Armed robbery does not go unpunished

0

As indicated in our edition of this Thursday, September 22, the Public Prosecutor of Basse-Terre and the commander of the gendarmerie invited the press to the barracks of Savane this Tuesday, September 20 to make a point of news on a subject which worries the entire Saint-Martin population, namely armed robbery (VAMA). Here is the second part which traces the rest of this interview.

KPSM & Gendarmerie 

The subject of cooperation between the Dutch side (KPSM) and the French side of the island (gendarmerie) was also discussed and relations between the two services are satisfactory. Lieutenant-Colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind is also meeting his Dutch counterparts this Friday to discuss their common issues, including BAMA (armed robbery). For the judicial aspect, Christelle Bellet, deputy prosecutor, specifies that the Saint-Martin public prosecutor's office has intensified monthly exchanges with the Sint Maarten public prosecutor's office precisely to anticipate communications and facilitate them.

 
Video-protection on the territory

During the local security and crime prevention council which was also held this Tuesday, September 20 in the morning at the Hôtel de la Collectivité with Louis Mussington, president of the COM, Vincent Berton, delegate prefect of the Northern Islands, Thierry Verres, head of the Territorial Police, the head of mission Evelyne Fleming and the actors present during the press point described here, the subject of the absence of video surveillance on the island was put on the table, a real brake on the actions of the gendarmerie which is deprived of the 160 cameras formerly active on the territory. CCTV is an effective prevention and detection tool for investigators. 

Even if the traders are invited to install their own video-protection system, being accompanied by the security referent of the gendarmerie and the CCISM in the process, the services of the Collectivity are working on the re-commissioning of a video mesh - Sufficient protection to assist investigators. The case is therefore initiated.

 
Zero tolerance for possession of firearms

To conclude the press point, the Public Prosecutor and the gendarmerie commander called on the population to be attentive to the circulation of firearms, weapons which are necessarily seen by the entourage of potential perpetrators of serious acts who live under their roof. It happens that people come across these weapons, which can result in a tragedy like last year when a young girl committed suicide with a firearm found in her home.

It is the responsibility of the family members to contact the gendarmerie forces to declare the discovery of a weapon. It is better to prevent than to do nothing and suffer the incarceration of your child or a loved one because the latter will have shot someone during a robbery that went wrong, according to the commander of the gendarmerie. An awareness campaign on the possession of weapons will soon be implemented. In terms of figures concerning VAMAs, Lieutenant-Colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind is clear: in Saint-Martin, the number of robberies is ten times higher than the national average and in 95% of cases, they are committed with a weapon. on fire, unlike the metropolis. For the prosecutor, there is no justification for a person to have a weapon of category A or B in the street. “It's not the society we live in and it's not the society we want to have. concludes Xavier Sicot. _Vx

 2,385 total views, 20 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

Les vols à main armée ne restent pas impunis

0

Comme indiqué dans notre édition de ce jeudi 22 septembre, le Procureur de la République de Basse-Terre et le commandant de la gendarmerie ont invité la presse à la caserne de la Savane ce mardi 20 septembre pour faire un point d‘actualité sur un sujet qui préoccupe toute la population saint-martinoise, à savoir les vols à main armée (VAMA). Voici la seconde partie qui retrace la suite de cet entretien.

KPSM & gendarmerie 

Le sujet de la coopération entre le côté hollandais (KPSM) et le côté français de l’île (gendarmerie) a également été abordé et les relations entre les deux services sont satisfaisantes. Le lieutenant-colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind rencontre d’ailleurs ce vendredi ses homologues hollandais pour aborder leurs problématiques communes dont les BAMA (braquage à main armée). Pour le volet judiciaire, Christelle Bellet, vice-procureure, précise que le parquet de Saint-Martin a intensifié les échanges mensuels avec le parquet de Sint Maarten pour justement anticiper les communications et les faciliter.

 
Vidéo-protection sur le territoire

Lors du conseil local de sécurité et de prévention de la délinquance qui s’est tenu également ce mardi 20 septembre en matinée à l’hôtel de la Collectivité avec Louis Mussington, président de la COM, Vincent Berton, préfet délégué des Îles du Nord, Thierry Verres, chef de la Police Territoriale, la cheffe de mission Evelyne Fleming et les acteurs présents lors du point presse décrit ici, le sujet de l’absence de vidéo-protection sur l’île a été mis sur la table, véritable frein sur les actions de la gendarmerie qui est privée des 160 caméras anciennement actives sur le territoire. La vidéo-protection est un outil de prévention et de détection efficace pour les enquêteurs. 

Même si les commerçants sont invités à poser leur propre système de vidéo-protection, en étant accompagné par le référent sûreté de la gendarmerie et la CCISM dans le processus, les services de la Collectivité travaille à la remise en service d’un maillage de vidéo-protection suffisant pour aider les enquêteurs. Le dossier est donc amorcé.

 
Tolérance zéro pour la détention d’armes à feu

Pour conclure le point presse, Monsieur le Procureur de la République et le commandant de gendarmerie ont appelé la population à être attentive sur la circulation des armes à feu, armes qui sont forcément vues par l’entourage des potentiels auteurs de fait grave qui vivent sous leur toit. Il arrive que des gens tombent sur ces armes, ce qui peut résulter sur un drame comme l’année dernière lorsqu’une jeune fille s’est suicidée avec une arme à feu trouvée dans son domicile.

C’est la responsabilité des membres de la famille de contacter les forces de gendarmerie pour déclarer la découverte d’une arme. Il vaut mieux prévenir que de ne rien faire et subir l’incarcération de son enfant ou d’un proche parce que celui-ci aura tiré sur quelqu’un lors d’un braquage qui a mal tourné, dixit le commandant de gendarmerie. Une campagne de sensibilisation sur la détention d’armes sera bientôt mise en place. En termes de chiffres concernant les VAMA, le lieutenant-colonel Maxime Wintzer-Wehekind est sans appel : à Saint-Martin, le nombre de braquages est dix fois supérieur que la moyenne nationale et dans 95% des cas, ils sont commis avec une arme à feu, contrairement à la métropole. Pour le procureur, il n’y a aucun justificatif pour une personne d’avoir une arme de catégorie A ou B dans la rue. « Ça n’est pas la société dans laquelle nous vivons et ça n’est pas la société que nous voulons avoir. » conclut ainsi Xavier Sicot. _Vx

 1,459 vues totales,  5 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT