Weather / A 2021 hurricane season slightly more active than normal according to the latest forecasts

0

Like every year, the various meteorological centers update their forecasts of cyclone activity for the current season. Last week, the information was thus updated.

“At the start of August, the various elements of analysis available to us tend to converge towards the possibility of a 2021 hurricane season that is slightly more active than normal”, summarizes Météo France.

Regarding the Southern Oscillation El Niño (Enso), a neutral phase is favored with the probability of a new La Niña event around the September-October-November quarter. "In general, neutral ENSO conditions are associated with a poor ability to predict cyclonic activity, while a La Niña phase is often accompanied by a more active season than normal", underlines Météo France.

As for the temperatures of the Atlantic Ocean, they are slightly higher than normal over the heart of the hurricane season, which may promote a more active season than normal.

Finally, “by averaging the forecasts available from the various centers for the hurricane season, we would expect a total number of named hurricanes between 14 and 20, including 6 to 9 hurricanes, 2 to 5 of them possibly being major. This is slightly above the normal news, calculated over the period 1991-2020, and close to the averages of the last 10 and 20 years, "reports Météo France, which retains" as the most likely scenario a 2021 season that is slightly more active than the normal ”.

(photo credit: NHC. soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

WINAIR expands its Caribbean network

After the recent increase in the number of flights between Saint-Martin, Saba and Saint-Eustache, the local company Winair is adding other direct flights to and between the other...

Météo / Une saison cyclonique 2021 légèrement plus active que la normale selon les dernières prévisions

0

Comme tous les ans, les différents centres météorologiques actualisent leurs prévisions d’activité cyclonique pour la saison en cours. La semaine dernière, les informations ont ainsi été mises à jour.

«En ce début du mois d’août, les différents éléments d’analyse dont nous disposons tendent à converger vers la possibilité d’une saison cyclonique 2021 légèrement plus active que la normale», résume Météo France.

Concernant l’oscillation australe El Niño (Enso), une phase neutre est privilégiée avec la probabilité d’un nouvel événement La Niña autour du trimestre septembre-octobre-novembre. «En général des conditions ENSO neutres sont associées à une faible capacité à prévoir l’activité cyclonique, tandis qu’une phase La Niña s’accompagne souvent d’une saison plus active que la normale», souligne Météo France.

Concernant les températures de l’océan Atlantique, elles sont légèrement supérieures aux normales sur le cœur de la saison cyclonique, pouvant promouvoir une saison plus active que la normale.

Enfin, «en moyennant les prévisions disponibles des différents centres pour la saison cyclonique, on s’attendrait à un nombre total de cyclones nommés entre 14 et 20, dont 6 à 9 ouragans, 2 à 5 d’entre eux pouvant être majeurs. C’est légèrement au-dessus des nouvelles normales, calculées sur la période 1991-2020, et proche des moyennes des 10 et 20 dernières années », rapporte Météo France qui retient «comme scénario le plus probable une saison 2021 légèrement plus active que la normale ».

(crédit photo : NHC. soualigapost.com)

 3,860 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

PHOTOS DU JOUR

Les travaux de plomberie enfin effectués à Hervé Williams, les enfants de retour sur les bancs de l’école aujourd’hui ! >> Avant… >> Et après.  2,350 vues ...