JUSTICE: Postponement of a trial due to the absence of a lawyer

0

Wednesday morning a 23-year-old was presented in front of the local court of Saint-Martin for immediate appearance. He is accused of having committed two break-ins to the detriment of two companies in Marigot at the end of October 2020.

But he could not be tried because he was not assisted by a lawyer; however this type of procedure requires the presence of a counsel, explained the court which thus ordered the referral of the case. The prosecution said that the duty lawyer had been warned but had not responded.

This is not the first time that the prosecution has denounced this kind of situation and criticized lawyers for not moving when called, including to assist police custody.

The trial has been postponed until May 7. In the meantime, the court had to rule on the situation of the young accused. Due to his criminal record which includes 13 mentions including 8 prison sentences (and 3 committal warrants) and the risk of renewal of the facts, the judges followed the prosecutor's requisitions, namely the committal warrant, the placement in detention. provisional. He was transferred in the evening to Guadeloupe. (soualigapost.com)

 6,467 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

JUSTICE : Report d’un procès en raison de l’absence d’avocat

0
blank

Mercredi matin un jeune de 23 ans était présenté devant le tribunal de proximité de Saint-Martin en comparution immédiate. Il lui est reproché d’avoir commis deux vols par effraction au préjudice de deux sociétés à Marigot fin octobre 2020.

Mais il n’a pas pu être jugé car il n’était pas assisté par un avocat ; or ce type de procédure exige la présence d’un conseil, a expliqué le tribunal qui a ainsi ordonné le renvoi de l’affaire. Le parquet a précisé que l’avocat de permanence avait été prévenu mais qu’il n’avait pas répondu.

Ce n’est pas la première fois que le parquet dénonce ce genre de situation et reproche aux avocats de ne pas se déplacer lorsqu’ils sont appelés, y compris pour assister des gardes à vue.

Le procès a été renvoyé au 7 mai. Dans cette attente, le tribunal a dû statuer sur la situation du jeune prévenu. En raison de son casier judicaire qui comporte 13 mentions dont 8 peines de prison (et 3 mandats de dépôt) et le risque de renouvellement des faits, les juges ont suivi les réquisitions du procureur, à savoir le mandat de dépôt, le placement en détention provisoire. Il a été transféré dans la soirée en Guadeloupe. (soualigapost.com)

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT