Environment: Sargassum groundings still planned this week in Saint-Martin

0

According to satellite images from May 6 to 8 and despite significant cloud cover, it is possible to see that the eastern, southeastern and southern sectors of the Northern Islands are relatively loaded with more or less scattered sargassum rafts.

“Small groundings are occurring randomly on the coastlines exposed to the easterly flow. Other more or less important will still take place during the next four days”, indicates Météo France in its bulletin of May 9 which estimates “medium the risk of grounding of algae on the Saint-Martin coast”.

For the next two months, arrivals on the West Indian coast should still be frequent. “The algae remain very numerous between the equator and 4/5°N. They are transported to the West Indies via the Guiana Current. North of 5°N, fewer rafts are progressing westwards towards the West Indies. Gyres in the center of the Atlantic slow them down more or less, ”explains Météo France.

The Collectivity, which is in charge of collecting Sargassum on the beaches, specifies that "the company in charge of the sector of the Cul de Sac pier will begin collection this Wednesday, May 11 for the preparation of the site and the collection of waste and Thursday for algae removal”. President Louis Mussington visited the site on Monday afternoon to assess the site.

 1,005 total views, 12 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

Environnement : Des échouements de sargasses encore prévus cette semaine à Saint-Martin

0

Selon les images satellitaires du 6 au 8 mai et malgré une couverture nuageuse importante, il est possible de voir que les secteurs est, sud-est et sud des îles du Nord sont relativement chargés en radeaux de sargasses plus ou moins épars.

«De petits échouements sont en cours de façon aléatoire sur les littoraux exposés au flux d’est. D’autres plus ou moins importants vont encore avoir lieu durant les quatre prochains jours», indique Météo France dans son bulletin du 9 mai qui estime « à moyen le risque d’échouement des algues sur le littoral saint-martinois ».

Pour les deux prochains mois, les arrivages sur les côtes antillaises devraient encore être fréquents. «Les algues restent très nombreuses entre l’équateur et 4/5°N. Elles sont transportées vers l’arc antillais via le courant des Guyanes. Au nord du 5°N, des radeaux moins nombreux progressent vers l’Ouest en direction des Antilles. Des gyres en centre Atlantique les ralentissent plus ou moins », explique Météo France.

La Collectivité qui est en charge du ramassage des sargasses sur les plages, précise que «l’entreprise en charge du secteur de l’embarcadère de Cul de Sac débutera la collecte ce mercredi 11 mai pour la préparation du chantier et la collecte des déchets et jeudi pour l’enlèvement des algues ». Le président Louis Mussington s’est rendu sur le site lundi après-midi pour évaluer le chantier.

 585 vues totales,  7 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT