The severity of road accidents in Saint-Martin is one of the highest overseas

1

Last year 33 bodily accidents occurred in Saint-Martin according to the national interministerial road safety observatory. 37 people were injured and 10 were killed. This year, at the end of October, the gendarmes noted 28 accidents which required the opening of a judicial investigation. 36 people were injured and 5 were killed. Note that the five deaths occurred in five different accidents unlike last year where several road users were killed in the same accident.

In 2019, if only 1,16% of bodily accidents observed overseas occurred in Saint-Martin, almost 4% of people killed in an accident overseas were in Saint-Martin. As a reminder, 254 people died in a road accident overseas, or 7% of road fatalities for France; people injured overseas represent 5% of injuries in France.

The national interministerial road safety observatory notes that with "7 people killed per 100 injured, the severity of accidents overseas in 2019 is higher than that of the metropolis (5 killed per 100 injured)". In Saint-Martin it is even more so even if it decreased in 2020: last year it was 27 killed per 100 injured and this year it is 13,9 killed per 100 injured.

By way of comparison, it is 17 in French Polynesia, 12 in New Caledonia, 6 in Réunion, 5 in Guyana and Martinique and 8 in Guadeloupe.

"The main cause of accidents is the behavior of the driver," said Commander Stephan Basso, squadron leader in Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy. The three main behaviors noted being consumption of alcohol and / or narcotics (in most cases), dangerous overtaking and refusal of priority.

Generally speaking, two-wheelers are in most of the accidents involved. Their pilots are also the main victims. "Six of the seven people who have died in an accident since the beginning of the year in Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy were two-wheeled drivers," said the gendarmerie commander. “In the Overseas Territories, 18% of the users of two-wheelers killed did not wear a helmet, against only 2% in metropolitan France. This proportion is 57% in Saint-Martin ”, specifies the national interministerial road safety observatory. * Source: COM road master plan. (soualigapost.com)

 1,967 total views, 3 views today

Article sponsored by:


1 comment

  1. ALAIN REMI December 6, 2020 at 06:47 am Reply

    Hello: 70 year old biker, on my tenth bike a pretty rock'n roll 650cc, I always ride with my helmet attached & closed shoes. I do not believe that it is a sign of superior intelligence to squeeze between the cars which drive in my direction & those which arrive towards me at the last moment, to the point that, often, the cars which arrive towards the stars of the two wheels are forced to brake to let the microcephaly through. What's more, 9 out of 10 of these microcephaly ride without helmets & in flip flops. I know that the barracks are more comfortable than the roundabout of the old Tourist Office, but I consider that more police presence, a verbalization & systematic seizure of the two wheels in violation would save lives ... unless in "top place ”these lives are considered not worth saving?

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

Leave comments

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

La gravité des accidents de la route à Saint-Martin est l’une des plus élevées d’Outre-mer

1
blank

L’année dernière 33 accidents corporels se sont produits à Saint-Martin selon l’observatoire national interministériel de la sécurité routière. 37 personnes ont été blessées et 10 ont été tuées. Cette année, à fin octobre, les gendarmes ont constaté 28 accidents qui ont nécessité l’ouverture d’une enquête judiciaire. 36 personnes ont été blessées et 5 ont été tuées. A noter que les cinq décès se sont produits dans cinq accidents différents contrairement à l’an passé où plusieurs usagers de la route avaient trouvé la mort dans un même accident.

blank

En 2019, si seulement 1,16 % des accidents corporels constatés en outre-mer s’est produit à Saint-Martin, pratiquement 4 % des personnes tuées dans un accident en outre-mer l’ont été à Saint-Martin. Pour mémoire, 254 personnes ont trouvé la mort dans un accident de la route en outre-mer, soit 7 % de la mortalité routière pour la France ; les personnes blessées en outre-mer représentent 5 % des blessés en France.

L’observatoire national interministériel de la sécurité routière note qu’avec «7 personnes tuées pour 100 blessés, la gravité des accidents en outre-mer en 2019 est plus élevée que celle de la métropole (5 tués pour 100 blessés) ». A Saint-Martin elle l’est encore plus même si elle a diminué en 2020 : l’an passé elle était de 27 tués pour 100 blessés et cette année elle est de 13,9 tués pour 100 blessés.

A titre comparatif, elle est de 17 en Polynésie française, 12 en Nouvelle Calédonie, 6 à la Réunion, 5 en Guyane et en Martinique et de 8 en Guadeloupe.

«La principale cause des accidents est le comportement du conducteur», indique le commandant Stephan Basso, chef d’escadron à Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy. Les trois principaux comportements relevés étant une consommation d’alcool et/ou de produits stupéfiants (dans la majeure des cas), un dépassement dangereux et un refus de priorité.

D’une manière générale, les deux-roues sont dans la plupart des accidents impliqués. Leurs pilotes sont aussi les principales victimes. «Six des sept personnes décédées dans un accident depuis le début de l’année à Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy étaient des conducteurs de deux-roues», souligne le commandant de gendarmerie. «En Outre-mer, 18 % des usagers de deux-roues tués ne portaient pas de casque, contre seulement 2 % en métropole. Cette proportion est de 57 % à Saint-Martin», précise l’observatoire national interministériel de la sécurité routière. * Source : schéma directeur routier de la COM. (soualigapost.com)

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

1 commentaire

  1. blank
    ALAIN REMI 6 décembre, 2020 at 06:47 Répondre

    Bonjour: Vieux motard de 70 ans, sur ma dixième moto une 650cc assez rock’n roll, je roule toujours avec mon casque attaché & des chaussures fermées. Je ne crois pas que ce soit un signe d’intelligence supérieure que de se faufiler entre les voitures qui roulent dans mon sens & celles qui arrivent vers moi au dernier moment, au point que, souvent, les voitures qui arrivent vers les vedettes des deux roues sont obligées de freiner pour laisser passer les microcéphales. Qui plus est, 9 sur 10 de ces microcéphales roulent sans casques & en tongs. Je sais que les casernes sont plus confortables que le rond point de l’ancien Office du Tourisme, mais je considère que plus de présence policière, une verbalisation & saisie systématique des deux roues en infraction sauveraient des vies… à moins qu’en «haut lieu» on considère que ces vies ne valent pas la peine d’être sauvées ?

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

Laisser un commentaire

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT