Twelve new reservists to strengthen the strength of the gendarmerie in Saint-Martin

0

During a ceremony which took place on Friday July 20 at the Marigot barracks, twelve freshly trained reservists received their insignia from the prefect Sylvie Feucher, the second vice-president of the COM Yawo Nyuidadzi, and Pascale Alix-Laborde, regional councilor.

These twelve new reservists, mainly women (only one man), were among the 80 volunteers who showed up at the recruitment day held last March. The gendarmerie of Saint-Martin had until then less than a dozen reservists. Coming from civil society, their role is to "participate directly in the internal security of the country without waiting for the time of crisis management and local prevention" summarized Lieutenant-Colonel Sébastien Manzoni before welcoming them to within the gendarmerie which is "now for [them] a new family".

Before receiving their badge, the twelve new reservists underwent a fifteen-day training course supervised by Commander Jean, adviser to the Guadeloupe Operational Reserve which has 300 members (and on whom Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy depend), retired from the gendarmerie and himself a reservist. The program was "very busy" he admits to salute the will and motivation of his students. They were thus trained in the mastery of the opponent with a weapon and without a weapon, as well as in theory to learn to walk in step, the functioning of the gendarmerie, ranks, radio and ethics.

The objective of this operational reserve is to “break the distance by creating proximity” between the gendarmes and the population, explains Lieutenant-Colonel Sébastien Manzoni. "The goal is for them to be outside, in contact with the population," he adds. Reservists will also be called upon to reinforce the gendarmerie teams when managing large events and public gatherings.

Mercedes Castillo Daisy works in the service of foreigners in the prefecture and has been a reservist since 2011. "As a reservist, you can calm down a lot of situations because you have knowledge of the terrain and languages."

Each month, the reservists give their availability for the current month according to working hours in civilian life, and a schedule is worked out within the gendarmerie.

(More details on www.soualigapost.com)

loading

About author

No comments

Douze nouveaux réservistes pour renforcer l’effectif de la gendarmerie à Saint-Martin

0

Au cours d’une cérémonie qui s’est déroulée vendredi 20 juillet à la caserne de Marigot, douze réservistes fraîchement formés ont reçu leur insigne de la main de la préfète Sylvie Feucher, du deuxième vice-président de la COM Yawo Nyuidadzi, et de Pascale Alix-Laborde, conseillère territoriale.

Ces douze nouveaux réservistes, essentiellement des femmes (seul un homme), faisaient partie des 80 volontaires à s’être présentés à la journée de recrutement qui s’est tenue en mars dernier. La gendarmerie de Saint-Martin comptait jusque-là moins d’une dizaine de réservistes. Issus de la société civile, leur rôle est de « participer directement à la sécurité intérieure du pays sans attendre le temps de la gestion de crise et à la prévention de proximité » a résumé le lieutenant-colonel Sébastien Manzoni avant de leur souhaiter la bienvenue au sein de la gendarmerie qui est « désormais pour [eux] une nouvelle famille ».

Avant de recevoir leur insigne les douze nouveaux réservistes ont suivi une formation de quinze jours supervisée par le commandant Jean, conseiller de la Réserve opérationnelle de Guadeloupe qui compte 300 membres (et dont dépendent Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy), retraité de la gendarmerie et lui-même réserviste. Le programme était « très chargé » reconnaît-il pour saluer la volonté et la motivation de ses élèves. Ils ont ainsi été formés à la maîtrise de l’adversaire avec une arme et sans arme, ainsi qu’à la théorie pour apprendre à marcher au pas, le fonctionnement de la gendarmerie, des grades, de la radio et de l’éthique.

L’objectif de cette réserve opérationnelle est de « casser la distance en créant une proximité » entre les gendarmes et la population explique le lieutenant-colonel Sébastien Manzoni. « Le but c’est qu’ils soient dehors, au contact de la population » ajoute-t-il. Les réservistes seront également appelés à renforcer les équipes de gendarmerie lors de la gestion de grands événements et rassemblements publics.

Mercedes Castillo Daisy travaille au service des étrangers de la préfecture et est réserviste depuis 2011. « En tant que réserviste on peut calmer beaucoup de situations parce qu’on a la connaissance du terrain et des langues ».

Chaque mois, les réservistes donnent leurs disponibilités pour le mois en cours selon horaires de travail dans la vie civile, et un planning est élaboré en fonction au sein de la gendarmerie.

(Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT