Ignacio & Chichibird: a book to approach Irma with children

0

Joselyne Arnell, primary school teacher and educational advisor in Saint-Martin presented to the press on Wednesday November 28, in the restaurant Creol'Garden, her new children's book. The author continues the adventures of the iguana Ignacio, hero of her first book, published three years earlier. Ignacio & Chichibird tells the story of an iguana and a sugar bowl, that everything separates until they find themselves all alone during the passage of Irma. This traumatic event that they experience together marks the beginning of a great friendship, despite their differences.

With Ignacio and Chichibird, she invites children to reflect on the protection of nature and the right to be different. But above all, it seeks to give them a taste for reading by bringing them closer to what they have experienced.

It is also an excuse to approach a traumatic memory with them. "This book is dedicated to all the children who suffered this cyclone and who may not have had the opportunity to talk about their experience," she explains. As a teacher, she sought out supports after Irma to discuss the subject with the children. "They were almost nonexistent so I wanted to fill this void," she says.

The book, self-published online on Xlibris, is written in English, the mother tongue of this Saint-Martin author, who plans to eventually translate it into French. It is very nicely illustrated by his daughter, the stylist Milkaya Laïjah.

Intended for children from 0 to 11 years old, the book will be the subject of a signing evening at the author's home on December 15 in Quartier d'Orléans (59, rue Saint-Georges).

(More details on www.soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

Ignacio & Chichibird : un livre pour aborder Irma avec les enfants

0
blank

Joselyne Arnell, enseignante du premier degré et conseillère pédagogique à Saint-Martin présentait mercredi 28 novembre à la presse, dans le restaurant Creol’Garden, son nouveau livre pour enfants. L’auteure y poursuit les aventures de l’iguane Ignacio, héros de son premier ouvrage, publié trois ans plus tôt. Ignacio & Chichibird raconte l’histoire d’un iguane et d’un sucrier, que tout sépare jusqu’à ce qu’ils se retrouvent tout seuls pendant le passage d’Irma. Cet événement traumatique qu’ils vivent ensemble, marque le début d’une grande amitié, malgré leurs différences.

Avec Ignacio et Chichibird, elle invite les enfants à une réflexion sur la protection de la nature et le droit à la différence. Mais surtout, elle cherche à leur redonner le goût de la lecture en les rapprochant de ce qu’ils ont vécu.

C’est aussi un prétexte pour aborder avec eux un souvenir traumatique. « Ce livre est dédié à tous les enfants qui ont subi ce cyclone et qui n’ont peut-être pas eu l’occasion de parler de leur expérience » explique-t-elle. En tant qu’enseignante elle a cherché des supports après Irma pour aborder la thématique avec les enfants. « Ils étaient quasi inexistants alors j’ai voulu combler ce vide » avance-t-elle.

L’ouvrage, autoédité en ligne sur Xlibris, est rédigé en anglais, langue maternelle de cette auteure saint-martinoise qui prévoit éventuellement de le traduire en français. Il est très joliment illustré par sa fille, la styliste Milkaya Laïjah.

Destiné aux enfants de 0 à 11 ans, l’ouvrage fera l’objet d’une soirée de dédicaces au domicile de l’auteure le 15 décembre prochain à Quartier d’Orléans (59, rue Saint-Georges).

(Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT