Sargassum still arrives on the island

0

In its pelagic sargassum stranding monitoring and forecasting bulletin for the northern islands communicated this Monday, September 26, 2022, Météo France still maintains the risk of seaweed stranding for St-Martin and St-Barthélemy as medium.

Concerning the forecasts for this last week of September, the detections of Sargassum are still quite numerous if we refer to the satellite images of the 24th of this month. The algae extend nearly 300 km to the east. As of September 25, rafts were circulating east of St. Kitts and are reportedly approaching the southern coastline of St. Martin and St. Barthélemy. The eastern side of the two islands should be spared thanks to surface currents which will deflect the sargassum patches. For the trend for the next two weeks, given the quantity of sargassum present in the eastern Antilles, groundings will still be regular for the Northern Islands, but to a lesser extent…well.

Cancellation of Sargassum Day #2

The second edition of Sargassum Day, promoted by the Collectif Anti-Sargasse, was unfortunately canceled at the last minute by the organizers. Scheduled for this Saturday, September 24 from 16 p.m. to 19 p.m., the operation had to be rescheduled to a later date due to an excessive volume of sargassum still present near the Cul-de-Sac pier and after consultation with the Community. As of Friday, September 23, the Janky company was on site to continue collecting algae with suitable equipment. The collective undertakes to quickly redo an update with the relevant services of the Collectivity and will soon communicate a new date for Sargassum Day. _Vx

 2,410 total views, 8 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

Les sargasses arrivent encore sur l’île

0

Dans son bulletin de surveillance et de prévision d’échouement des sargasses pélagiques pour les îles de Nord communiqué ce lundi 26 septembre 2022, Météo France maintient toujours à moyen le risque d’échouement des algues pour St-Martin et St-Barthélemy.

Concernant les prévisions pour cette dernière semaine de septembre, les détections de sargasses sont encore assez nombreuses si l’on se réfère aux images satellite du 24 de ce mois. Les algues s’étendent jusqu’à près de 300 km vers l’est. En date du 25 septembre, des radeaux circulaient à l’est de Saint-Kitts et se rapprocheraient du littoral sud de Saint-Martin et de Saint-Barthélemy. Le côté est des deux îles devrait être épargné grâce aux courants de surface qui feront dévier les plaques de sargasses. Pour la tendance des deux prochaines semaines, vu la quantité de sargasses présentes à l’est des Antilles, les échouements seront encore réguliers pour les Îles du Nord mais dans une moindre mesure… enfin.

Annulation du Sargasses Day #2

La seconde édition du Sargasses Day impulsée par le Collectif Anti-Sargasses a malheureusement été annulée en dernière minute par les organisateurs. Prévue ce samedi 24 septembre de 16h à 19h, l’opération a dû être reprogrammée à une date ultérieure en raison d’un trop grand volume de sargasses encore présentes aux abords de l’embarcadère de Cul-de-Sac et après concertation avec la Collectivité. En date du vendredi 23 septembre, l’entreprise Janky était sur les lieux pour continuer le ramassage des algues avec des engins adaptés. Le collectif s’engage à refaire rapidement un point avec les services concernés de la Collectivité et communiquera prochainement une nouvelle date pour le Sargasses Day. _Vx

 2,426 vues totales,  24 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


About author

No comments