Flight requests to St Maarten take off despite travel restrictions

0

Juliana Airport says in its latest press release that travel demands to St Maarten are increasing despite travel restrictions due to the epidemic, demonstrating "that the preventive measures taken against Covid-19 since January 2020 have brought their fruits ”. Access to the terminal will only be granted to passengers and airport staff

“Staff at Princess Juliana International Airport (PJIA) continue to be responsive to the emergency to combat the coronavirus.”

For a period of three months, Juliana was partially operational, following travel restrictions put in place by the government of St. Maarten to maintain measures to protect the public and its visitors.

All commercial travel has been halted, but the airport has maintained non-commercial flights: freight, emergencies and repatriations.

According to Juliana's management, “a Covid-19 prevention plan has been established and has been submitted for execution by the COVID-19 Task Force, together with the SXM Airport Board of Directors. The efforts made are in line with the resumption of commercial flights and the expected influx of travelers. ”

Juliana Airport intends to leverage short, medium and long-haul flights from its key markets to drive growth in the region.

The C-19 plan is governed by the “precautionary principle” in order to minimize the risk of infection

PJIAE's prevention plan C-19 will also serve to protect the human resources of the airport community, and to train them in new safety measures at their workplace.

PJIAE has installed over forty (40) plexiglass protective screens in areas such as check-in counters, boarding gates, passport control and information desk to reduce risk and offer a safe environment for frontline staff and passengers.

The transport of passengers by bus on the tarmac will also be subject to preventive measures, with more frequent cleaning and disinfection.

“We are going to implement different levels of prevention such as non-contact temperature control, the wearing of compulsory masks and the installation of additional hand disinfectants, among the set of newly implemented measures.

Strict security policies also require that all personnel on the front line wear two (2) types of protective masks: respiratory and surgical. FFP2 respiratory masks will offer an advanced level of protection due to direct contact with travelers.

In addition, surgical masks should effectively reduce the transmission of respiratory droplets.

Task Force Chairman Connally Connor added: “Access to the interior of the terminal will only be granted to passengers and airport staff. We will also step up disinfection methods in high-point-of-contact areas to reduce soiled or contaminated surfaces. The Task Force also ensures that disinfectants will be present in the ventilation system. The thermal control for staff and passengers will also come into effect immediately on the date of reopening ”. (Editor's note: Wednesday 1er July).

Although the latest forecast from the International Air Transport Association (IATA) indicates that the airline industry will lose billions of dollars due to the pandemic, Juliana's management has long established that there is a constant demand for travel to our various destinations, which is confirmed by the number of time slot reservations requested by North American carriers.

According to the latest COVID-19 statistical information from the St. Maarten Department of Public Health, there are no active cases on the island. On Friday June 19, 2020, our Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications (TEATT), Ludmilla de Weever, announced that the airport will be fully operational from July 1, 2020.

Juliana clarified that if you would like to report any dangers and risks associated with COVID-19, you should call the SXM Airport Helpline at 1-721-546-7504 or 1-721-5467508 or send your comments by e-mail to safety@sxmairport.com. General information should be directed to the new COVID-19 hotline at 9777 or visit the website www.sxmairport.com and click on the COVID-19 tab for any updates.

Editor's notes:

In the information and prevention leaflet below provided by Juliana, the first point concerning the RT-PCR test (nasal swab) carried out at most 72 hours before arrival in St. Maarten was initially "Recommended" only, which surprised many readers of Faxinfo and the Dutch Side press.

This mention has fortunately been modified on this notice, and now this test before the trip and which must be negative of course, will be " necessary " (why not say mandatory?). We can bet that at the airport of departure, airlines will also impose this prior test on their passengers and that people who cannot prove a negative test will remain in their country.

On the other hand, this test 72 hours before arrival, is not yet mandatory from Paris for flights to the Antilles… which is very surprising.

loading

About author

No comments

Les demandes de vols vers St-Maarten décollent malgré les restrictions de voyage

0
blank

L’aéroport de Juliana indique dans son dernier communiqué que les demandes de voyages vers St-Maarten augmentent malgré les restrictions de voyage dues à l’épidémie, démontrant ainsi «que les mesures de prévention prises contre le Covid-19 depuis janvier 2020 ont porté leurs fruits». L’accès à l’aérogare ne sera accordé qu’aux passagers et au personnel de l’aéroport

“Le personnel de l’aéroport international Princess Juliana (PJIA), continue à faire preuve de réactivité face à l’urgence pour combattre le coronavirus.”

Pendant une période de trois mois, Juliana a été partiellement opérationnel, suite aux restrictions de voyages mises en place par le gouvernement de St. Maarten pour maintenir les mesures de protection de la population et de ses visiteurs.

Tous les voyages commerciaux ont été interrompus, mais l’aéroport a maintenu les vols non-commerciaux : fret, urgences et rapatriements.

Selon la direction de Juliana, “un plan de prévention du Covid-19 a été établi et a été soumis à exécution par la Task Force COVID-19, avec le conseil d’administration de l’aéroport SXM. Les efforts déployés sont en harmonie avec la reprise des vols commerciaux et l’afflux de voyageurs attendu.”

L’aéroport de Juliana a l’intention de s’appuyer sur les vols courts, moyen et long-courriers de ses marchés clés, pour stimuler la croissance dans la région.

Le plan C-19 est régi par le “principe de précaution” afin de minimiser le risque d’infection

Le plan de prévention C-19 de PJIAE servira également à protéger les ressources humaines de la communauté aéroportuaire, et à les former aux nouvelles mesures de sécurité sur leur lieu de travail.

PJIAE a installé plus de quarante (40) écrans de protection en plexiglas dans des zones telles que les comptoirs d’enregistrement, les portes d’embarquement, le contrôle des passeports et le comptoir d’information afin de réduire les risques et d’offrir un environnement sûr au personnel en première ligne et aux passagers.

Le transport des passagers en bus sur le tarmac fera également l’objet de mesures de prévention, avec nettoyages et désinfections plus fréquents.

“Nous allons mettre en place différents niveaux de prévention comme le contrôle de la température sans contact, le port des masques obligatoires et l’installation de désinfectants supplémentaires pour les mains, parmi l’ensemble des mesures nouvellement mises en œuvre.blank

Des politiques de sécurité strictes imposent en outre que tout le personnel situé en première ligne soit muni de deux (2) types de masques de protection : respiratoire et chirurgical. Les masques respiratoires FFP2 offriront un niveau de protection avancé en raison du contact direct avec les voyageurs.

En outre, les masques chirurgicaux devraient réduire efficacement la transmission de gouttelettes respiratoires.

Le président du groupe de travail, Connally Connor, a ajouté : “L’accès à l’intérieur de l’aérogare ne sera accordé qu’aux passagers et au personnel de l’aéroport. Nous allons également intensifier les méthodes de désinfection dans les zones à haut point de contact afin de réduire les surfaces souillées ou contaminées. La Task Force assure également que des produits désinfectants seront présents dans le système de ventilation. Le contrôle thermique pour le personnel et les passagers entrera également en vigueur immédiatement à la date de réouverture”. (Ndlr : Mercredi 1er Juillet).

Bien que les dernières prévisions de l’Association internationale du transport aérien (IATA) indiquent que le secteur aérien perdra des milliards de dollars en raison de la pandémie, la direction de Juliana a établi depuis longtemps qu’il existe une demande constante de voyages vers nos diverses destinations, ce qui est confirmé par le nombre de réservations de créneaux horaires demandé par les transporteurs nord-américains.

Selon les dernières informations statistiques COVID-19 du département de la santé publique de St. Maarten, il n’y a pas de cas actifs sur l’île. Vendredi 19 juin 2020, notre ministre du Tourisme, des Affaires économiques, des Transports et des Télécommunications (TEATT), Ludmilla de Weever, a annoncé que l’aéroport sera pleinement opérationnel à partir du 1er juillet 2020.

Juliana précise que si vous souhaitez signaler des dangers et des risques liés au COVID-19, vous devez appeler la ligne d’assistance téléphonique de l’aéroport SXM au 1-721-546-7504 ou au 1-721-5467508 ou envoyer vos commentaires par e-mail à safety@sxmairport.com. Les informations générales doivent être adressées à la nouvelle ligne d’assistance COVID-19 au 9777 ou visiter le site web www.sxmairport.com et cliquer sur l’onglet COVID-19 pour toute mise à jour.

Notes de la rédaction:

Dans la notice d’information et de prévention ci-dessous fournie par Juliana, le premier point qui concerne le test RT-PCR (prélèvement nasal) effectué au maximum 72 heures avant l’arrivée à St. Maarten était initialement « Recommandé » seulement, ce qui a étonné grand nombre de lecteurs de Faxinfo et de la presse « Dutch Side ».

Cette mention a fort heureusement été modifiée sur cette notice, et maintenant ce test préalable au voyage et qui devra être négatif bien sûr, sera « nécessaire » (pourquoi ne pas dire obligatoire?). Gageons qu’à l’aéroport de départ, les compagnies aériennes imposeront aussi ce test préalable à leurs passagers et que les personnes qui ne pourront justifier d’un test négatif resterons dans leur pays.

En revanche ce test 72h avant l’arrivée, n’est pas encore obligatoire au départ de Paris pour les vols vers les Antilles… ce qui est très étonnant.

blank

blank

Article sponsorisé par:

Article présenté par
blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT