Feast of Saint Martin: the festivities organized in Sint Maarten

0

Every November 11, the two parts of the island celebrate the feast of Saint Martin. This year, the Dutch side is hosting the festivities. To underline the discovery of the island by Christopher Columbus in 1493, the population is invited to participate in the various activities, in the presence of official delegations.

The first ceremony will take place tomorrow, at 8 a.m., on the border between Bellevue and Cole Bay. Representatives from both sides of the island will then go, at 9 a.m., to the Methodist church in Philipsburg, then to Longwall road for the launch of the parade at 10 a.m. The troops will march on Frontstreet, towards the Festival Village. At 11am, it will be the turn of the official speeches at the Courthouse. From noon, make way for sports and cultural activities in Labega Square, on the Boardwalk and at the Festival Village where a domino competition will take place. At 14 p.m., another competition, this time of kites, will take place next to the baseball league park. The organizers then planned a cultural parade at 15 p.m. which will leave from Emmaplein, towards the Festival Village. The festivities will end at 20:30 p.m. with fireworks at the Festival Village.

Aline Hanson school represented in the relay race

Located at Sandy Ground, the Aline Hanson school is one of the schools in the Unesco network. On the occasion of the island's national holiday, the teachers decided to wet the jersey by participating in the new edition of “St. Martin's Day Around the Island Relay Race ”. “We will run for the students to represent the school. Our team, made up of ten teachers, is motivated to tour the island. We started training at the start of the year because each teacher will have to run three kilometers. We are not top athletes, but we have this desire to represent our establishment. There will be almost 80 teams taking part in this very popular race on the Dutch side, ”explains Donovan Soudiagom, CM2 teacher. The departure will take place at 7 am at the roundabout of the Raoul Illidge stadium.

Commemoration of the 1918 armistice

The commemoration of the 97th anniversary of the armistice of the First World War is being held today, at 17 p.m., at the war memorial in the garden of the Collectivity.

Established by the law of October 24, 1922, this day also pays tribute to all the dead for France.

 6,769 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Fête de Saint-Martin : les festivités organisées à Sint Maarten

0

Chaque 11 novembre, les deux parties de l’île célèbrent la fête de Saint-Martin. Cette année, c’est le côté hollandais qui accueille les festivités. Afin de souligner la découverte de l’île par Christophe Colomb en 1493, la population est invitée à participer aux différentes animations, en présence  des délégations officielles.

La première cérémonie aura lieu demain, à 8h, à la frontière entre Bellevue et Cole Bay. Les représentants des deux côtés de l’île se rendront ensuite, à 9h, à l’église méthodiste à Philipsburg, puis à Longwall road pour le lancement de la parade à 10h. Les troupes défileront sur Frontstreet, direction le Festival Village. A 11h, ce sera au tour des discours officiels à la Courthouse. A partir de midi, place aux activités sportives et culturelles au square Labega, sur le Boardwalk et au Festival Village où se déroulera une compétition de dominos. A 14h, une autre compétition, cette fois-ci de cerfs-volants, aura lieu à côté du parc de la ligue de baseball. Les organisateurs ont ensuite prévu une parade culturelle à 15h qui partira de Emmaplein, direction le Festival Village. Les festivités s’achèveront à 20h30 par un feu d’artifice au Festival Village.

L’école Aline Hanson représentée à la course-relais

Située à Sandy Ground, l’école Aline Hanson fait partie des établissements scolaires du réseau Unesco. A l’occasion de la fête nationale de l’île, les enseignants ont décidé de mouiller le maillot en participant à la nouvelle édition de la «St. Martin’s Day Around the Island Relay Race». «Nous courrons pour les élèves afin de représenter l’école. Notre équipe, composée de dix enseignants, est motivée pour effectuer le tour de l’île. Nous avons commencé les entraînements en début d’année, car chaque enseignant devra courir trois kilomètres. Nous ne sommes pas des sportifs de haut niveau, mais on a cette volonté de représenter notre établissement. Il y aura près de 80 équipes qui participeront à cette course très populaire du côté hollandais», explique Donovan Soudiagom, enseignant de CM2. Le départ aura lieu à 7h au rond-point du stade Raoul Illidge.

Commémoration de l’armistice de 1918

La commémoration du 97e anniversaire de l’armistice de la  Première Guerre mondiale se tient aujourd’hui, à 17h, au monument aux morts dans le jardin de la Collectivité.

Instaurée par la loi du 24 octobre 1922, cette journée rend également hommage à tous les morts pour la France.

 1,971 vues totales,  6 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

Bronchiolite : début de l’épidémie

A Saint-Martin et à Saint-Barthélemy, l’épidémie de bronchiolite vient de commencer sans surprise. Depuis un certain temps, l’Institut de veille sanitaire (InVS) était en alerte. ...
English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT