Justice: Four months in prison for stolen car

0

It is an “emblematic” case that the Criminal Court of Saint-Martin examined this Thursday, January 10. AF, 26, was tried for concealing a stolen vehicle. "Theft of vehicles is one of the rare offenses on the increase in the territory (16,8% more this year) and in particular bound for Sint Maarten" contextualized the vice-prosecutor.

On September 23, AF drove on the road to Sandy Ground in a reported stolen vehicle which he had not registered. Arrested by the gendarmes, he said he bought the car from a certain JR in Simspon Bay, whose coordinates he did not have. And denies knowing that it was stolen.

But for the representative of the public prosecutor, the version of AF, absent at the hearing, does not hold: "when we buy a vehicle from a stranger, that we give him an advance of 4000 dollars without obtaining the registration card and that 'We cannot then find the seller and therefore register the car, we are enjoying a good bargain'. The stash is characterized for him since the defendant bought a masked and paperless vehicle. "If there were no receivers there would be fewer thieves" he concluded before requesting four months in prison.

The court declares the accused guilty and follows the prosecutor's requisitions. AF is sentenced to four months in prison.

(Source: www.soualigapost.com)

 5,130 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Justice : Quatre mois de prison pour recel de voiture volée

0
blank

C’est une affaire « emblématique » qu’a examinée le tribunal correctionnel de Saint-Martin ce jeudi 10 janvier. A.F, 26 ans était jugé pour recel de véhicule volé. « Le vol de véhicules est une des rares infractions en augmentation sur le territoire (16,8 % de plus cette année) et notamment à destination de Sint Maarten » a contextualisé le vice-procureur.

Le 23 septembre dernier, A.F roule sur la route de Sandy Ground à bord d’un véhicule signalé volé qu’il n’a pas fait immatriculer. Interpellé par les gendarmes, il dit avoir acheté la voiture à un certain J.R à Simspon Bay dont il n’a pas les coordonnées. Et nie savoir qu’elle a été volée.

Mais pour le représentant du ministère public la version d’A.F, absent à l’audience, ne tient pas : « quand on achète un véhicule à un inconnu, qu’on lui fait une avance de 4000 dollars sans obtenir la carte grise et qu’on ne peut ensuite pas retrouver le vendeur et donc immatriculer la voiture, on profite d’une bonne aubaine ». Le recel est pour lui caractérisé dès lors que le prévenu a acheté un véhicule maquillé et sans papier. « S’il n’y avait pas de receleurs il y aurait moins de voleurs » conclut-il avant de requérir quatre mois de prison ferme.

Le tribunal déclare le prévenu coupable et suit les réquisitions du procureur. A.F est condamné à quatre mois de prison ferme.

(Source : www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT