ENVIRONMENT / End of the 2022 hurricane season: results below the announced forecasts

0

Wednesday November 30, 2022 officially marked the end of the 2022 hurricane season in the Atlantic basin. The season which started on June 2 was marked by 17 tropical phenomena. A balance sheet below the forecasts announced at the start of the season. For the first time since 1997, no tropical phenomenon appeared in August. Most of the hurricane activity was concentrated in the two months of September and October.

 

Ian, Fiona, Julia: remarkable phenomena

The major hurricane IAN was by far the most devastating. At the hurricane stage, it first affected western Cuba, then Florida and finally South Carolina. Classified as a category 4 major hurricane when it passed over Florida, the phenomenon had catastrophic consequences. The hurricane is estimated to have killed 148 people and generated more than $65 billion in damage.

FIONA, first major hurricane of the season, first hit Guadeloupe as a tropical storm, then Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic as a category 1 hurricane. This is the outstanding phenomenon of this season for the French West Indies.

Julia, phenomenon having had a trajectory very south in the Caribbean Sea, brushed the coasts of Venezuela, Colombia then landed on the coasts of Nicaragua at the stage of a category 1 hurricane. The heavy rains which poured had consequences important in Central America. According to Météo-France, more than 90 people died in its passage.

 

And on the Caribbean arc, and in particular the French territories?

Two phenomena:

EARL. At the beginning of September, an active tropical wave is approaching the northern Caribbean arc. It evolved rapidly during the night of September 02 to 03, which earned it classification as a tropical storm and christened Earl. Its trajectory will lead it to circulate about a hundred kilometers north of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy, which will be on orange alert. The consequences on these islands will remain moderate with gusts of wind that will not exceed 90 km/h.

FIONA. The striking phenomenon of this 2022 hurricane season for the French West Indies is of course FIONA. The center of the system circulated over the extreme north of Guadeloupe at the start of the night from September 16 to 17, pouring torrential rains onto this department, which broke records at many rainfall stations. In Guadeloupe, storm Fiona caused one death and significant damage.

FIONA is then not a hurricane, stage that it will reach 36 hours later in the Caribbean Sea, which shows, if it were still necessary, that a simple tropical storm like FIONA was at this time, can s accompanied by exceptional rains and generate disastrous consequences. _AF

 

Overall assessment in figures:

17 tropical phenomena in total, including:

– 1 potential cyclone system

– 2 tropical depressions

– 6 tropical storms

– 8 hurricanes including 2 major hurricanes FIONA and IAN both category 4.

 5,224 total views, 5 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

ENVIRONNEMENT / Fin de la saison cyclonique 2022 : un bilan en dessous des prévisions annoncées

0

Le mercredi 30 novembre 2022 a sonné officiellement la fin de la saison cyclonique 2022 sur le bassin Atlantique. La saison qui a démarré le 2 juin a été marquée par 17 phénomènes tropicaux. Un bilan en dessous des prévisions annoncées en début de saison. Pour la première fois depuis 1997, aucun phénomène tropical n’est apparu au mois d’août. L’essentiel de l’activité cyclonique s’est concentrée sur les deux mois de septembre et d’octobre.

 

Ian, Fiona, Julia : des phénomènes marquants

L’ouragan majeur IAN a été de loin le plus dévastateur. Au stade d’ouragan, il a concerné tout d’abord l’ouest de Cuba, ensuite la Floride et enfin la Caroline du sud. Classé en ouragan majeur de catégorie 4 à son passage sur la Floride, le phénomène a eu des conséquences catastrophiques. L’ouragan aurait causé la mort de 148 personnes et généré plus de 65 milliards de dollars de dégâts.

FIONA, premier ouragan majeur de la saison, a d’abord touché la Guadeloupe au stade de tempête tropicale, puis Porto-Rico et la République Dominicaine comme ouragan de catégorie 1. C’est le phénomène marquant de cette saison pour les Antilles françaises.

JULIA, phénomène ayant eu une trajectoire très sud en mer des Caraïbes, a frôlé les côtes du Venezuela, de la Colombie puis a atterri sur les côtes du Nicaragua au stade d’ouragan de catégorie 1. Les fortes pluies qui se sont déversées ont eu des conséquences importantes en Amérique centrale. Selon Météo-France, plus de 90 personnes sont décédées à son passage.

 

Et sur l’arc antillais, et en particulier les territoires français ?

Deux phénomènes :

EARL. Début septembre, une onde tropicale active est en approche du nord de l’arc antillais. Elle évolue rapidement au cours de la nuit du 02 au 03 septembre, ce qui lui vaut d’être classée en tempête tropicale et d’être baptisée Earl. Sa trajectoire l’amènera à circuler à une centaine de kilomètres au nord de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy qui passeront en vigilance orange. Les conséquences sur ces îles resteront modérées avec des rafales de vents qui ne dépasseront pas les 90 km/h.

FIONA. Le phénomène marquant de cette saison cyclonique 2022 pour les Antilles françaises est bien évidemment FIONA. Le centre du système a circulé sur l’extrême nord de la Guadeloupe en début de nuit du 16 au 17 septembre en déversant sur ce département des pluies diluviennes qui ont battu des records sur de nombreux postes pluviométriques. En Guadeloupe, la tempête Fiona a fait un mort et d’importants dégâts.

FIONA n’est alors pas un ouragan, stade qu’il atteindra 36 heures plus tard en mer caraïbe, ce qui montre, s’il était encore nécessaire, qu’une simple tempête tropicale comme l’était FIONA à ce moment, peut s’accompagner de pluies exceptionnelles et générer des conséquences désastreuses. _AF

 

Bilan global en chiffres :

17 phénomènes tropicaux au total, dont :

– 1 système cyclonique potentiel

– 2 dépressions tropicales

– 6 tempêtes tropicales

– 8 ouragans dont 2 ouragans majeurs FIONA et IAN tous deux de catégorie 4.

 5,268 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :