The Airbus A380 will no longer fly under the colors of Air France

0

The Air France-KLM group announces the end of the operation of the entire Air France Airbus A380 fleet. The crisis linked to the pandemic precipitates the fate of the Super Jumbo within the French company.

The A380 is over at Air France. The French company has just announced that the nine aircraft remaining in its fleet will not take off again. It thus accelerates their withdrawal by two years.

The aircraft were already on the way out since they were all to have been retired at the end of 2022. But the health crisis linked to covid-19, the immobilization of the Air France fleet and the probable slowness of the recovery sealed their fate. Being the most capable aircraft in the fleet and already difficult to make profitable in times of growth, the A380 was far from being on the priority list for return to flight when international restrictions on travel were to be lifted, especially for a few months of operation. Several are now stored at Tarmac Aerosave.

In the midst of its fleet simplification operation, Air France has already indicated that the Super Jumbos will be replaced by its new Airbus A350s - of which it has received four copies to date out of the 38 ordered.

Air France welcomed its first A380 in October 2009. But the Super Jumbo has always struggled to fit into the fleet and the company, which initially committed to twelve aircraft, never took delivery of the last two. his order, retaining a fleet of ten A380s. Equipped with an aging product, the redevelopment of their cabin had a time been considered before being abandoned in view of accelerating their withdrawal. The first of them has already left the fleet at the start of the year.

www.journal-aviation.com

 5,935 total views, 10 views today

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

L’Airbus A380 ne revolera plus sous les couleurs d’Air France

0
blank

Le groupe Air France-KLM annonce la fin de l’exploitation de la totalité de la flotte d’Airbus A380 d’Air France. La crise liée à la pandémie précipite le sort du Super Jumbo au sein de la compagnie française.

C’en est fini de l’A380 chez Air France. La compagnie française vient d’annoncer que les neuf appareils qui restaient dans sa flotte ne redécolleraient pas. Elle accélère ainsi de deux ans leur retrait.

Les appareils étaient déjà sur le départ puisqu’ils devaient tous avoir été mis à la retraite fin 2022. Mais la crise sanitaire liée au covid-19, l’immobilisation de la flotte d’Air France et la lenteur probable de la reprise ont scellé leur destin. Etant l’appareil le plus capacitaire de la flotte et déjà difficile à rentabiliser en période de croissance, l’A380 était loin d’être sur la liste prioritaire pour le retour en vol lorsque les restrictions internationales qui pèsent sur les voyages allaient être levées, surtout pour quelques mois d’exploitation. Plusieurs sont désormais stockés chez Tarmac Aerosave.

En pleine opération de simplification de sa flotte, Air France a déjà indiqué que les Super Jumbos seraient remplacés par ses nouveaux Airbus A350 – dont elle a reçu quatre exemplaires à ce jour sur les 38 commandés.

Air France avait accueilli son premier A380 en octobre 2009. Mais le Super Jumbo a toujours eu du mal à s’intégrer dans la flotte et la compagnie, qui s’était initialement engagée sur douze appareils, n’a jamais réceptionné les deux derniers de sa commande, conservant une flotte de dix A380. Dotés d’un produit vieillissant, le réaménagement de leur cabine avait un temps été envisagé avant d’être abandonné en vue de l’accélération de leur retrait. Le premier d’entre eux a déjà quitté la flotte au début de l’année.

www.journal-aviation.com

blank

Article sponsorisé par:

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT