Companies / Sint Maarten: seven illegal Venezuelan workers arrested

0

The Sint Maarten police carried out a new control operation on Tuesday morning, September 18, as part of the ongoing investigation into the illegal employment of Venezuelans by various construction companies.

A search was carried out in two places, and a large sum of money was confiscated. Seven illegal Venezuelan workers were arrested.

As a reminder, on September 10, control operations on the Sonesta reconstruction site in Maho were carried out as part of an investigation into the hidden work. Three public works companies were suspected of illegally employing Venezuelans on several sites, including that of Sonesta in Maho.

“Working illegally in Sint Maarten is prohibited. Not only because it decreases the chances of a St Maartener finding a job on the market, but also because undocumented workers are often exploited ”underlines the Sint Maarten public prosecutor's office who plans to recommend to the government of the Dutch side to increase controls linked to breaches of the labor code.

(Source: www.soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

Entreprises / Sint Maarten : sept travailleurs vénézuéliens illégaux arrêtés

0
blank

La police de Sint Maarten a mené une nouvelle opération de contrôle mardi 18 septembre au matin, dans le cadre de l’enquête en cours sur l’emploi illégal de Vénézuéliens par diverses entreprises de construction.

Une perquisition a été effectuée à deux endroits, et une grosse somme d’argent a été confisquée. Sept travailleurs vénézuéliens illégaux ont été arrêtés.

Pour rappel, le 10 septembre, des opérations de contrôle sur le chantier de reconstruction du Sonesta à Maho avaient été menées dans le cadre d’une enquête relative au travail dissimulé. Trois entreprises de travaux publics étaient soupçonnées d’employer des Vénézuéliens illégalement sur plusieurs chantiers, dont celui du Sonesta à Maho.

« Travailler illégalement à Sint Maarten est interdit. Pas seulement parce que cela diminue les chances qu’un St Maartener trouve un emploi sur le marché, mais aussi parce que les travailleurs sans papiers sont souvent exploités » souligne le parquet de Sint Maarten qui prévoit de recommander au gouvernement de la partie hollandaise d’augmenter les contrôles liés aux infractions du code du travail.

(Source : www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT