ENVIRONMENT: A website that lists the arrivals of Sargassum in more than 30 countries

0

If the risk of sargassum grounding in Guadeloupe is qualified as medium for the next four days according to the direction of the environment, in Saint-Martin it is low for the same period, no raft has been observed off the islands. North.

Algae arrivals are monitored on satellite images and can be viewed via online tools. Among these sites, the one put online by Christine Jimenez-Mariani, ex-navigator, Sargassum monitoring.

This platform “also has the mission of popularizing the problem of Sargassum and raising awareness among the general public”. Accessible in six languages, the site presents the areas invaded by algae in more than 30 countries from Central America to West Africa via the Caribbean and the United States.

Year by year, Christine Jimenez-Mariani has identified the arrivals of Sargassum and mapped them. These data are illustrated with photos. Concerning Saint-Martin, we can see images of Cul de Sac, Mont Vernon or Simpson Bay. “The site provides constant monitoring, 365 days a year.  Seven days a week, images and videos of arrivals are collected, checked and positioned as precisely as possible on the map of the year”, specifies Christine Jimenez-Mariani.

“The sargassum invasion is only getting bigger and the inquiries are accordingly. To find solutions, it is absolutely necessary to disseminate more widely the information concerning this serious problem due to human pollution! “, she designs.  For this, she wants to evolve her site and develop it. She is also looking for financial partners.

 1,334 total views, 11 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

ENVIRONNEMENT : Un site internet qui recense les arrivées de sargasses dans plus de 30 pays

0

Si le risque d’échouement de sargasses en Guadeloupe est qualifié de moyen pour les quatre prochains jours selon la direction de l’environnement, à Saint-Martin il est faible pour la même période, aucun radeau n’a été observé au large des îles du Nord.

Les arrivées d’algues sont surveillées sur des images satellites et sont consultables via des outils en ligne. Parmi ces sites, celui mis en ligne par Christine Jimenez-Mariani, ex-navigatrice, Sargassum monitoring.

Cette plate-forme «a aussi pour mission de vulgariser le problème des sargasses et sensibiliser le grand public ». Accessible en six langues, le site présente les zones envahies par les algues dans plus de 30 pays d’Amérique centrale à l’Afrique de l’ouest en passant par la Caraïbe et les Etats-Unis.

Année par année, Christine Jimenez-Mariani a recensé les arrivées de sargasses et les a cartographiées. Ces données sont illustrées de photos. Concernant Saint-Martin, on peut voir des images de Cul de Sac, Mont Vernon ou Simpson Bay. «Le site assure une veille constante, 365 jours par an.  Sept jours sur sept les images et vidéos des arrivages sont collectées, vérifiées et positionnées le plus précisément possible sur la carte de l’année », précise , Christine Jimenez-Mariani.

«L’invasion des sargasses ne fait que de s’amplifier et les demandes de renseignements sont en conséquence. Pour trouver des solutions, il faut absolument diffuser plus largement les infos concernant ce grave problème dû à la pollution humaine ! », conçoit-elle.  Pour cela, elle souhaite faire évoluer son site et le développer. Aussi cherche-t-elle des partenaires financiers.

 1,334 vues totales,  11 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT