ENVIRONMENT: The nesting season for sea turtles is in full swing in Saint-Martin

0

In the middle of the week, the team from the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin went to the beach of Anse Marcel to note the presence of a trace of turtle egg-laying activity dating from the previous night. 

Sea turtle nesting season is well and truly in its active phase. Indeed, sea turtles come to lay eggs on the beaches of Saint-Martin each year from March to November with a peak of activity between the months of July and September. This year is no exception to the rule. Following a report from a citizen, the Saint-Martin Nature Reserve discovered that a sea turtle was busy at Anse Marcel. The trace found in the early morning once again confirms the status of Anse Marcel beach as a nesting site, with this female hawksbill turtle. The track of the latter is recognizable by its narrowness (50 cm), its asymmetry (one leg after the other) and the search for vegetation at the top of the beach to install its nest there, unlike the two other species also laying eggs in Saint -Martin. 

When the Nature Reserve team read this trace, this spawning activity unfortunately ended in failure and the female returned to the sea without being able to lay her eggs. She will certainly try her luck again in the days to come on this same beach or a close one. In this critical period for the conservation of these emblematic marine species, the Saint-Martin Nature Reserve urges everyone to respect the calm and cleanliness of the beaches hosting their eggs. It should be remembered that these species are protected, as are their essential habitats and that any disturbance or intentional attack is liable to prosecution. This beautiful discovery that occurred at Anse Marcel deserves to draw the attention of all users and managers of coastal sites to the good practices guaranteeing that these sensitive and protected species continue to frequent our waters and beaches. It is therefore important to take care to leave free access to the beaches and the vegetation of the upper beaches; not to store anything in these egg-laying areas, which already host or may soon host nests; not to modify the nature and composition of the soil in these areas; not to alter the vegetation; to limit noise and light pollution there and more particularly at night, a period more favorable to the laying of sea turtles; not to let pets roam unsupervised on the beaches (dog on a leash). The world conservation status of sea turtles calls for the greatest caution, so that tomorrow we can continue to have a chance to observe them freely. In 2021, 475 patrols were carried out, including 171 by the Nature Reserve and 304 by volunteers. 

Thanks to these patrols on the beaches of the French part of the island, 226 traces of climbing were noted, including 192 of green turtles. _VX

 

 7,510 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

ENVIRONNEMENT : La saison de ponte des tortues marines bat son plein à Saint-Martin

0

En milieu de semaine, l’équipe de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin s’est rendue sur la plage d’Anse Marcel pour constater la présence d’une trace d’activité de ponte de tortue datant de la nuit précédente. 

La saison de ponte des tortues marines est bel et bien dans sa phase active. En effet, les tortues marines viennent pondre sur les plages saint-martinoises chaque année de mars à novembre avec un pic d’activité entre les mois de juillet et septembre. Cette année ne déroge pas à la règle. Suite à un signalement d’une citoyenne, la Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin a découvert qu’une tortue marine s’affairait à Anse Marcel. La trace retrouvée au petit matin confirme une nouvelle fois le statut de site de ponte de la plage d’Anse Marcel, avec cette femelle tortue imbriquée. La trace de cette dernière est reconnaissable par son étroitesse (50 cm), sa dissymétrie (une patte après l’autre) et la recherche de la végétation de haut de plage pour y installer son nid, contrairement aux deux autres espèces pondant également à Saint-Martin. 

À la lecture de cette trace par l’équipe de la Réserve Naturelle, cette activité de ponte s’est malheureusement soldée par un échec et le retour à la mer de la femelle sans avoir pu déposer ses œufs. Elle retentera certainement sa chance dans les jours à venir sur cette même plage ou une proche. En cette période critique pour la conservation de ces espèces marines emblématiques, la Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin intime tout un chacun de respecter le calme et la propreté des plages accueillant leurs pontes. Rappelons que ces espèces sont protégées, tout comme leurs habitats essentiels et que tout dérangement ou toute atteinte volontaires sont passibles de poursuites. Cette belle découverte survenue à Anse Marcel mérite d’attirer l’attention de l’ensemble des usagers et gestionnaires de sites littoraux sur les bonnes pratiques garantissant que ces espèces sensibles et protégées continuent à fréquenter nos eaux et plages. Il est donc important de veiller à laisser libre l’accès aux plages et à la végétation de hauts de plage ; de ne rien stocker sur ces zones de pontes, accueillant déjà ou pouvant le faire sous peu des nids ; de ne pas modifier la nature et la composition du sol de ces zones ; de ne pas en altérer la végétation ; d’y limiter les nuisances sonores et lumineuses et plus particulièrement la nuit, période plus propice à la ponte des tortues marines ; de ne pas laisser les animaux domestiques divaguer sans surveillance sur les plages (chien en laisse). Le statut de conservation mondial des tortues marines appelle à la plus grande prudence, pour que demain encore nous puissions continuer d’avoir une chance de les observer librement. En 2021, 475 patrouilles ont été réalisées dont 171 par la Réserve Naturelle et 304 par des bénévoles. 

Grâce à ces patrouilles sur les plages de la partie française de l’île, 226 traces de montée ont été relevées dont 192 de tortues vertes. _Vx

 

 2,381 vues totales,  6 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT