DECRYPTION: The impact of the post Irma crises and the covid on the revenues of Juliana airport (2/3)

0

Following Irma's visit, the number of visitors fell sharply and the main receipts did not cover staff costs.

In the first quarter of 2014, Juliana had received 158 tourists, this year only 032 were from January to March according to data from the government of St Maarten. It is 74 times less.

In this count, residents' trips are not counted (their number is not yet communicated).

These 74 tourists generated over three months $ 395 million in revenue under the “Sint Maarten Airport Departure Tax”, the amount of which is $ 2,9 according to the details specified by Delta Air lines on a simulated SXM ticket- New York. To which can be added 39 dollars of "Improvement fee". A total income of $ 818 million compared to $ 345 million in 3,7 (not counting the Passenger Screening fees).

Quarterly personnel costs being around $ 3,95 million (according to the 2014 report) or even less this year assuming that they followed the downward trend that began in the early 2010s, the only revenue from the passenger tax just covers them this first quarter, which had not yet happened since Irma.

In addition, so-called conventional expenses have been added to other charges since Irma related to the reconstruction of the terminal. So many charges that the establishment must face without revenue since the closure of commercial flights. Hence the economic interest in reopening as much as possible as soon as possible. (to be continued in our next edition)

* Most recent report available on the platform's website.

www.soualigapost.com

 6,765 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

DECRYPTAGE : L’impact des crises post Irma et du covid sur les recettes de l’aéroport de Juliana (2/3)

0

Suite au passage d’Irma, le nombre de visiteurs a nettement chuté et les principales recettes n’ont pas permis de couvrir les charges de personnel.

Au premier trimestre 2014, Juliana avait accueilli 158 032 touristes, cette année seuls 74 395 l’ont été de janvier à mars selon les données du gouvernement de St Maarten. C’est 2,1 fois moins.

Dans ce décompte, les voyages des résidents ne sont pas comptés (leur nombre ne sont pas encore communiqués).

Ces 74 395 touristes ont généré sur trois mois 2,9 millions de dollars de recettes au titre de la «Sint Maarten Airport Departure Tax» dont le montant est de 39 dollars selon le détail précisé par Delta Air lines sur une simulation de billet SXM-New York. Auxquels s’ajoutent 818 345 dollars de «Improvement fee». Soit un total de revenu 3,7 M$ contre 9,8 M$ en 2014 (sans compter les Passenger Screening fees).

Les charges trimestrielles de personnel étant de l’ordre de 3,95 millions de dollars (selon le rapport de 2014) voire un peu moins cette année dans l’hypothèse où elles ont suivi la tendance à la baisse amorcée au début des années 2010, les seules recettes issues de la taxe passagers permettent tout juste de les couvrir ce premier trimestre, ce qui n’était pas encore arrivé depuis Irma.

Par ailleurs, les dépenses dites classiques se sont ajoutées d’autres charges depuis Irma liées à la reconstruction du terminal. Autant de charges auxquelles l’établissement doit faire face sans recettes depuis la fermeture des vols commerciaux. D’où l’intérêt économique d’en rouvrir le maximum le plus tôt possible. (à suivre dans notre prochaine édition)

* Rapport le plus récent consultable sur le site internet de la plate-forme.

www.soualigapost.com

 3,306 vues totales,  20 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :