The Sint Maarten Nature Foundation is launching a research project on vervet monkeys!

0

After recently receiving a grant from the Resources for Community Resilience R4CR funding program, the Sint Maarten Nature Foundation announced last week that it was starting its invasive vervet monkey research project on the island.

The project will focus on developing a sustainable management plan to reduce and manage the island's vervet monkey population (Chlorocebus pygerythrus). Research will assess the size of the population, the best ways to capture it and manage the population, and methods that can be applied in the long term.

The six-month project will be coordinated by Alice Manley, a recent graduate in animal behavior from Anglia Ruskin University in England. "The choice was made to focus on developing a solid long-term management plan, as the short-term solution to culling will lead to similar monkey population levels in a few years," said a member of the association. This monkey species was introduced to the island some time ago and has no local natural predators. “This leads to high reproduction rates. It's time to act ! _AF

loading

About author

No comments

La Sint Maarten Nature Foundation lance un projet de recherche sur les singes vervets !

0
blank

Après avoir récemment reçu une subvention du programme de financement Resources for Community Resilience R4CR, la Sint Maarten Nature Foundation a annoncé la semaine dernière qu’elle commençait son projet de recherche sur les singes vervets invasifs sur l’île.

Le projet se concentrera sur l’élaboration d’un plan de gestion durable pour réduire et gérer la population de singes vervets de l’île (Chlorocebus pygerythrus). La recherche évaluera les effectifs de la population, les meilleurs moyens de les capturer et de gérer la population et les méthodes qui peuvent être appliquées à long terme.

Le projet, d’une durée de six mois, sera coordonné par Alice Manley, une récente diplômée en comportement animal de l’Université Anglia Ruskin en Angleterre. «Le choix a été fait de se concentrer sur l’élaboration d’un plan de gestion solide à long terme, car la solution à court terme de l’abattage conduira à des niveaux de population de singes similaires dans quelques années», a déclaré un membre de l’association. Cette espèce de singe a été introduite sur l’île il y a quelques temps et n’a pas de prédateurs naturels locaux. «Cela conduit à des taux de reproduction élevés. Il est temps d’agir ! _AF

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT