Did you know ? Why do we wear "the Cornflower of France" on November 11?

0

Every May 8 and November 11, the "Bleuet de France" is displayed as a symbol of solidarity with veterans, widows and widowers of war, wards of the nation, victims of war and terrorism, families of soldiers or police officers killed on duty.

Two nurses mobilize and create the “Bleuet de France”

France owes the Bleuet de France initiative to two women. At the end of the Great War, Charlotte Malleterre, nurse and daughter of the commandant of the Hôtel national des Invalides, and Suzanne Lenhardt, nurse major, decided to create a workshop for the residents of the Invalides. They make fabric Cornflower flowers there that they sell to the public. A project that allows them to work, regain a taste for life and earn some money. The “Bleuet de France” was born.

values ​​of respect

According to legend, the cornflower was one of the few flowers that managed to grow in trenches and battlefields ravaged by shells. She also reminds  the blue of the uniform of the first soldiers and the first color of the French flag.

Today, the cornflower embodies the values ​​of respect, peace and tolerance dear to the entire fighting community. The cornflower is worn in France and in the overseas territories around the ceremonies of May 8, November 11 and July 14. _AF

 5,064 total views, 11 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Le saviez-vous ? Pourquoi porte-t-on « le Bleuet de France » le 11 novembre ?

0

Chaque 8 mai et 11 novembre, le « Bleuet de France » est arboré comme symbole de solidarité envers les anciens combattants, les veufs et veuves de guerre, les pupilles de la nation, les victimes de guerre et de terrorisme, familles de militaires ou de policiers tués en service.

Deux infirmières se mobilisent et créent le « Bleuet de France »

La France doit l’initiative du Bleuet de France à deux femmes. À la fin de la Grande Guerre, Charlotte Malleterre, infirmière et fille du commandant de l’Hôtel national des Invalides et Suzanne Lenhardt, infirmière major, décident de créer un atelier pour les pensionnaires des Invalides. Ils y confectionnent des fleurs de Bleuet en tissu qu’ils vendent au public. Un projet qui leur permet de travailler, reprendre goût à la vie et gagner un peu d’argent. Le « Bleuet de France » est né.

Des valeurs de respect

Selon la légende, le bleuet était une des seules fleurs qui parvenaient à pousser dans les tranchées et les champs de batailles ravagés par les obus. Elle rappelle aussi  le bleu de l’uniforme des premiers poilus et la première couleur du drapeau français.

Aujourd’hui, le bleuet incarne les valeurs de respect, de paix et de tolérance chères à l’ensemble de la communauté combattante. Le bleuet est porté en France et dans les territoires Outre-mer autour des cérémonies du 8 mai, du 11 novembre et du 14 juillet. _AF

 3,554 vues totales,  10 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments