Unworthy Housing / Housing: a Saint-Barthélemy owner sued! 

0

An unscrupulous owner rented rooms at 400 euros, dirty and under-equipped, with a shared bathroom and kitchen that were not maintained and had no running water. Life is Beautiful…

“The Gendarmerie de Saint-Barthélemy has observed unworthy accommodation conditions in accommodation with several rooms rented by the month (note: 400 euros) to the Flemings. Due to the housing crisis in Saint-Barthélemy, several people have accepted unworthy and insanitary housing conditions (including one with an 11-year-old child), ”specifies the prosecutor detached from Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin in a press release .  

They are housed in cramped rooms without air conditioning, dirty and under-equipped, with a very dirty and unmaintained shared bathroom and kitchen and without running water from Irma.

The owner did not carry out any cleaning or improvement work on the accommodation, which is still rented, despite a warning from the ARS. He is henceforth prosecuted before the criminal court in Saint-Martin and summoned on September 26th under article 225-14 of the penal code: the fact of submitting a person, whose vulnerability or state of dependence are apparent or known to the author, in working or living conditions incompatible with human dignity is punished by five years' imprisonment and a fine of 150 euros. 

This lawsuit is part of the post-Irma accommodation quality monitoring systems, in line with the law of 23 November 2018 on the development of housing, development and digital (ELAN) and meetings of local committees to fight against substandard accommodation (in partnership with  the communities of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy, the delegated prefecture of St Martin and St Barthélemy, the Regional Health Agency and the DEAL).

loading

About author

No comments

Logement / Habitat indigne : un propriétaire de Saint-Barthélemy poursuivi en justice ! 

0

Un propriétaire sans scrupule louait des chambres à 400 euros, sales et sous équipées, avec une salle de bain et une cuisine communes non entretenues et sans eau courante. La vie est belle…

« La Gendarmerie de Saint-Barthélemy a pu constater des conditions d’hébergement indigne dans un logement avec plusieurs chambres louées au mois (ndlr : 400 euros) aux Flamands. Du fait de la crise du logement à Saint-Barthélemy, plusieurs personnes ont accepté des conditions indignes et insalubres de logement (dont une avec un enfant de 11 ans) », précise le parquet détaché de Saint-Barthélemy et Saint-Martin dans un communiqué.  

Elles sont logées dans des chambres exiguës sans climatisation, sales et sous équipées, avec une salle de bain et une cuisine communes très sales et non entretenues et sans eau courante depuis Irma.

Le propriétaire n’a effectué aucuns travaux de nettoyage ou d’amélioration du logement, toujours loué, malgré un avertissement de l’ARS. Il est dorénavant poursuivi devant le tribunal correctionnel à Saint-Martin et convoqué le 26 septembre prochain en vertu de l’article 225-14 du code pénal : le fait de soumettre une personne, dont la vulnérabilité ou l’état de dépendance sont apparents ou connus de l’auteur, à des conditions de travail ou d’hébergement incompatibles avec la dignité humaine est puni de cinq ans d’emprisonnement et de 150 000 euros d’amende. 

Cette poursuite s’inscrit dans le cadre des dispositifs post-Irma de surveillance de la qualité de l’hébergement, dans le droit fil de la loi du 23 novembre 2018 portant évolution du logement, de l’aménagement et du numérique (ELAN) et des réunions des comités locaux de lutte contre l’hébergement indigne (en partenariat avec  les collectivités de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy, la préfecture déléguée de St Martin et St Barthélemy, l’Agence Régionale de Santé et la DEAL).

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

blank

ZTI : Saint-Martin à l’étude

La deuxième réunion plénière de l’observatoire des Zones touristiques internationales (ZTI) – créées par la loi pour la croissance, l’activité, et l’égalité des chances économiques ...
English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT