Gastronomic investigator: Above all, love good food

0

Not everyone can improvise as an investigator to visit restaurants. Training is required and, with regard to the Gault and Millau guide, Alain Warth, president of Gault and Millau for the Antilles-Guyana, ensures that there are many failures during the various tests.

The future investigators are selected according to criteria and must, above all, love gastronomy to follow the training which lasts several days. "We refuse more than we take," notes Alain Warth, because after a few days and after having visited restaurants together, candidates must be, when rating the establishment, "at a minimum, half a point from the lead investigator. Otherwise we don't keep them ”.

A future investigator must be "epicurean, love cooking and eating well," insists Alain Warth. The latter often meets the case of chefs who wish to become an investigator, but who are not accepted, "because they have a vision of their own cuisine and they are not objective". The investigators come from all walks of life and from professions that are totally different from each other. There is no typical profile, notes Alain Warth, "It can be a gendarme, a teacher, a factory employee ... But they all have in common this ability to like good food and to be objective" . Beyond their professions, the investigators come to lunch or dinner incognito, they control and note according to an international grid which includes a little more than 40 points.

The investigator memorizes everything, and then the evaluation is done outside the restaurant, because the checks are carried out in the most total incognito, "it takes an hour, an hour and a half, to evaluate the establishment later" . A dozen investigators are deployed in the Antilles-Guyana, to which are added investigators of the national level who come to verify and certify, or not, the work of the investigators. Generally, a restaurant is visited only once, but from a certain rating, "we come back two, even three times, to certify the rating awarded," said the president of Gault and Millau for the Antilles-Guyana . _RM

 7,987 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Enquêteur gastronomique : Avant tout, aimer le bien-manger

0

Tout le monde ne peut pas s’improviser enquêteur pour visiter les restaurants. Une formation est requise et, en ce qui concerne le guide Gault et Millau, Alain Warth, président du Gault et Millau pour les Antilles-Guyane, assure qu’il y a de nombreux recalés lors des différentes épreuves.

Les futurs enquêteurs sont sélectionnés suivant des critères et doivent, avant tout, aimer la gastronomie pour suivre la formation qui dure plusieurs jours. « On en refuse plus qu’on en prend », constate Alain Warth, car au bout de quelques jours et après avoir visité ensemble des restaurants, il faut que les candidats soient, lors de la notation de l’établissement, « au minimum, à un demi point de l’enquêteur principal. Sinon on ne les gardes pas ».

Un futur enquêteur doit être « épicurien, aimer la cuisine et le bien-manger », insiste Alain Warth. Ce dernier rencontre souvent le cas de chefs de cuisines qui souhaiteraient devenir enquêteur, mais qui ne sont pas acceptés, « parce qu’ils ont une vision de leur propre cuisine et ils ne sont pas objectifs ». Les enquêteurs viennent de tous les horizons et de professions totalement différentes les unes des autres. Il n’y a pas de profil type remarque Alain Warth, « ça peut être un gendarme, une institutrice, un employé d’usine… Mais ils ont tous en commun cette faculté d’aimer le bien-manger et d’être objectif ». Au-delà de leurs professions, les enquêteurs viennent déjeuner ou dîner incognito, ils contrôlent et notent suivant une grille internationale qui comporte un peu plus de 40 points.

L’enquêteur mémorise tout, et ensuite l’évaluation se fait en dehors du restaurant, car les contrôles s’effectuent dans l’incognito le plus total, « ça prend une heure, une heure et demie, pour évaluer ultérieurement l’établissement ». Une douzaine d’enquêteurs sont déployés sur les Antilles-Guyane, auxquels s’ajoutent les enquêteurs du niveau national qui viennent pour vérifier et certifier, ou pas, le travail des enquêteurs. Généralement, un restaurant n’est visité qu’une fois, mais à partir d’une certaine note, « on revient deux, voire trois fois, pour certifier la note attribuée », précise le président du Gault et Millau pour les Antilles-Guyane. _RM

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT