Armed robbery does not go unpunished!

0

The Public Prosecutor of Basse-Terre and the Commander of the Gendarmerie invited the press on Tuesday, September 20 to provide a current update on a subject that particularly affects Saint-Martin, namely armed robbery (VAMA) .

Xavier Sicot, the Public Prosecutor of the Basse-Terre public prosecutor's office, which includes the Northern Islands in its jurisdiction, was accompanied by Lieutenant-Colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind, commander of the gendarmerie company of Saint-Martin Saint-Barthélemy, the Captain Mickaël Lecointre, commander of the Research Section detachment in Saint-Martin, and Christelle Bellet, deputy prosecutor at the Saint-Martin public prosecutor's office. Aware of the lack of follow-up of files relating to numerous armed robberies (BAMA) having recently taken place in the territory and dealt with by the Basse-Terre public prosecutor's office, Mr. Prosecutor Xavier Sicot wanted to inform the press and the population the progress of these files. The VAMA/BAMA phenomenon has certainly experienced an exponential increase since last May, but the investigation services and the judicial authorities have worked hard to reduce it. 33 robberies with weapons were listed on September 14, which created and still creates a strong feeling of insecurity in Saint-Martin. The gendarmerie has put in place a lot of means to ensure that these facts do not go unpunished and the results are satisfactory: of these 33 robberies, 12 individuals were arrested, 10 of whom were placed in detention. A minor was worried, a young person who was removed from the island of Saint-Martin and placed under judicial control with the obligation to respect a placement in a closed educational center. In summary, 14 facts have been resolved out of the 33 VAMAs recorded over the period from May to the end of August 2022. The Prosecutor firmly declares: "Let the people who are capable of committing these facts understand that at some point , we will have to settle accounts with justice and the judicial authority because obviously, there is a good chance that they will be discovered and put in the only place that seems necessary to us, detention. If the population and the media can sometimes have the impression that VAMA's business is not progressing since most of the files go to Basse-Terre and that the information is not always relayed, Xavier Sicot assures the opposite. and is committed to improving communication between all stakeholders. 

Zero armed robbery since the end of August 2022

September 2022 has already seen a great lull in VAMA resulting from incarcerations, hopes Xavier Sicot. Lieutenant-Colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind returned to the work of the gendarmerie during the interview with the press. During the flight of the VAMAs during the summer, the gendarmerie rearticulated its system on the ground. As of August 12, 2022, new guidelines and operational instructions were given to cover the terrain more in depth, with 30 gendarmes deployed each evening in official or civilian clothes. This led, on August 22, to an arrest in flagrante delicto of an armed robber. The follow-up of the victims remains a priority for the commander of the gendarmerie, the action continues after the facts with advice to improve the protection and the security of the traders (by installing video surveillance cameras). The research section had about ten full-time investigators for the work of cross-checking and investigating the VAMAs, an issue taken very seriously. 

Mr. Prosecutor urges the population not to intervene if they are the victim or witness of an armed robbery, the firearms used are not fake and their lives are therefore at stake (continuation and end in our edition of tomorrow)._Vx

loading

About author

No comments

Les vols à main armée ne restent pas impunis !

0

Le Procureur de la République de Basse-Terre et le commandant de la gendarmerie ont convié la presse ce mardi 20 septembre pour faire un point d‘actualité sur un sujet qui touche particulièrement Saint-Martin, à savoir les vols à main armée (VAMA).

Xavier Sicot, le Procureur de la République du parquet de Basse-Terre qui intègre dans sa juridiction les Îles du Nord, était accompagné du lieutenant-colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind, commandant de la compagnie de gendarmerie de Saint-Martin Saint-Barthélemy, du capitaine Mickaël Lecointre, commandant de détachement Section de Recherches à Saint-Martin, et de Christelle Bellet, vice-procureure au parquet de Saint-Martin. Conscient du manque de suivi des dossiers relatifs aux nombreux braquages à main armée (BAMA) ayant eu lieu récemment sur le territoire et traités par le parquet de Basse-Terre, Monsieur le Procureur Xavier Sicot avait pour volonté d’informer la presse et la population de l’avancée desdits dossiers. Le phénomène de VAMA/BAMA a certes connu une augmentation exponentielle depuis mai dernier mais les services d’enquête et l’autorité judiciaire ont travaillé d’arrache-pied pour sa diminution. 33 braquages avec arme ont été répertoriés au 14 septembre dernier, ce qui a créé et crée encore un fort sentiment d’insécurité à Saint-Martin. La gendarmerie a mis en place énormément de moyens pour que ces faits ne restent pas impunis et les résultats sont satisfaisants : sur ces 33 braquages, 12 individus ont été interpellés dont 10 ont été placés en détention. Un mineur fut inquiété, jeune qui a été éloigné de l’île de Saint-Martin et placé sous contrôle judiciaire avec obligation de respecter un placement en centre éducatif fermé. En résumé, 14 faits ont été résolus sur les 33 VAMA enregistrés sur la période de mai à fin août 2022. Monsieur le Procureur déclare fermement : « Que les gens qui sont capables de commettre ces faits-là, comprennent qu’à un moment donné, il va falloir régler des comptes avec la justice et l’autorité judiciaire parce que manifestement, il y a de grandes chances qu’ils soient découverts et mis à la seule place qui nous apparait nécessaire, la détention. » Si la population et les organes de presse peuvent parfois avoir l’impression que les affaires de VAMA n’avancent pas vu que la plupart des dossiers vont à Basse-Terre et que les informations ne sont pas toujours relayées, Xavier Sicot assure le contraire et s’engage à améliorer la communication entre tous les acteurs. 

Zéro vol à main armée depuis fin août 2022

Septembre 2022 a d’ores et déjà connu une grande accalmie de VAMA qui résulte des incarcérations, l’espère Xavier Sicot. Le lieutenant-colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind est revenu sur le travail de la gendarmerie lors de l’entretien avec la presse. Lors de l’envolée des VAMA durant l’été, la gendarmerie a réarticulé son dispositif sur le terrain. Dès le 12 août 2022, de nouvelles orientations et consignes opérationnelles étaient données pour couvrir plus en profondeur le terrain, avec 30 gendarmes déployés chaque soir en tenue officielle ou civile. Cela a amené, le 22 août, à une interpellation en flagrant délit d’un auteur de vol à main armée. Le suivi des victimes reste une priorité pour le commandant de la gendarmerie, l’action continue après les faits avec des conseils pour améliorer la protection et la sécurisation des commerçants (par la pose de caméras de vidéo-surveillance). La section de recherches comptait quant à elle une dizaine d’enquêteurs à plein temps pour le travail de recoupement et d’enquête sur les VAMA, problématique prise très au sérieux. 

Monsieur le Procureur intime la population à ne pas intervenir si elle est victime ou témoin d’un vol à main armée, les armes à feu utilisées ne sont pas factices et leur vie est donc en jeu (suite et fin dans notre édition de demain)._Vx

 1,771 vues totales,  12 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT