JUSTICE: A father sees the residence permit for his son refused

0

At the end of 2018, a resident of Sint Maarten of Haitian origin, applied for a residence permit for the Dutch part for his minor son, aged around ten and also born in Haiti. The government refuses him on the grounds that he does not present an official document from the Haitian justice system attesting to his parental authority. The father then challenged the decision in court.

The Sint Maarten Court of First Instance examined the case during 2021. The father provided a document in which the mother domiciled in Haiti does not object to her son living in Sint Maarten with his father and authorizes him to to take the necessary steps in this regard. However, a single declaration of consent from the parent who remained in the country of origin is not sufficient. The government of Sint Maarten requires in addition to this authorization, a court decision according to which parental authority or guardianship has been granted to the parent applying for a residence permit in Sint Maarten. The Sint Maarten Court of First Instance therefore rendered its judgment in favor of the government. The father appealed.

The case was heard by the Joint Court Justice of Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonnaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba in early April this year. This confirmed the judgment rendered at first instance.

However, at the hearing, the father had brought new elements, namely that the mother was no longer taking care of their son, who had then been taken in charge by the paternal grandmother and that the latter had died on past year. Since then, the child would live with the neighbors of the grandmother. If the court heard the new arguments, it specified that it was not able to take them into consideration because the facts described are subsequent to the contested court decision. The court therefore advised the father to renew his application for a residence permit with the Sint Maarten authorities.

 1,234 total views, 6 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

JUSTICE : Un père voit le titre de séjour pour son fils refusé

0

Fin 2018, un résident de Sint Maarten d’origine haïtienne, demande un titre de séjour pour la partie hollandaise pour son fils mineur, âgé d’une dizaine d’années et également né en Haïti. Le gouvernement lui refuse au motif qu’il ne présente pas de document officiel émanant de la justice haïtienne attestant son autorité parentale. Le père a attaqué alors la décision en justice.

Le tribunal de première instance de Sint Maarten a examiné l’affaire courant 2021. Le père a fourni un document dans lequel la mère domiciliée en Haïti ne s’oppose pas à ce que son fils vive à Sint Maarten avec son père et autorise celui-ci à effectuer les démarches nécessaires en ce sens. Or, une seule déclaration de consentement du parent resté dans le pays d’origine, n’est pas suffisante. Le gouvernement de Sint Maarten exige en plus de cette autorisation, une décision de justice selon laquelle l’autorité parentale ou la tutelle a été accordée au parent faisant la demande de titre de séjour à Sint Maarten. Aussi le tribunal de première instance de Sint Maarten a-t-il rendu son jugement en faveur du gouvernement. Le père a fait appel.

L’affaire a été examinée par la Joint Court Justice d’Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonnaire, Saint-Eustache et Saba début avril de cette année. Celle-ci a confirmé le jugement rendu en première instance.

Cependant, à l’audience, le père avait apporté des éléments nouveaux, à savoir que la mère ne s’occupait plus de leur fils qui avait alors été pris en charge par la grand-mère paternelle et que celle-ci était décédée l’an passé. Depuis, l’enfant vivrait chez les voisins de la grand-mère. Si la cour a entendu les nouveaux arguments, elle a précisé de ne pas être en mesure de les prendre en considération car les faits décrits sont postérieurs à la décision de justice attaquée. Aussi la cour a-t-elle conseillé au père de renouveler sa demande de titre de séjour auprès des autorités de Sint Maarten.

 856 vues totales,  12 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT