliser des fiches par espèce prioritaire en fonction de la situation de chacune au niveau local, régional et mondial.

4. Identifier les sites prioritaires pour l’avifaune à Saint-Martin

L’objectif final de cette mission sera l’identification de certaines zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux. Cela passera par l’identification de certaines espèces déterminantes, l’identification des sites prioritaires et l’évaluation des enjeux et menaces potentielles pour chacun des sites identifiés.

 2,739 vues totales,  12 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :