The island will soon be equipped with a weather radar

0

In partnership with the government of Sint Maarten, the Community will install a weather radar on the island. Doppler type, it will detect and track the rains of dangerous weather phenomena, hurricanes. He will have to detect them  within a maximum radius of 300 km and process radial wind speeds between -48 and +48 m / s, unambiguously, up to a range of 120 km.

The data collected will also be used to produce weather forecasts for the general public, forecasts and alerts for aviation and maritime navigation, flood alerts and forecasts for activities sensitive to climatic conditions.

The system will operate continuously under the control of a computer.

The cost of manufacturing, installing, training in the use and maintenance of the radar for two years is estimated at 3 million euros. The COM will seek Interreg Caribbean funds, the government of Sint Maarten will also participate in the funding. (soualigapost.com)

 7,016 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

L’île sera bientôt équipée d’un radar météo

0
blank

En partenariat avec le gouvernement de Sint Maarten, la Collectivité va installer un radar météorologique sur l’île. De type Doppler, il permettra de détecter et de suivre les pluies des phénomènes météorologiques dangereux, les ouragans. Il devra les détecter  dans un rayon de 300 km maximum et traiter des vitesses de vent radial comprises entre -48 et +48 m/s, sans ambiguïté, jusqu’à une portée de 120 km.

Les données recueillies seront en outre utilisées pour produire des prévisions météorologiques destinées au grand public, des prévisions et des alertes destinées à l’aviation et à la navigation maritime, des alertes inondation et des prévisions destinées aux activités sensibles aux conditions climatiques.

Le système fonctionnera en continu sous le contrôle d’un ordinateur.

Le coût de la fabrication, de l’installation, de la formation à l’utilisation et de la maintenance du radar durant deux ans, est estimée à 3 millions d’euros. La COM va solliciter des fonds Interreg Caraïbes, le gouvernement de Sint Maarten participera également au financement. (soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT